We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food again”
Review of The Black Lion Inn

The Black Lion Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food again”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We have eaten at this pub a number of time while staying locally for a week each year .

The food as ever was very good and of good value .

Service was good as was the beer ,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cliff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    36
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

After many recommendations from locals we decided to try this for an evening meal..Service and food were both excellent.Word of warning ... the meals are huge .I ordered prawn cocktail (yes I know very 70's) but I had been told to try it and tomahawk steak for main.The starter would have been enough on its own so the next time we visited I stuck to just the main.Cannoit rate the puds as I was far too full but they looked delicious.Pub is small so always book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 212Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another delicious meal in historic welsh pub”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our second visit to The Black Lion, a beautiful old welsh public house. The last time we visited it was busy with locals and full of atmosphere which was great. This time it was equally as busy with a family celebration taking place. We were warmly welcomed before being served with a very generous lunch. We hope to be back very soon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1WhiteRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“All round Excellent”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

What a find! Lovely old pub, loads of character, lovely food and friendly service oh and San Miguel on draught! ticked everyone of our boxes!

Highly recommend we will definitely revisit when next in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KERRY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good found, friendly host”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a sandwich lunch at the Black Lion and were very pleased. Good food, well garnished. The landlady, Cheryl, was lovely. A good time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gw1pcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Lion Inn also viewed

 
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to The Black Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing