We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous view, lovely old-fashioned hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous view, lovely old-fashioned hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here on a cycling holiday - the only thing that I didn't like was that it was uphill after a very hilly day! The view is, as others have said, sensational. As we were only staying one night, we didn't pay extra for a lake view room, and that was no problem because our room was very spacious, with its own balcony, overlooking the countryside. Also there is a lovely patio from the lounge where you can take drinks and see the beautiful view.Very pleasant indeed. The bathroom was also large, with lovely luxurious fluffy towels and bathrobes, and a very good shower (and bath, but we didn't try that).

Breakfast was good enough (though not great); the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I wish we could have stayed longer, but we had another day's cycling ahead of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primroselil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    444
    138
    67
    29
See reviews for
148
1,004
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A fantastic place in a fantastic setting. Classy and expensive, we part paid with tesco vouchers. This did not lessen the magnificent service we received. Two retaurants to choose from with excellent food. Views across the lake were stupendous.
I am disabled and use a powerchair. There were full facilities for me. The staff were very kind and helpful. Can't wait to get back again.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waymarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for such a kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. There are certain quieter times in the year where we are able to offer deals, and those savvy shoppers snap them up – lesser service does not come in to it. Regardless of how guests get here all will receive the same level of service from our wonderful staff – I am so pleased read your comment of how kind and helpful they were.

I certainly hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Recommend to anyone...although a little tired in places this is a great hotel with spectacular views through the valley and over lake Vyrnwy.
Service & staff very good making our stay a very special one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa. I am so pleased that we were able to play a small part in making it a special one for you.

I hope that we will welcome you back to the lake in the not so distant future.

Best Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

From checking in, to checking out the accommodation, service, staff and food were all excellent.
Lake Vyrnwy is situated in a fabulous area of outstanding beauty and delivered 100% on all aspects of service.
The locally sourced food is top quality, well prepared and presented as well as plentiful. The views are amazing. Accommodation is clean,fresh and peaceful.
Would highly recommend for a enjoyable break away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for penning such a kind review. I am truly delighted that hear that you enjoyed so much of your stay.

I sincerely hope that you will return to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My son’s and daughter in-law’s wedding reception and evening party was excellent. I could not fault the staff, food or beautiful venue. My husband and I, and family members and friends decided to stay two nights the Friday (day of the wedding) and the Saturday.

We all thoroughly enjoyed the wedding day and evening party – the food was that of a top class restaurant, and the staff could not do more to ensure that all guests were well catered for. Many of them remarked on the stunning panoramic views of the lake and surrounding countryside from the function room, veranda and lounge, and the top quality food and helpful staff.
On the Saturday and Sunday, we enjoyed a hearty breakfast prepared from local produce; the tower restaurant has a relaxing atmosphere, you were not rushed and if you wanted more of anything, you only needed to ask. The breakfast was once again top notch! We then took in the views by enjoying a tea and coffee in the lounge. Though it rained on the Saturday, we still managed a walk with our dogs (that also stayed in the heated kennels). In the afternoon, we ventured to the spa and again the staff were welcoming and helpful. In the evening, we ate in the bistro restaurant – the food was excellent and plentiful, and reasonably priced.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Lake Vyrnwy as a wedding venue or a place where you can escape for a few days to unwind and pamper yourself – the whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: A lake view premier room is certainly worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review – I am delighted to note that you would have no hesitation in recommending Lake Vyrnwy Hotel, it is always wonderful to hear that guests have had such an enjoyable time with us.

Please wish Lisa and Stephen all the best from us here at Lake Vyrnwy. I certainly hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the lake again soon – perhaps for an anniversary.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I don't think there are many views to rival the one from room 16. Although I enjoyed the great food and the pampering in the spa, it was worth the visit for that view alone - and in room 16 you can even enjoy the same view from the bath. This is the perfect place for a short break to recharge the batteries.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culture_FanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing such a kind review – I am delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy so many of the things that we have to offer at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel.

We’re a little biased, but think you’d be hard pressed to find a room with a better view!

I certainly hope that you will return to the lake the next time you are in need of a relaxing break.

Kind Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed in the Lake Vyrnwy Hotel this year. The location is fantastic, the staff are great and the food delicious. Spoilt ourselves by visiting the spa and booking a treatment - the young brunette with long hair deserves a special mention.
Thank you for another wonderful stay - we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luby29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am delighted that you have returned to us for a second time and are considering a third!

I must say that you do have a little way to go to catch up with our most regular visitors. Once they had their Honeymoon here, they missed their anniversary only a couple of times in 74 years. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you for your third visit to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel.

Best Regards
Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
20.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
15.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Property: Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Wales/Llanwddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing