We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Jewel”
Review of Penrhos Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penrhos Arms
Ranked #6 of 11 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed there last week for one night only and it was superb. The room is adorned with every toiletry you can think of and has great tea making facilities. There is a tray for muddy boots if you're a walker and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. We were on the roadside but it made no difference to a wonderful nights sleep as the double glazing did it's job plus the fact it's a fairly quiet road.
The hotel is set in a little village away from the town and gets busy with locals later in the evening. We sampled the local fayre and started with the beer. Nice to see hand pulled bitter and it was a lovely pint, my wife said that the range of lagers was OK too. We had a starter and a main course but couldn't manage the dessert course but I did see a young lady who had the cheeseboard and it looked magnificent.
The breakfast was one of the best I've had, maybe a slight criticism of the sausage but the rest of it was great and the staff couldn't do enough to help
Overall we had a brilliant stay at the Penrhos Arms and would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: we had room 2, there are only 5 but they all seemed first class.... enjoy your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crostoncritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ate out twice in this pub, first night it was fairly busy but food order taken quickly by a lovely member of staff not sure if she was one of the owners or not. Never had chicken in bacon and cheese before served with cold bbq sauce!! always had hot sauce over it so that was slightly odd. Other than that a nice meal. On the second night it was extremely busy but again we were shown to a table quickly and our order taken quickly as well. Had a bit of a wait for our meal but waitress was apologetic which we appreciated. Food was average ,had lasagne which was a bit try but very tasty. If your on holiday in the area its definitely worth going to for a bar meal .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annr832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Food here is disgraceful!!! One of our party ordered roast dinner and when we complained about the quality the Waitress replied ' the veg was freshly cooked yesterday' - come on!! Only good thing was the reasonably friendly staff.

Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _lovetotravel_1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great place to stop when visiting the local area. Good, friendly service and food. Nice large beer garden. Modern decor room. Only complaint would be the inadequate shower. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrecklesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked this hotel online which can sometimes be a worry. However, when we arrived we were more than happy with the location - in a beautiful part of mid Wales that was most convenient for our planned exploration of that region. The hotel is an old building (around 400 years) that has retained it's charm. The staff were very friendly and provided excellent service. We liked the fact that we could have our evening meal in the hotel at a time that was convenient to us. The food was excellent, with generous servings. We liked it so much we have booked in for our return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for one night with 3 month old baby. Spacious, modern room but in keeping with the age of the building. Friendly staff. Good food. Would stay again. Real fire in the pub downstairs. Lovely walk nearby.

Room Tip: luxuary double room spacious enough for a travel cot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It might be the only pub in the village, but the Penrhos Arms is a comfortable place with friendly staff and serves really excellent food.

Particularly recommended is the lamb shank and the beef & ale pie from the restaurant menu, really superb.

If you're in the area, please support this traditional 400-year old hostelry with your tourist cash, we did.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lazy_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
6.8 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Machynlleth
159 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Machynlleth
80 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#2 of 11 in Machynlleth
318 reviews
6.4 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 11 in Machynlleth
114 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhos Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhos Arms

Address: Cemmaes, Machynlleth SY20 9PR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range: $105 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrhos Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penrhos Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrhos Arms Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing