We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st class experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dyfiview B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dyfiview B&B
Ranked #4 of 13 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st class experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just enjoyed three nights at this b and b. Accommodation of high standard including a comfy bed, lovely choice for breakfast and our hosts mike and gill couldnt have been nicer. Great views and offers little extras, e.g. biscuits to go with a cup of tea in your room, shower gels etc. always greatly appreciated. Will definately be returning in the future.

Room Tip: room no. 1 is a larger room and has a window view as well as a skylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyfiviewBandB, Owner at Dyfiview B&B, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We do our best to make it a first class experience for all our guests so it's very pleasing when they appreciate it - as you obviously have done. Lovely that you booked again to stay with us later in the year - that's an even more telling accolade than any Trip Advisor review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
68
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely b&b, a very short walk from the main town. The room was nicely furnished with lots of home comforts. The hosts were a very nice couple, who made home baked bread with breakfast, catered for my diet (I'm vegetarian but also allergic to cows milk) they had a vegan breakfast menu option which was delicious, all home made jams as well, a lot of care was put in to everything. Excellent value for money, I would highly recommend staying here. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyber_fraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyfiviewBandB, Owner at Dyfiview B&B, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - it's especially heart warming we people notice the effort we put in. This week we have been showered with accolades and appreciation. We had an inspection from ' Visit Wales' to review our star rating. I'm pleased to say they confirmed our Four Star Rating, despite the criteria being tightened up to make it harder to get four stars. Last week we received the top Grade 5 Food Hygiene Rating from Environmental Health - and now a couple of really good reviews within a few days. - Thank you to all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

A lovely homely and welcoming BnB in a beautiful part of mid Wales! Friendly hosts and great setting for a break or in my case away for work. The view at breakfast is fantastic as is the choice of homemade jams!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stapleton221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyfiviewBandB, Owner at Dyfiview B&B, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you very much. What a great review! We get very few people who stay for as long as 2 weeks so I'm pleased you didn't grow weary, and still felt so positive about us after that long - especially as you were having to work away from home too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night. The hosts were very friendly, helpful and forgiving of a much later than anticipated arrival time. The 'useful information' folder provided with the room was a great reference and hosts provided suggestions for good places to get an evening meal and a short cut to town (not that it is at all far away without the short cut). The B & B is a few minutes walk from Machynlleth train station- uphill on the way there but downhill if you're rushing to catch a train! The bed was comfortable and it was lovely and quiet at night.
A beautiful view over the valley both from the dining room and from the skylight of the bedroom. If you have the bedroom window open you can enjoy gentle sounds of chickens clucking from the garden.
The bathroom was carpeted, which seemed a bit odd, but the décor throughout was high quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyfiviewBandB, Owner at Dyfiview B&B, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for giving us such a positive review. I'm sure the chickens will be delighted to have their clucking appreciated too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for a short visit to Machynlleth and it was an ideal bed and breakfast - comfortable, friendly hosts, good food. The location is perfect with a view of the valley and also situated next to bus and train stations. A particular highlight was the great view of the clear night sky from the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broom650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyfiviewBandB, Owner at Dyfiview B&B, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Yes it was a 'starry starry night' wasn't it? Seeing it from in bed, through the velux window is one of the advantages of having bedrooms in the roof area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed for weekend. Room was immaculate and had all you needed, the views were lovely. We were a bit disappointed with creaky floor and we were woken up several times when it hail stoned. Being in the attic meant it sounded like someone was play drums outside. This was not the hosts fault, who were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was beautiful but for me a little small and the time raints of 8 till 9 meant no chance of a lying. A great stop over if hiking or cycling

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyfiviewBandB, Owner at Dyfiview B&B, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your helpful review. We were pleased that you found the room immaculate it makes it feel worthwhile taking pains over small details. We are sorry about the creaky floorboards and of course that dreadful hail storm that night, which we heard downstairs too - thankfully ones that bad are very infrequent!
I'm glad the breakfast was beautiful too but obviously disappointed if you didn't find it quite as big as you would have liked. I always make a point of asking if everyone is happy or would like anything else so if you stay again just let me know - we are pretty laid-back about these things. The same applies with breakfast times - if 9.00am is too early for you then as long as we have plenty of time to prepare the room for the next guest we can usually accommodate a request for a bit of a lay-in - as many late night party goers and wedding guests will attest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here for a two night break to visit friends and to visit Ynyshir and found it to be a welcoming and well appointed B and B. The room was very comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. We have already recommended Dyfiview to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DyfiviewBandB, Owner at Dyfiview B&B, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you! Great to hear that you have recommended us friends already - we get a lot of guests who have received recommendations this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
8.5 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 13 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dyfiview B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dyfiview B&B

Property: Dyfiview B&B
Address: 21 Ffordd Mynydd Griffiths, Machynlleth SY20 8DD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dyfiview B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Spacious and comfortable B&B accommodation with views over the Dovey Valley. Close to Machylleth Town Centre and railway station ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dyfiview B&B Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing