We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely overnight stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

W booked a room fairly last minute, they only have premier lake view rooms left but we got a good deal and the room was beautiful, with a view to die for, a balcony, and lovely bathroom, with a huge bath, very welcome after a complete circuit of the lake on foot! Weather wasn't brilliant, but nice enough to sit out drinking tea on the balcony. Staff were helpful and friendly and the coffee and home baked biscuits on arrival in the lounge at no charge was a nice touch. The room was very comfy and we both slept really well.
We ate in the restaurant, having looked at the menus for there and the bar, food was nice,, but a few niggles. Firstly the choice was excellent , but there were just 2 options in terms of cost , 2 courses for £27 or 5 for £39, I only wanted a mainland desert, my husband wanted a starter and main, and asked the waitress if he then decided to have a desert or cheese how much it would cost, and was told that it would cost £39 as if he had had the 5 courses, there was no flexibility on this, seemed rather odd to us, i suggest that quite often people decide to have or not have a sweet after their starter and main, and yet this appeared to have passed the management of the restaurant by, you have to decide beforehand wether you want 5 courses or two, very inflexible. He decided to have just the 2 courses, yet the waitress seemed to encourage him to look at the desert menu after we had eaten our mains... Very odd and quite un accommodating we thought for a restaurant pro porting to be a fine dining experience. Other diners seemed to also be perplexed by this. The food was quite nice, but nothing amazing especially given the price, I think next time we would eat in the tavern bar, the setting of the restaurant was lovely though.

Room Tip: The lake view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanne_laird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you first of all for such a kind review – I am always delighted to hear that others enjoy the hotel as much as we do. Being able to enjoy the Lake from the comfort of your room is certainly a welcome treat after a busy day walking.

We have two food offerings here at the Hotel; the Tavern where you can eat as much or as little as you like, and the Restaurant – a more formal fine dining experience with a view. With regards to the menu our pricing structure has always worked pretty well; 2 courses at £27 for those in a hurry, or 5 courses of fine dining, preceded by canapés followed by coffee and homemade petit fours for a relaxing dinner time – we reckon that this is pretty good value for money.

We certainly hope that you will return to the hotel in the not too distant future – the sun is shining up here, perfect weather for dinner on the Tavern veranda.

Best Regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    393
    120
    62
    25
See reviews for
129
880
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had two nights with a Living Social Deal, which made it very good value. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the food was good, although the cooked breakfast was average. It is beautifully situated but you would need fine weather to appreciate it fully. A good base for exploring this picturesque part of Wales.

Room Tip: Lake facing views are essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penylanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Your honest review is very much appreciated, thank you. Quieter times of the year mean that late availability offers become available for a short period of time – often Dinner, Bed & Breakfast, as well as an extra treat are included to ensure that they are great value for our guests. This of course gives the savvy traveller the opportunity of some wonderful opportunities at particular times of the year.

It is always lovely to see that more people are experiencing the wonders that Lake Vyrnwy has to offer. The weather as you mention plays a huge part. Today the sun is shining - it is the perfect day for a walk or cycle around the lake or for those taking time out to relax, a cold drink on the veranda where you can take in the scintillating lake views.

I am sorry to hear that your breakfast was only average and shall bring this to the attention of our chef. Unlike other hotels we do not take the easy route with a buffet breakfast; breakfast here is instead cooked to individual order, I am sorry that on this occasion it was not the better experience that it should be.

I hope that we may welcome you back before too long to continue your exploration of this truly picturesque part of Wales.

Many Thanks

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went to Lake Vrynwy a few years ago for a short break and have not got around to going back until last week. What a mistake, it is such a tranquil place we are resolved to go back sooner next time - next Summer even! The hotel is sited at the end of the lake and the views are spectacular, especially from the dining room. The meals are excellent with a daily change of menu which if one is only staying a few nights enables you to enjoy a real variety of dishes over a short stay. The food is beautifully presented and of a high quality as is the service which is attentive and courteous while allowing time to enjoy the meal without being hurried. Rooms 42 to 48 have wonderful lake views and small private balconies, on a warm night the windows can be left open with no worry of intrusion or being overlooked. Great place we shall be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much; it is a real pleasure to welcome guests back time and time again.

What took you so long!! I do hope that we do not have to wait so long to welcome you back to the hotel for your third visit.

Increasingly people are using Vyrnwy as an escape from the rush of everyday life; they come to rejuvenate, to unwind. The tranquillity you feel from the lake, we like to feel that you experience that in all aspects of your stay.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Large Victorian hotel elevated location overlooking lake. Had standard room with excellent lake views. Comfortable spacious room with large bathroom, lovely views even from bath! Very friendly staff, delicious meals. A lovely part of the UK.. Good walking & excellent bird-watching. Would definitely return. Didn't manage to try spa unfortunately.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_and_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Lake view rooms on the third floor are a little small but comfortably furnished and the bathroom was enormous.
If you can get one of this hotel's dinner b&b offers for around £75 per person you have got a good deal. Their 5 course dinner and breakfast are of a high standard and you can enjoy spectacular views as you eat. The location really is special, but for me its hard to justify the high season price of around £125 per person.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just come back from 2 wonderful nights at Lake Vyrnwy. Can only back up all the great reviews so far. Top food, lovely staff, amazing views. We stayed in room 48 - overlooking the lake. It is above the spa so a bit warm but open the windows to the lovely lake air and it soon cooled. Great size room/bed, and a bathroom with separate shower and bath. Husband tried the clay shooting and Matt the Gamekeeper was great - helpful and interesting. Was particularly impressed by the food in the Tavern pub. Good value and tasted amazing - real care shown by the chefs, Would definitely stay again if over in that part of Wales.

Room Tip: The modern rooms overlooking the lake have balconies - which are great. Not sure all the rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodEvans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is in an amazing spot, with stunning views of the lake and we were looking forward to our 2 days break, unfortunately the hotel itself was disappointing. The hotel is very "twee", our room had tired décor, 1980’s style chintzy faded elegance and could do with updating to meet normal 4* standards. The Lounge area silent and stuffy, airless with no open windows and lacking atmosphere. If you dared to open the terrace door to go out on the terrace on a hot stifling afternoon you were given the “raised eyebrow and disdainful glare” from other guests sitting reading. It felt uncomfortable holding a conversation with friends in the lounge, due to the constant “glare” from other guests – it’s a hotel bar, not a library! The hotel is also dog friendly, not everyone is a dog lover.

We were supposed to have a book of discount vouchers for the hotel, which we didn’t receive in our room. We had been looking forward to dinner in the hotel restaurant, an AA Rosette Restaurant, having eaten in plenty of others. The food was mediocre and less than impressive in my opinion. I chose the lamb as a main course. Lamb with petite ratatouille and fondant potato. It arrived a stack of 3 very small slices of lamb, and an artistic smear on the side of the plate of a teaspoonful of finely chopped red/green pepper, which was more of an artistic statement than something to eat, there was no fondant potato, not beneath the lamb, or next to it, I know what a fondant potato looks like. The lamb itself would’ve been fine, with some accompanying vegetables and potatoes. My fellow diners all received a side of accompanying potato and vegetables with their meal. But I didn’t. I realized that I wouldn’t be receiving any potato or vegetables to accompany mine. When I asked the waitress and she said that was it, on my plate!!. I’m a bit of a foodie myself, no stranger to fine dining and artistic presentation of food, but this was a ridiculously stingy main course.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongHaulMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
18.4 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
24.5 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
11.7 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
11.5 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
7.6 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Property: Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Wales/Llanwddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing