We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Can not fault the hotel, staff and the experience. The tasting menu was lovely and even catered to my partners needs. Very relaxing and will be going back again. The location is stunning and we were lucky with the weather. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is ok for a relaxing break but not much else to do in the area. The view was the best asset of the hotel but after paying for a lake view room as recommended in other reviews I was disappointed with the single glazed window which was steamed up and therefore couldn't see out of it. The room and bathroom was tiny (on the second floor) and I was also disappointed not to have a bath only a shower. The restaurant food was ok but we enjoyed the food in the onsite Tavern better. At breakfast the first morning i was served cold porridge and the next day was told there was no haddock left after I had ordered it. I saw other people at breakfast returning their food orders.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath if you prefer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barrow2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed overnight having booked online. The deal included dinner, bed and breakfast and was very good value. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the ambience was great. The evening meal was excellent. The bedroom was good. As you might expect with a deal the view form the room wasn't over the lake but we still felt we had good value for money. My only gripe was with the Spa. It is very good but the £10 fee for a day's use is misleading as you can only use it on one day. As the rooms weren't available uintil about 2.00pm we could only use it from them or the following morning. I think if they say the fee is for a day it should be from when you ckeck in. Apart from that I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and the food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miken2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our second visit in 13 months and it was wonderful. The service and food second to none. The views are fabulous. It is a hideaway haven of tranquility. The staff are so lovely and will help you with anything-even offered to bring luggage in from the car. The views are fantastic and you feel so relaxed when you are here. Cannot wait to return again and again. Well done lake v hotel!!!

Room Tip: All rooms nice but lake views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollymid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Sadly only here for one night. It's "in the middle of nowhere" which makes it lovely....on arrival it has the "wow" factor, the view is just beautiful. We had booked a (cheaper) garden view room, which was lovely, but decided to upgrade to a lake view room to be able to enjoy that stunning view as soon as I woke up...which I did, I couldn't wait to watch the sunrise, the landscape colours changing, beautiful reflections in the water...a photographer's dream. The calmness, silence and beauty is astounding.
Also a twitcher's paradise, lots of birds joined me on the balcony for my morning cuppa, RSPB Vyrnwy isn't far, and there are hides dotted around the lake, so lots of birds, well worth a trip to the main hideout where the birds are very well fed and you can admire all the different birds in their feeding frenzy!
We had a meal in the Tavern, again, stunning views, but that particular night the service was pretty rubbish. He took ages to offer drinks, then forgot them, but the food was nice, although we did feedback that at such a nice establishment it would be nice if the chef would make his own onion rings instead of using cheap frozen ones. We enjoyed some time in the drawing room where there were parlour games for guests to play as well as a piano, it did feel like we had gone back in time.
Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and good quality, and again of course, wonderful views. The room standard was exceptional with some lovely surprise touches. A gorgeous bath and separate shower, had to try both!
We also tried the spa, the Jacuzzi also overlooks that stunning view, as do the heat spa beds...the downside is once the Jacuzzi is on the windows steam up so you cant see that wonderful view which is a real shame. A Jacuzzi out on the balcony area would be a nice addition! All the testers were empty in the (communal) changing room, I'd advise taking some moisturiser with you as the spa is quite drying.
Overall a gorgeous stay and one night wasn't enough ...Highly recommend :)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 52...a long walk/lots of stairs/no lift....but lovely and quiet, a gorgeous room
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Myself and my partner recently visited the Hotel for a night using the Travelzoo offer. We had a really lovely time. The hotel is situated in an ideal, stunning location, just the thing if you're after a romantic getaway. It takes a while to get to, but is very much worth it. The staff were great, the facilities were great. The food was outstanding. The only slight gripe I'd have is that the room had a bit of a strange odour on arrival - I can only guess that the room didn't have an opportunity to air properly. However, we left the windows open so the room could air while we went to the spa and it was fine when we returned. It certainly didn't spoil the visit and was easily sorted. The room itself was great and very cosy, with what looked like recently refurbished bathroom facilities.

I'd highly recommend the hotel and would definately go back. Da iawn!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a one night break here last weekend.
We had a lakeside room which was great - the bed v comfy, lovely bed linen,room was a great size.
The furniture was olde worlde to suit the hotel.
The room comes with a cuddly toy that acts as a Do Not Disturb sign when you put it outside your door - so cute!

The chamber maids were most efficient and courteous and even came round to top up our tea and coffee supplies!

We had afternoon tea ( with wine) and then a lovely 5 course dinner. The food was of a very high standard and we had a great lake view. The service was good also and the waitresses were very attentive.
Breakfast was also good (though the service not quite as good as the previous evening)

We went to the Spa and paid our £10 each to go in but were a bit disappointed as there was a Hen Party in there which made it difficult to relax ( they were not rowdy - just understandably very chatty) and space was an issue as it is only a small Spa
and so we only stayed a couple of hours ( I think we should have been warned about this before we signed in and paid our fee)

I would definitely return and recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slabnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.4 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
204 reviews
11.7 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
597 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
69 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
17.3 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range: $118 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Wales/Llanwddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing