We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams are made of this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
west yorks
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dreams are made of this!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our second visit in 13 months and it was wonderful. The service and food second to none. The views are fabulous. It is a hideaway haven of tranquility. The staff are so lovely and will help you with anything-even offered to bring luggage in from the car. The views are fantastic and you feel so relaxed when you are here. Cannot wait to return again and again. Well done lake v hotel!!!

Room Tip: All rooms nice but lake views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollymid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    458
    142
    67
    31
See reviews for
154
1,038
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Sadly only here for one night. It's "in the middle of nowhere" which makes it lovely....on arrival it has the "wow" factor, the view is just beautiful. We had booked a (cheaper) garden view room, which was lovely, but decided to upgrade to a lake view room to be able to enjoy that stunning view as soon as I woke up...which I did, I couldn't wait to watch the sunrise, the landscape colours changing, beautiful reflections in the water...a photographer's dream. The calmness, silence and beauty is astounding.
Also a twitcher's paradise, lots of birds joined me on the balcony for my morning cuppa, RSPB Vyrnwy isn't far, and there are hides dotted around the lake, so lots of birds, well worth a trip to the main hideout where the birds are very well fed and you can admire all the different birds in their feeding frenzy!
We had a meal in the Tavern, again, stunning views, but that particular night the service was pretty rubbish. He took ages to offer drinks, then forgot them, but the food was nice, although we did feedback that at such a nice establishment it would be nice if the chef would make his own onion rings instead of using cheap frozen ones. We enjoyed some time in the drawing room where there were parlour games for guests to play as well as a piano, it did feel like we had gone back in time.
Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and good quality, and again of course, wonderful views. The room standard was exceptional with some lovely surprise touches. A gorgeous bath and separate shower, had to try both!
We also tried the spa, the Jacuzzi also overlooks that stunning view, as do the heat spa beds...the downside is once the Jacuzzi is on the windows steam up so you cant see that wonderful view which is a real shame. A Jacuzzi out on the balcony area would be a nice addition! All the testers were empty in the (communal) changing room, I'd advise taking some moisturiser with you as the spa is quite drying.
Overall a gorgeous stay and one night wasn't enough ...Highly recommend :)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 52...a long walk/lots of stairs/no lift....but lovely and quiet, a gorgeous room
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Myself and my partner recently visited the Hotel for a night using the Travelzoo offer. We had a really lovely time. The hotel is situated in an ideal, stunning location, just the thing if you're after a romantic getaway. It takes a while to get to, but is very much worth it. The staff were great, the facilities were great. The food was outstanding. The only slight gripe I'd have is that the room had a bit of a strange odour on arrival - I can only guess that the room didn't have an opportunity to air properly. However, we left the windows open so the room could air while we went to the spa and it was fine when we returned. It certainly didn't spoil the visit and was easily sorted. The room itself was great and very cosy, with what looked like recently refurbished bathroom facilities.

I'd highly recommend the hotel and would definately go back. Da iawn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a one night break here last weekend.
We had a lakeside room which was great - the bed v comfy, lovely bed linen,room was a great size.
The furniture was olde worlde to suit the hotel.
The room comes with a cuddly toy that acts as a Do Not Disturb sign when you put it outside your door - so cute!

The chamber maids were most efficient and courteous and even came round to top up our tea and coffee supplies!

We had afternoon tea ( with wine) and then a lovely 5 course dinner. The food was of a very high standard and we had a great lake view. The service was good also and the waitresses were very attentive.
Breakfast was also good (though the service not quite as good as the previous evening)

We went to the Spa and paid our £10 each to go in but were a bit disappointed as there was a Hen Party in there which made it difficult to relax ( they were not rowdy - just understandably very chatty) and space was an issue as it is only a small Spa
and so we only stayed a couple of hours ( I think we should have been warned about this before we signed in and paid our fee)

I would definitely return and recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slabnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I have just visited the Hotel for the first time and had a great one night stay. Everything about the hotel was excellent. The welcome from the staff when we arrived. We were there quite early and our room was already available for us. We had a lake view room which was well worth the extra money. The views are amazing. The furniture in the room is a little dates but it doesn't matter as the rooms are so comfortable. We had a large sitting room, a lovely bathroom with a huge bath and a large bedroom aswell....so plenty of space. We cycled round the lake - which is an easy 12 mile ride....flat and with great views and stop off points. We then had truffles and champagne in the lounge which was served very professionally and a nice part of the day. The spa is well worth a visit and the staff were friendly and very helpful. It is a relaxing experience and the facilities and products are very good. The meal that we had in the evening could not be faulted in any way. The staff were friendly and polite and the food was excellent. The restaurant is relaxed and cosy and the view of the lake is amazing. The breakfast that we had this morning was again very good. There was a lovely choice of food and a great start to the day. One night really was not long enough and we cannot wait to go back to the Hotel. It is tucked a bit out of the way but that makes it even better - phones don't pick up a very good signal and it all helps add to the very relaxed atmosphere that there is at all times within the hotel. I fully recommend a visit to anyone and say a big well done and thank you to all the staff who helped make out stay so good.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which is a suite Lake view and loads of space. Plenty of room to relax and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
What a kind review, it is always a boost when new guests are so enthusiastic, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Bear in mind, some of the mobile providers might not give great service out here, but now we have invested in complementary WIFI in all the rooms, you should still be able to keep in touch, although for some no signal is just another reason to get away.

Very best regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth visit to Lake Vyrnwy. Somehow this hotel always gets it right, the rooms are large, clean and well thought out, food is outstanding and good value, staff are all efficient and friendly. I love it that the hotel is not trying to too hard, we recently had an hotel experience with fawning staff and a room that looked like it was straight from the pages of a magazine yet failed in most respects and food that was overpriced. I wished we had spent our money at Lake Vyrnwy instead!

Room Tip: Lake view worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missfoodlove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, and it is a real privilege to welcome you back so many times.

I am a little tickled by the concept of not trying to hard............but I do understand what you mean. Unstuffy, understated elegance, backed up with decent food using all the good things that we can get from around these hill is I suppose what Vyrnwy is all about. We all look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth visit.

You do have a way to go to catch up with our most regular visitors though. Once they had their Honeymoon here, (arriving by bicycle) they think they only missed their anniversary a couple of times in 74 years.

Best regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORDSHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our third visit to this hotel; little has changed which is why we like it. Lovely outlook from Lake View rooms, comfortable beds, quality food and pleasant, generally efficient staff. Two gripes: it is a pity the Management does not enforce its own Dress Code in the Dining room which is confirmed in writing and displayed outside the Bar/Dining room - we encountered T shirts, jeans and trainers - which is not appropriate attire and an insult to both the staff and other guests in a restaurant of this calibre. The other concern is the huge hike in price; whilst the 5 course dinner has increased by 15% (allowing for the 2.5% VAT increase) to £39.95 in precisely 3 years, a 3 night Dinner, Bed and Breakfast tarriff for two persons (both incorporating a Travelzoo offer) has risen by 42.5% from £427.50 in April 2010 to £609.00 (including the VAT increase) in April 2013. This simply cannot be justified.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are preferable to second floor accommodation. Lake View is worth paying for even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIGEL927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for not only returning so many times, but also sharing your honest opinions of your time here.

The dress code in the restaurant is an old and thorny issue, naturally we would all prefer our guests to dress appropriately when they come, and seeking advice I once asked a hotelier friend who is far more high profile than I his opinion about this; He thought a minute and said the following; "Don't you think that telling the people who are making the effort to come to you and doing you the privilege of spending their hard earned after tax income in your restaurant how they should dress is just a little bit arrogant? his comment made me think.

Increasingly people are using Vyrnwy as a bolt hole from the manic every day, they come to rejuvenate, to unwind, and losing the formality of the suit and tie for just a short time is for many part of this, we do however draw the line at shorts and flip flops. My wife and I still like to dress up for dinner, somehow it is all part of the occasion.

Your comments regarding pricing are interesting, in the last 3 to 5 years, with the growth or the internet the pricing of hotels has changed from a fixed rate for a whole year or period of a year to a rate fixed for a day or short period of time, regulated by how busy or quiet the hotel is. This of course gives the savvy traveller the opportunity of some splendid opportunities at particular times of the year. A lake Vyrnwy peculiarity of course is that we do charge different tarrifs for different standards of rooms from the cosy smaller ones overlooking the country side to capacious suites with balconies with views the length of the lake.

Regarding the menu, we are pretty sure the price has not moved for some years. Still at just under £40 for 5 courses of formal dinning, preceded by canapés followed by coffee and home made petty fours, we reckon that this is pretty good value for money,

We most certainly look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th stay

Best regards

Anthony Rosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.4 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
128 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
125 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
405 reviews
11.7 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Property: Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Wales/Llanwddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing