We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely location, in desperate need of refurb!”
Review of White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Machynlleth
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here recently for one night. Staff were friendly though did not go out of their way to look after the hotel guests. Food was good value. Rooms were tired and in desperate need of a refurb. Though rooms were clean and the bed was comfy I wouldn't rush to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QBird1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

stayed just the one night, thank goodness. Shabby, smelly, bed was so bad we barely slept, thin cheap mattress that squeaked every time we moved, cheap nylon bedding that was creased and grubby looking, dirty bathroom.
breakfast was nice and staff friendly. Paid £70 for the two of us, wouldn't go back.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sunlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a single night and were appalled at the poor standard of the accommodation. The decor and furnishings were 1970s at best. Carpet was ancient and stained, curtains, also ancient and very thin, were hanging adrift from some of the rings, we had to request a second bedside lamp (in a twin room), duvet covers were frilled pale nylon. The ensuite shower room was , forgive the pun, bog standard, lacking shelf space and completely without any comforts. The only mirror in the whole of the accommodation was a small one above the hand basin. Astonished beyond all words to find it was £70. Breakfast was good and the service of the utterly charming staff beyond reproach, so we were inhibited about making any complaint for what was clearly beyond their actual control. The area around the fire escape entrance (which we were advised to use as easy access to the carpark from our room) was a total disgrace, wallpaper ballooning and detached from the walls and thick dust on ledges and stairs. The owners of this place should take urgent note - their parsimony gives a very poor impression of the delightful town. Why did we stay? Everwhere else was full and circumstances dictated that we must spend the night before resuming our journey. Otherwise we would have been off like a shot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Thankfully stayed here for one night only .It was a cold depressing experience grossly overpriced and microwaved sunday lunch served to us on monday evening. Not an experience we wish to repeat

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

On first impressions the special boards looked good, "welsh lamb, welsh beef, fresh trout" etc at around £8.95 for a roast. At that price we expected something pretty reasonable for a pub. Staff were friendly and welcoming, but whoever is letting the meals leave the kitchen is obviously not looking at the quality of food sent out to customers. Beef was black and driedout, black yorkshire pudding, potatoes were brown.... inside, tinned or frozen veg. Whoever had sent this out tried to mask t with white, LAMB flavoured gravy. Worst roast dinner ever experienced. A real shame as the staff in the pub serving were helpful and good intentioned. Food needs a major overhaul. Would not recommend eating here at the moment.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sandbanks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I was disappointed with my samall shabby room, not very clean, draughty ( fire escape door in room with an open grill!) radiator broken could not adjust temperature. Old, small T.V. way up the wall.Food in bar O.K., breakfast= O.K. staff did try to be helpful. Whole hotel in need of a major re-fit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordgraham37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Pros
Great location
No Noise from the bar
reasonable traditional breakfast

Cons
No Shampoo/shower gel
not very clean
draughty window
poor general maintenance
broken radiator valve, heating on full!
Tiny TV

Basically this hotel is tired and needs a refurbishment, in my opinion it is not worth the money.....I didn't eat in the hotel or use the bar so cannot comment, I went elsewhere instead......need I say anymore

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyCastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Machynlleth
79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 4 in Machynlleth
105 reviews
8.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 11 in Machynlleth
114 reviews
6.8 mi away
Penrhos Arms
Penrhos Arms
#6 of 11 in Machynlleth
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Hotel

Address: 10 Heol Pentrerhedyn | Pentrerhedyn, Machynlleth SY20 8DN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Machynlleth
Price Range: $89 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Lion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Hotel Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing