We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS B & B GETS BETTER AND BETTER!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunny View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 12 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“THIS B & B GETS BETTER AND BETTER!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from our third visit at this lovely bed and breakfast. You wouldn't think this place could get any better but it never fails to impress.
The standards are second to none with a very friendly welcome from Steve and Jayne.
Standing looking at the view from the back of the house is absolutely breathtaking and you never tire of watching the birdlife which visits the garden, for birdwatchers they will be very impressed with the beautiful red kites which hover overhead at the same time each afternoon awaiting feeding from a local farmer.
This year Steve and Jayne have tried to think of little extra services to assist their guests, such as making packed lunches and snack evening meals available at additional cost, should you require them ideal if you are on a walking or cycling holiday and want to got off the beaten track.
The breakfast is to die for with lots of choice, all locally sourced produce, home made preserves and freshly cooked by Steve's fair hand absolutely delicious.
We will definately stay again at this lovely bed and breakfast and if like us you appreciate excellent standards with a lovely welcome you won't find better.
Thank you Steve and Jayne for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham-Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyViewMachynlleth, Owner at Sunny View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you again for your kind review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Sunny View and hope to see you soon. Steve and Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stopped there on a biking trip through Wales. Steve and Jayne could not have been more welcoming. Hot drinks and cake when we arrived and the place itself was amazing.

Breakfast was made to order and the Steve had our bikes out ready in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyViewMachynlleth, Owner at Sunny View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks so much, Andy, for taking the trouble to write a review. Hope the breakfast set you up for your long ride to Hay! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was travelling alone and found Jayne and Steve very welcoming indeed. The standard of room was very high and attention to detail absolutely faultless. The breakfast is also top class, not to be rushed.I have stopped in many hotels and guest houses over the years and this is the first time I have been moved to make a recommendation.

You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyViewMachynlleth, Owner at Sunny View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, Neil. We're really pleased that you enjoyed it enough to post your first review. Hope you managed to see the Ospreys on your way home. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

For me, this place really is as good as it gets. Absolutely superb. The location is beautiful, views from the guest bedroom are great. The place is kept spotlessly clean but the atmosphere is so relaxing and laid back. Steve and Jayne are as good hosts as you will find anywhere and the breakfast is superb. Outstanding.
Thanks to Steve and Jayne for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyViewMachynlleth, Owner at Sunny View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are honoured that we are your first review! We really enjoyed having you both here and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We only stayed here for a single night but that’s enough to know that you’ve stayed at a quality B&B with excellent hosts. Our stay was part of a cycling trip from Holyhead to Aberystwyth and this place falls right on the route which makes it very handy not only for cyclists but also for walkers and mountain bikers alike.

We turned up a little damp and bedraggled as the weather was terrible that particular week. I think there is only the one room available here and we were more than happy that it had a long deep bath in the clean and tidy bathroom.

The room itself is a twin room with a TV and a desk and Wi-Fi. Steve and Jayne were very warm and friendly and made us a nice cup of tea with homemade cake which was much appreciated after our long cycle ride in the wind and the rain. There is also a shed in the garden where Steve will happily store your bikes.

This is a little out of town (about 1 mile) and if like us you didn’t fancy venturing out again after getting clean, warm and dry, then Steve might make an evening meal for you which is served in the comfortable guests sitting room. We enjoyed a simple pasta and sauce dish with garlic bread which did the job nicely. Both Steve and Jayne are vegetarians so there won’t be any issues with asking for anything veggie. There is also homemade jam to go onto the toast.

The breakfast in the morning was also very enjoyable. Plenty of tea, cereals, toast and a veggie fry up which set us up nicely for the long cycle ahead. We weren’t sure about where we would be eating next so we asked Jayne to sort us out with a packed lunch which was very handy. The packed lunches and evening meal are not included in the price.

Overall, this is a lovely, warm and friendly B&B and worth staying at if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the homemade jam to go with your toast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sunny View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you very much for such a positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We do have 2 rooms at Sunny View; the other is also a twin but with a shower rather than a bath.
So the next time you are visiting you could bring some friends with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our third stay with wonderful hosts Jayne and Steve who go that extra mile to make your stay special. The accomodation is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. You'd never believe they had muddy walkers and dogs to stay! Breakfast is not to be rushed it is a feast. Thank you both for making us feel so very welcome and for the cake and easter eggs. Look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyViewMachynlleth, Owner at Sunny View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you Leigh for your review. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights and were really impressed by all aspects of our stay.

The owners were so welcoming and hospitable, the room was really nicely decorated with everything you could want and both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The breakfast is AMAZING with all locally sourced produce including homemade jams! Yummy!

Ben and I would definitely stay again if we are in the area :-) Thank you!

Ps - The beds were sooooo comfy - I have real problems with my back and shoulders and was in no pain at all - would really like to know the make of your mattress and pillows if you have the time to email me the details....we are just looking into changing ours to try and sort out my aches!!! :-) godwin_laura@hotmail.com

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godwin_laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyViewMachynlleth, Owner at Sunny View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for the kind review Laura. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.5 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
52 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
631 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 12 in Machynlleth
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunny View Bed and Breakfast
Address: Sunny View Sunny View | Forge, Machynlleth SY20 8RZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny View is situated in Forge, a peaceful hamlet just south of Machynlleth. It has stunning views across to Cader Idris in Southern Snowdonia. The property has recently undergone refurbishment to provide modern yet cosy accommodation. Both en-suite rooms have twin beds and a 19” flat screen television incorporating a dvd/cd player. Free Wi-fi access available. Tea and coffee making facilities. Vegetarian as well as traditional breakfasts.Bikers, cyclists and walkers welcome. Packed lunches available. Lounge with TV available for guests' use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny View Bed And Breakfast Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing