We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Cain Valley Hotel(Llanfyllin)
$115
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pale Hall Hotel(Llandderfel)
$326
$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
$156
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
$99
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Buckley Arms Hotel(Dinas Mawddwy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,644)
Filter reviews
1,644 results
Traveler rating
862
503
164
77
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
503
164
77
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake vyrnwycourse mealafternoon teastunning viewsgarden viewsorbetpremier roomfour poster bedclay pigeon shootingtrufflefantastic locationroom was largesconesdrawing roomhotel barmain restaurantrelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,114 - 1,119 of 1,644 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We felt as though we've been in another world at The Vyrnwy Hotel even though we were only 70 minutes from home! The mist hung over the lake the whole time we were there but somehow it just added to its romantic location. The staff are very welcoming and the room in the newer part was very large and thankfully warm. Likewise the bathroom which had both a double ended bath and a separate Matki shower cubicle. We had a countryside view and a small balcony with furniture on it though it was far too cold to go out on it. A bonus was the champagne and truffles on the first afternoon of the two day stay and that was followed by a five course meal which was very good. My husband was very pleased to find Stonehouse Station bitter on draught in both the hotel bar and the next door tavern. It's a very long way to go for real ale if you don't find it at the hotel! There is free WiFi all over the hotel and in all the rooms now.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here and for your kind comments. Being Wales, Vyrnwy is most certainly in another country, as for being in another world...well we understand what you mean.

Recent good news is that the Station Bitter won a gold medal at the recent SIBA National Beer Competition. We are so lucky to have relationships with so many really good local suppliers. We look forward to welcoming you back. Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel 3 times and was married there NYE.
What can I say, the food is absolutely fantastic in the hotel and also the pub attached does some great pub food if your palette fancies something less fussy.
The staff remember us from previous visits ( I hope that isn't a bad thing) and nothing is too much trouble for the staff who even arranged for me to have soya milk during my stay.
The spa is tip rate too, had an amazing facial.
Can't rate this hotel high enough, great whenever I visit and stunning location.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are stunning , I prefer the old part of the hotel for more of a country house charm. Speak to the reception when you book as each room has a unique selling point including double jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davies73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Regular customers who over time become friends, I suspect that is part of What Vyrnwy is all about. It was a pleasure to host your wedding and a pleasure to welcome you back.
Good luck and very best regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Traditional old world hotel lots of stuffed animals around bar, and a few live partridge and pheasant walking about outside the bar nice to watch, if you can take your eye's of the fantastic view.
The five course meal was amazing every course was presented and tasted wonderful.
Love the idea of putting the puppy outside your door if you do not want to be disturbed (toy)
The only negative is the charge for the spa.
Would return.

Room Tip: Lake view if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkerbell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much, conversing with the Wild life. The publishing of your kind review coincided with a really important annual event for Vyrnwy. The first of the seasons Swallows came back to the hotel after their long journey. Since then we have seen House Martins as well. It is just as well that Snow has finally gone, and the the whole place is warming up a little. We look forward to welcoming you back for a little more conversing with nature.
Best regards
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked the "Easter brolly break" as a getaway treat (3 nights), not counting on the heavy snowfall which meant an interesting journey to the hotel as some roads were impassable.
We upgraded to a lake view room, however because of the snow couldnt take advantage if the lovely big balcony! But if you are thinking of going it is well worth it, although a bit on the expensive side.
The room was gorgeous and so quiet.
Staff in the hotel were extremely efficient and friendly.
Included in our break were 3 breakfasts (fantastic with locally sourced produce) 2 5 course evening meals (delicious) and 2 afternoon teas. The teas were slightly disappointing as they weren't as described with fresh cream and homemade biscuits but still enjoyable.
Our only criticism is that the hotel felt a bit "tired" in places and would be greatly improved with free wifi in the rooms rather than in the 2 communal areas, plus a bit of redecoration.
The Spa was too small for a hotel of this size and the treatments were overpriced.
Overall, would make an even better break when the weather is more conducive to cycle rides around the lake and boating on the lake.
However we did manage an 11 mile hike around the whole lake which took around 5 hours plus with some trudging through heavy snow - never been so pleased to return to a hotel after!
Generally would say this hotel and Spa would be more suitable for the "older" generation

Room Tip: Go for a lakeside room, although a bit pricey. You will find it lovely and quiet with breathtaking views
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pen a review following your recent stay. A walk around the Lake in that Snow, little short of a triumph. It was after all the biggest snowfall locally for over 30 years, and the worst spring conditions since 1963! I am really proud of the way all the team here mustered to keep everything running, the week before we had 2ft of Snow standing, drift several times that in depth,and no power for close to 24hrs, and still the show went on.
I am confused with your comments regarding the WIFI hotspots, that certainly used to be the case, but just prior to Christmas WIFI was installed to all the hotel rooms. Following the recent weather however many phone line were brought down (in fact some still are) this has given us the odd connectivity and band with challenge, part of the joys of living and working somewhere so special.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the lake
Anthony Rosser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had a Great night here. The staff were helpfull and couldnt be faulted the food was fantastic and very well presented. and the room was clean was the first time we had stayed here and i think we will go back again!

Room Tip: Lake View worthe the extra money in my opinion
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakevyrnwy, General Manager at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your brief and happy review. It was a pleasure welcoming you, and we most certainly look forward to seeing you back.

Best regards

Anthony Rossser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews