We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced B & B”
Review of White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Machynlleth
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Thankfully stayed here for one night only .It was a cold depressing experience grossly overpriced and microwaved sunday lunch served to us on monday evening. Not an experience we wish to repeat

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 158 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

On first impressions the special boards looked good, "welsh lamb, welsh beef, fresh trout" etc at around £8.95 for a roast. At that price we expected something pretty reasonable for a pub. Staff were friendly and welcoming, but whoever is letting the meals leave the kitchen is obviously not looking at the quality of food sent out to customers. Beef was black and driedout, black yorkshire pudding, potatoes were brown.... inside, tinned or frozen veg. Whoever had sent this out tried to mask t with white, LAMB flavoured gravy. Worst roast dinner ever experienced. A real shame as the staff in the pub serving were helpful and good intentioned. Food needs a major overhaul. Would not recommend eating here at the moment.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sandbanks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I was disappointed with my samall shabby room, not very clean, draughty ( fire escape door in room with an open grill!) radiator broken could not adjust temperature. Old, small T.V. way up the wall.Food in bar O.K., breakfast= O.K. staff did try to be helpful. Whole hotel in need of a major re-fit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordgraham37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Pros
Great location
No Noise from the bar
reasonable traditional breakfast

Cons
No Shampoo/shower gel
not very clean
draughty window
poor general maintenance
broken radiator valve, heating on full!
Tiny TV

Basically this hotel is tired and needs a refurbishment, in my opinion it is not worth the money.....I didn't eat in the hotel or use the bar so cannot comment, I went elsewhere instead......need I say anymore

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyCastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

stayed for 2 nights as part of a hiking weekend away.
Pros: good location, parking next to building, average breakfast
Cons: old building in need of better maintenance, room was very dated and not so clean (some cobwebs, hairs in bathroom, stains on carpet - nothing serious but it should be better), dinner was mediocre - overcooked. windows let all the sound from street in - should be double glaze?, parking area had many potholes(it was raining and dark so i did not spot them all).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivier1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

The White Lion Hotel is centrally situated in the heart of Machynlleth, a delightful market town in West / Mid Wales. Bus Stops are located outside in Heol Pentrehedyn, and the station is apporox half a mile. If arriving by train, turn left at the end of the station approach road into the town, which walking will require 10 - 15 mins.

The hotel is an inn, so check-in is at the bar counter. However, procedures were quick and efficient and facilities were thoroughly explained. As my friend and I were staying just two nights, we opted for a no frills room, which was spacious and included clean towels, soap, tea/coffee etc. There were a choice of three w.c.'s in the corridor, included within. were shower room and a bathroom. So there was no problem there.

Whilst the hotel was in need of some re-decorating, the cleanliness and service was excellent with friendly hosts - staff were pleased to chat about the local history of the hotel between their chores etc.

Evening meals ( extra ) were taken in the bar restaurant and there was a good choice and also a wide range of beers and wines. I opted for the local roast lamb which was lst class and plentiful. Breakfast was also served in the bar restaurant and included a full Welsh cooked breakfast! A good start to the day. I noted that I paid about £12.00 for a roast evening meal with wine. We both consideded the meals were exceptionally good and we ate there both nights.

For our stay - two sharing we paid £25.00 each per night for B & B. which I considered good value. A very good touring accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashurstdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

stayed at white lion for one night, arrived soaking wet after cycling through heavy rain, landlady and staff very helpfull offered to dry all wet clothes in boiler room, room fine for rate, plenty of tea and coffee, bathroom clean nice hot shower, dinner hot, plenty to choose from at breakfast. im certain if i had arrived at many other hotels, b&b i would have been turned away, i was also able to store cycle somewhere dry, thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclefree62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Machynlleth
79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 4 in Machynlleth
105 reviews
8.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maenllwyd Guest House
Maenllwyd Guest House
#5 of 11 in Machynlleth
114 reviews
6.8 mi away
Penrhos Arms
Penrhos Arms
#6 of 11 in Machynlleth
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Hotel

Address: 10 Heol Pentrerhedyn | Pentrerhedyn, Machynlleth SY20 8DN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Machynlleth
Price Range: $89 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Lion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Hotel Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing