We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A truly outstanding experience

I can’t rate this highly enough. We had a wonderful afternoon being introduced to Barry and Lucy’s... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Alan H
via mobile
Amazing experience, highly recommend!

We spent an amazing afternoon with Barry, Luce, and an assortment of different birds. Barry and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
KatiSwa
,
Omaha, Nebraska
Read all 241 reviews
  
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
235
3
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
235
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds of prey harris hawk amazing afternoon golden eagle well worth the wait wealth of knowledge personal experience amazing experience three hours amazing birds memorable afternoon birthday treat feel at home their lives many thanks an experience you will never forget whole afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can’t rate this highly enough. We had a wonderful afternoon being introduced to Barry and Lucy’s family of raptors. We spent nearly three hours in their company with a truly engaging and educational discussion and handling of various birds with their one on one experience.

This is a must visit to meet two truly enthusiastic and well informed people and their family of raptors.

1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent an amazing afternoon with Barry, Luce, and an assortment of different birds. Barry and Luce were both so accommodating and knowledgeable. You can definitely tell that this is more than a hobby for them, and they truly love what they do. My brother and I are from the US, so being able to handle a bald eagle was a once in a lifetime experience for us. Barry even brought out a bird that is native to our state. This experience was so educational and fun, I can't say enough good things about our visit. Each bird had their own cute personality and it was such a treat seeing how they interacted with their handlers. I wish we lived closer, so we could go back again!

Thank KatiSwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Spent a fantastic, highly educational and enjoyable afternoon at this raptor sanctuary with our two owl-loving children ages 8 and 10. The rural setting is breathtaking, the birds so wonderfully cared for and the whole experience of learning about, getting to know and then handling the owls, hawk, kestrel, falcon and eagle really a true privilege. Luce and Barry are absolute gems, one in a million; you will not meet more kind, dedicated people who are simply trying to make the world a better place.

Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We had a fantastic afternoon with Barry & Luce at the Falconry Experience last week and would recommend it to anyway with an interest in birds of prey.
They are very welcoming hosts and the depth of knowledge is very impressive, it also helps that the scenery around their home is breath-taking. It's good to know that the birds are so well looked after and that they are a way of life instead of a business - no bird flies unless it is 100% ready and healthy! My better half was concerned about the weight of some of the birds due to a shoulder injury but she still managed to get them onto the glove with some support from Barry. The little Kestrel was the star of the show - so many places seem to concentrate on exotic species but we saw birds from all over the world and a good few from the UK. We will be back to see the new Red Kite in the future - an excellent day out.

Thank Glibw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

We spent an amazing afternoon with Luce and Barry and their ever expanding family of Birds. They are both passionate about their work although for them it isn't work as it is their way of life sharing with others their extensive knowledge on their wide range of birds, The facts and detailed information supplied was brilliant! the birds are spectacular close up, each with their individual quirky ways. Fantastic way to spend an afternoon, and highly recommended. It was a privilege to meet Luce and Barry and their "Family". We will be calling in again :) Carol and Gwyndaf

Thank goondaft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

This has to be a totally unique experience. Luce and Barry live in a beautiful remote spot in Snowdonia with their birds, and others that are there temporarily for rehabilitation. They are dedicated and committed to birds they rehabilitate and train. You will experience the beautiful birds in a “close up and personal” way that would never be possible without these lovely peoples vocation. This was an afternoon we will never forget. Words cannot describe how much we learned and loved our few hours there. Take yourselves and your children- you could not spend your money more wisely.

Thank Eben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Wow, we had an amazing few hours here! Barry and Luce are lovely and so full of interesting information. But sorry guys, the birds steal the show! Owls running around our feet, jumping on our shoulders, hawks gliding across the fields to take food from our gloved hands. Each has their own character, my childhood favourite has always been the large golden Eagle Owl and I loved having him on my arm whilst I got to stroke his feathers. Most of the owls we got to touch. The Harris Hawk was another highlight, his flying was incredible and such a nice colour. Almost at the end we met a smaller falcon who had a lively call, especially when Barry came close! We'll certainly be along again.

CG & Yenita

Thank bikerdan2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

An afternoon to remember. My husband, adult son and I spent a memorable afternoon with Barry and Luce and their wonderful birds. We have never been in the company of such knowledgeable and passionate experts who share a huge breadth of knowledge of many different types of raptors. To then be up close with many different birds and to fly them was a moment we will always treasure while learning about each bird's story at the same time. A very special place and very special people. Thank you Luce and Barry.

Thank fizzyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

My partner and I had a fabulous afternoon. We both have experience of birds of prey in the wild so it was a real treat to meet some of them up close. The relationship that Barry and Lucy have with their birds is amazing and the setting is perfect, Wales at it's best. We would highly recommend this experience, it would suit any audience. Really look forward to coming back to meet the falcons.

Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We had an amazing afternoon, in a beautiful countryside is a must.. Barry and Lucy, they made us welcome soon as we arrived, explaining how the afternoon was going to start.. Lucy is an inspiration caring for these birds, bringing some of them back from the brink of death..we felt so privileged to meet both Barry and Lucy, this is not a job to them, this is their family. Lucy is full of knowledge, she was like a walking encyclopaedia on raptors. We felt apart of their family, they have inspired us that much we are making some owl and kestrel boxes to put in our forest. And we will definitely be back.. plus spreading the word how wonderful it was. Thank you for a amazing day . Lucy has inspired Terry so much as this day was for my Christmas present, he is down in our wood making owl and kestrel boxes instead of racing his remote control car and racing around on his buggy . Please write a book xxx Karen and Terry x

1  Thank broomhallk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews