We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Taj Mahal Exquisite Bangladeshi & Indian Cuisine
Ranked #21 of 30 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
swansea
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

although a little jaded looking, the food more than made up for the shabby exterior and tired looking interior. The food was absolutely gorgeous. I had the garlic chickena and my partner had one of the speciality dishes (a chicken breast stuffed with minced lamb). We had a chutney tray starter, a main each, rice and nan to share and 3 pints, paying a well priced £35.00 for this. Woudl definately recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    20
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way from north Wales to swansea on a sunday evening and decided to stop off here.
Last time we did this trip we went into manny pubs looking for food but nobody was serving, so we thought a curry was a good option.
The Indian is on the main road in the town centre, with plenty of parking just outside.
The food was very nice, the service was very good, the deco was a bit dated but we enjoyed.
We would stop here again no problem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasty Food - Reasonable Price!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Husband and I visited the Taj Mahal on a Sunday Evening - To be honest in the small town where it is situated there isn't much choice of other food..So that's why we headed to the Taj Mahal. On arrival we were promptly greeted and shown to a table. The decor is a little outdated, but on the whole the place is pleasant enough and more importantly clean!
It was busy when we arrived and therefore we had to wait quit a while for our food, but when it did come it was nicely presented and it tasted delicious! I would return to the Taj Mahal if I was back in Machynlleth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blondepunkyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid when busy”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked for a party of ~20 people, several days ahead. We made it easy for them by all pre-ordering the banquet and confirmed exact numbers on the Saturday afternoon. At 8 p.m. our seats were still occupied by a previous party. Once we were finally in we were told that all was OK as they had our dinner ready.
1½ hours and just a few small pieces of meat and a small onion bhaji each later the food finally arrived. Meantime we had resorted to lifting leftovers from other tables as we were so hungry.
In fact, they had not even started to cook our banquet until they were sure we were showing up. They gave us a 10% discount for our trouble but that was a poor reward for the inconvenience. They even ran out of beer.

The food was OK but not exceptional and that late, several of us didn't fancy it any more. With just two staff in front of house and having taken on far more covers than they could possibly manage, they were totally overloaded.

If you are in Machynlleth I would advise eating anywhere except the Taj Mahal when they are busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CMG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, but.........”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We could hear the chef and waiter arguing in the kitchen which soiled the ambience a little!
That aside the food was fantastic and the perfect combination of heat and spice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ella74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taj Mahal Exquisite Bangladeshi & Indian Cuisine also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to The Taj Mahal Exquisite Bangladeshi & Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing