We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Taj Mahal Exquisite Bangladeshi & Indian Cuisine
Ranked #25 of 31 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The restaurant is dark and dingey, with old, dated furniture. The food itself was average, but edible.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeebeeKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    20
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FOUND MEAT IN VEGGIE CURRY!!!!!! ”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We ordered a takeaway from here, the starters we got we literally swimming in oil and grease, we were spooning out the grease and throwing it away! I then started eating my vegetable korma and found a lump of chicken!! I've been veggie all my life so this was a horrific experience. We where camping at the time with no signal so couldn't call to complain, when we finally got signal again I called and complained, they refused to give me a refund and refused to let me speak to the manager, they were very rude.
This place is horrible!! DO NOT EAT HERE IF YOU ARE VEGGIE!!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Willowbork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Curry so hot it hurts to eat it but somehow tasteless at the same time.

Seemingly the curries are made with frozen diced veg and extra extra (extra?) strong chili powder as the only two ingredients. Maybe that's unfair, they probably added a bit of veg oil.


Also, my son noticed they only have a good hygiene rating of 1 (it's displayed on the door).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Malimocsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service .”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I would recommend a visit for a satisfying meal and excellent service, we shall certainly return yet again very soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Disgusting”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

It was the worst experience of my curry eating life. The mint sauce was a pot of tasteless watered down yoghurt. The chicken pakora was just pieces of chicken breast that had been battered and had no taste to them at all. The currys were full of grease and the chicken tikka madras tasted of chilli powder and had no substance to it, not to mention the un cooked chicken! Our fries had no potato inside them and our garlic naans were bland. To top things off after paying over £50 for a order you still have to pay for poppadoms! I would suggest any regular customer of the Taj Mahal makes the short journey to sedgley and tries a proper curry in spices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank apic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taj Mahal Exquisite Bangladeshi & Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to The Taj Mahal Exquisite Bangladeshi & Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing