We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I booked this hotel to surprise my husband on his 60th birthday. I used a Groupon deal but paid for an upgraded room. From the moment the reservation was made, we weren't disappointed.
The customer care is faultless - a card in the room wishing a Happy Birthday from the staff - complimentary Prosecco and truffles and all staff appeared to be happy to help from the minute we arrived.
We had a superb room - with an amazing view of the lake and the biggest, most comfortable 4 poster bed you have ever seen or slep in.
The restaurant too is an absolute treat - good quality food and plenty of it - all piping hot and well presented.
We also ate in the Tavern and found the salmon and prawn fish cakes were delicious but too much in terms of size - they were huge!!!
The spa is a must. Super obliging staff and well worth the extra - we had the place to ourselves and it was 3 hours of serenity.
Although the weather is what you can only expect for this time of year, we had an amazing time and will definitely be going back. Strongly reccommend.

Room Tip: any with a lake view. Room 4 was near the top of the main staircase in the original house. We had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrish105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We throughly enjoyed our Travelzoo overnight stay here We liked the country house ambience, the pleasant and efficient staff, the well presented and very good meal, the gym and spa, and the lovely soft Lake Vyrnwy water . We paid extra for a lake view and this was well worth it . We will certainly pay a retrun visit - hopefully in better weather !

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just returned from a stay at The Lake Vyrnwy Hotel and Spa and couldn't fault it in any way.We were met by friendly, smiling reception ladies who had made a note that we were there for my girlfriends birthday and immediately wished her "happy birthday"....a nice touch and then had truffles and a card sent to our room
This hotel is over 100 years old so if you expect "modern, trendy" rooms then its not for you but if you like olde worlde then step back in time and enjoy. Our room was large and very comfortable with a massive bed. The bathroom was again large and spacious and spotlessly clean
I had paid for a room upgrade which was worth every penny for the view of the lake alone....and you get a toy puppy to place outside your door if you do not wish to be disturbed....so much nicer than a card to hang on your door handle
The food and service that you will receive here is excellent....friendly helpful staff who attend to your every need......the restaurant and bar also have wonderful views over the lake and surrounding countryside and there is a large balcony that you can sit on to take in the views
There is a also a tavern next to the hotel and the Spa is across from that which is an additional £10......we didn't actually use this facility but we did go in for a look and we were shown around by a very helpful lady who explained all the treatments that you could have
So if you are looking for a very relaxed break in the middle of nowhere then you wont go wrong with this hotel......would thouroughly recommend it ......excellent

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front....room 3 is the best one apparently.... for an additional fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beautiful location in the middle of nowhere overlooking Lake Vyrnwy. Fabric of the building is a bit tired but our room appeared freshly decorated, and was clean, warm and comfortable. The bathroom had a tiny shower cubicle but can be forgiven because there was also a lovely long, deep bath.

The food was OK but nothing to rave about - I think I would have been disappointed if we had been paying full cost rather than on a voucher deal that included the five course menu.

The most tables in the restaurant overlook the lake and we were treated to the most magnificent rainbow during breakfast proving that this is a really is a magical location.

Room Tip: Some rooms are dog friendly (£10 supplement) or there are free heated kennels but we didn't chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleAcorn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from what can only be described as a truly wonderful, relaxing stay at this hotel. The views are jaw dropping and as we approached the hotel it was like stepping back in time. This hotel and it's staff are honest and caring, not at all pretentious. The room was great, yes it is an old hotel but if you want modern, don't go. There is no mobile phone coverage (except Orange)...bonus!!! Food was brilliant and the service very attentive. Breakfast was great too. If you want to spend quality time with loved ones or friends, this hotel is perfect. There is even a pub on it's grounds. Plenty to do if you like walking etc, we didn't even turn the TV on.
The staff are great, very helpful and caring. I seriously thought that the cast of Downton Abbey were going to appear at any time, a beautiful old hotel that obviously entertained the gentry in the old days, but has still retained it's character.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are a 'must'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel decent, location great, rooms very comfortable. It was very clean too!

Sadly let down by food, Rabbit terrine dry and heavy, smoked halibut with HUGE pickled onion pieces, Pheasant chewy chewy. Veg bland, Pannacotta was inedible you could stand a spoon up in it! Breakfast ok, sausage was billed as local but didnt taste brilliant.

Sad really as it could have been amazing. Loved the gin menu!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This place is absolutely beautiful.
I only stayed the one night. Weather was glorious so could sit on the balcony overlooking the lake. Food was amazing.
Room was lovely and comfortable overlooked the lake. Had a fabulous weekend.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Selina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for your brief but kind words regarding your recent stay at Vyrnwy. I am delighted that you had a fabulous weekend and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.4 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
189 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
136 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
67 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
443 reviews
17.3 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range: $102 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Wales/Llanwddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing