We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bit of tucker”
Review of White Lion Hotel

White Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kent UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice bit of tucker”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

By pub standards, this place is really good. We didn't have to wait too long for our food to be served and it was worth it. Large portions and of a decent quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TeebeeKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    62
    22
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Beer Garden Toddler & Dog Happy”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Service, sat outside in rear beer garden with 19 month old exploring & our dog chasing after her ball. Food - Fantastic!!

Helpful?
1 Thank SlippyEel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service Hearty meal”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Dropped into white lion for a meal on weekend in Llanbrynmair it was recommended by the owner of the site we were at and were pleased with the friendly prompt service and hearty flavoursome pub grub.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My family own a caravan near Machynlleth and we always go to this pub for drinks or sometimes dinner. The same woman has owned it for ages and has done a great job. The beer garden is really nice to sit in in nice weather with lovely views of the hills and the food is always pretty good. The fish and chips is absolutely huge and the homemade curry was always really good. My parents always ordered the jacket potato that came with a decent choice of toppings. However, I believe they've changed their menu since and these choices are no longer available which is a shame as they were our favourites and have been for years.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bhopkins94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Last minute pub meal”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Good wholesome food, great value and very friendly service. We couldn't ask for more arriving last minute just before they were due to stop serving. All that a pub should be. Thank you and well done

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David_L2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Lion Hotel also viewed

 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing