We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brigands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brigands Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“lovely....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

was invited to a 50th party being held here so decided to make a weekend of it. On arrival, first impressions were very good. Staff were extremely polite and friendly and made us feel at ease when having a drink with the locals. Unfortunately we didn't eat off the menu due to a buffet provided at the party, however, the menu (and the food being served) looked very tempting and if the quality of the buffet was anything to go by then it was of a very high standard. The bedroom we had was lovely, nicely decorated and the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in on my many travels. We were greeted for breakfast by a very smiley waitress who couldn't do enough for us. Overall... very clean, comfortable and friendly hotel which I would definately stay in again and also recommend to others. Oh, and the 2 little corgi dogs are very friendly and gorgeous....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    56
    12
    14
    4
See reviews for
51
122
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

On a short family break with 2 teenagers, we stayed at the Brigands Inn for 2 nights.
The rooms where really comfortable, and the room maid (who also served breakfast) was charming, and made us really feel at home.
The menu was excellent, with an extremely wide selection from the specials board.
During our tsay, we had fillet steak, sea bass, carpaccio of beef, scallops and other varied dishes. All of them were well prepared, and reasonably priced.
Although the overall room cost is higher than many in the area, the extra seemed worth it.
A most enjoyable stay, with pleasant staff that were friendly and helpful.
The location was convenient for our requirements with easy access to both the coast and the mountains.
I would recommend this Inn certainly to adults. There is limited, or no entertainment for younger people, and limited Internet or Mobile access for some networks

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stopped here (my brother and sister- in - law and I) after a day climbing Cadair Idris. to come back and relax in comfortable surroundings (didn't want to get up out of the sofa's) was great, and bathroom facilites very good and clean. This is one of the better B&Bs I have stayed in. Friendly staff always makes a stay more enjoyable and they were all very pleasant and friendly. Menu perhaps a little too busy, but the food was good. We'd definitely book in here again if we come back to do more walking. Also Dawn gave us the LateRooms rates, which made it good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiWNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I read a lot of good reviews about the Brigands,so was dissapointed really.
Its not a bad place to stay,dont get me wrong ,I just expected more.
The location is ok,not really anything on your doorstep,you need a decent drive to get to some of the more popular attractions for the area.
The staff are wonderful,but someone needs to be the mystery guest and check over the overall experience.
Food is ok again,although the restaurant is next to the bar ,and some verrry noisy drinkers tended to ruin any atmosphere .
The room was a bit tired ,and any decent nights sleep was ruined by people banging and shouting at each other through doors at around 1am.
Im not sure what time the bar shuts but aforementioned drinkers left,noisily! around 4am.
I wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We booked a last minute break through LateRooms (who offered us a cheaper rate than the hotel) even when we called the hotel, they wouldn't give us the LateRooms rate despite the fact that they were hardly fully booked.
Anyway the room was good, very comfortable and nicely fitted out. It overlooked the roundabout outside but that didn't cause us any issues despite the fact that the room was only single glazed. Food in the restaurant was good quality but not brilliant. Service was good and the staff were very helpful. All-in-all we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymruman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
216 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

We have dined here on several occasions over the past year, and we have friends who have stayed overnight.
It is situated in beautiful countryside within easy striking distance of the coast. True, it stands on a busy holiday route and main junction, but our friends have not complained about the rooms or road noise. We have no direct experience of the overnight accommodation (and breakfast) .
The building is generally atmospheric and pleasant, with the air of relaxed comfort, but can get busy; possibly too much so for some at peak times.
The food has been, without exception, very enjoyable and good quality. The selection is almost too much, with a wide variety of imaginative dishes with ingredients sourced locally. There is a good wine list and at least two changing real ales available.
It is not cheap, but we think overall it is good value.
I think it fair to say that in our experience consistency is what lets the Brigands Inn down. The core staff are very good: friendly, efficient and helpful. However, there seem to be a number of younger staff who lack experience or, in some cases, any idea of what they should be doing and what customer service is about. It can be a little hit and miss as to what level of service you get!
On balance, our experience has been more than satisfactory. We will almost certainly return to drink, dine and maybe even stay. We would also recommend it to our friends...just maybe with a warning about the younger staff members who need to liven their ideas up!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESP2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Was honeymooning with my new husband and we were staying in a cottage nearby, so can't actually comment on the rooms, but we ate here 3 times in a week. Once for lunch, and twice for dinner. All I can say is, if you like delicious home cooked food, with friendly staff, eat here! We would definately go back if we were ever over that way again, and I would like to stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharalee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
9.7 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
10.3 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
10.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.2 mi away
Penrhos Arms
Penrhos Arms
#6 of 14 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#3 of 14 in Machynlleth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigands Inn

Property: Brigands Inn
Address: Dinas Mawddwy, Machynlleth SY20 9HJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brigands Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Welsh welcome awaits you in the Dyfi Valley. With the beautiful coast, Snowdonia , Snowdon and the Aran Fawddwy, only a stone’s throw away, the Brigands Inn is an ideal base for your adventures. Bydd croeso cynnes Cymreig yn eich disgwyl, yma yn Nyffryn Dyfi. Gyda'r arfordir, Eryri, Yr Wyddfa a'r Aran Fawddwy nid nepell o'r gwesty, mae Tafarn y Brigands yn ddelfrydol ar gyfer unrhyw anturiaethau neu hamddena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brigands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigands Inn Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing