We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely romantic birthday break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel furnishings appear to be a little dated but this adds to the overall atmosphere of this hotel in a wonderful scenic location. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food was wonderful . The choice at breakfast was extensive. Cannot wait to visit again and the upgrade to a room with a balcony view is well worth it . The view across the lake is fantastic.

This was a special birthday i will remember for many years

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
There are newer reviews for Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just returned from a two night break staying in a standard lake view room. The room was small but clean and had everything we needed. The view was just amazing. I recall the cost ofthe balcony sea biew rooms was quite a bit more , but having seen them we wish we had booked ourselves into one of these onstead. It was an expensive 2days but we were prepared for this. Total cost for 2nights with dinner, spa, massages was a tad under £600. I think this is quite excessive especially when i read other reviews of deals! However we tend to prefer short luxury breaks in spa hotels these days to budget breaks where you get what you pay for.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings opting for the 2course menu which was excellent. Breakfasts are first class with everything you would expect in terms of choice and quality
Our Lake view room was small but clean and fully stocked with what you would expect inc bath robes.
We have to comment on the staff. Everyone without exception was professional and very very pleasant. Smiles go a long way and nobody disappointed!
Spa facilities very good and massage first rate.
Recommend to those looking for total relaxation with some of the best countryside walks from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, or get a deal, go for the lake views and have a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed on a three day midweek break from Travel Zoo for our third wedding anniversary. As part of the deal we got a five course dinner on the first night and access to the spa for £10 each, oh and breakfast every day. We only had to pay £70 a night and got all that included in the price!

So we paid to upgrade and got a massive room with magnificent view of the lake, the most ginormous four poster bed in the world, a gorgeous double ended bath and big balcony overlooking the lake. It was totally luxurious... what a wonderful place to celebrate three years of happy marriage. The location is stunning and there are wonderful walks in every direction with uninterupted, beautiful views. We particularly enjoyed walking through the forests, seeing the giant trees and fantastic waterfall.

We loved our stay at Lake Vrynwy Hotel but would say that if you paid the real prices you might be disappointed... but then again you might not! We would have been disappointed to pay £40 per head for the meal in the restaurant (thankfully that was free!) and it's not just the food that was bland so was the atmosphere unfortunately!

The other disappointing part was the Tower Tavern attached to the hotel, we were imagining a cosy fire and comfy armchairs instead it was bare and uninviting... we didn't even stay and have one drink! It was a shame because we were hoping it would sell nice pub food for our other meals but there was no way we would have wanted to eat there.

They are certainly missing a trick as their location is so incredibly beautiful. However if you want to get away from it all, be surrounded by nature and spend time with the one you love then definitely come here!

Room Tip: Room 53 was nice! Like everyone says choose a room with a view of the lake if you can.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just spent the one night at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel and Spa. Let’s start with the positives. The view is spectacular, the spa was fantastic and despite the other reviews I thought the food was very good. The Lamb was cooked very well (pink in the middle) and the wine was very good. The service in the bar and restaurant was very good. The Tower Tavern next door was excellent, lovely food, spectacular views and the service was great.

The negatives – upon arrival there were no porters available to carry bags and nor were we offered one, we asked and told not available. The room was spacious but felt very tired and dated, pine panelled wall cladding in the bathroom, carpet worn out, windows didn’t shut etc. The bathroom was not clean there were ‘hairs’ in the bath, shower cubical and behind the lavatory (fortunately we had showered at the spa)! The restaurant menu wasn’t available until 5.15 despite being told that it would be ready at 3pm, then 4pm and then 5pm – we delayed as had no idea what sort of menu they would offer as it was our first time here and no sample menus were available either – the Tower Tavern where we had lunch was excellent good food, good service and good price. We took our dog with us and decided to leave him in the car whilst we ate at the Restaurant, as I walked to the car park (pitch black) there were no lights on. Once I put the dog in the car I took the torch kept in the car with me and I could see there were lights but not on. I asked at reception if they knew the lights were off in the car park and the chap (tall man with glasses and short hair) replied ‘yes’ after a short but awkward pause I replied ‘oh great’ he said they were broken, the lights were then on about an hour later so either they have a very efficient contract with an electrician or he was being rather rude and obnoxious either way it did taint the experience.

The hotel is nice but not worth the £160 per night + £88 for dinner (2 course meal), normally £203 I was told on check out for a lake view room. I think this is the sort of place that the likes of Travel Zoo or Groupon would do well with, go on a voucher but don’t pay the list price for it as it is simply not worth it.

I would add though that we did have a lovely weekend enjoying the food and the local scenery it is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobinLlandaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just returned from a most fantastic week break at this hotel. I have trouble saying anything bad about this hotel. Having seen some of the other reviews I wonder if these people stayed at the same hotel. We had a Lake view which was stunning, the food was wonderful and the staff always went that extra mile to make our stay informed and relaxing.
Just everything met or exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived at reception we were treated as special. Our room was very comfortable, warm, very clean and we loved the do not disturb dog ( Iwan ) dinner was a delight, the “locals pub” was great and we met some very interesting people, I am trying to think of something negative about this hotel and all I can come up with is perhaps a lack of local tourist information leaflets, having said that when we spoke to the staff they knew it all !! Would return to this hotel in the blink of an eye.
It’s a very very rural location and at times wish we had planned our days out using a map rather than using a sat-nav as it took us on some very narrow roads and many with huge drops when on the mountainous roads. ( I don’t do heights! )

Room Tip: Room 46 is great. Or any Lake view room wonderful to wake up to !
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euchre99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Premier lake view room, well appointed large room with balcony. View was spectacular but consider whether extra cost will be worth it in winter shorter daylight hours. Same view is available from lounges and restaurant. Upkeep was poor in places. Balcony area had peeling paint and door not well fitting. (cold drafts in winter!). Bathroom cleanliness marginal in places and even though we pointed this out there was not much improvement on day 2.

Restaurant food was good but lacked a little seasoning in places. Charging extra for vegetables on a £40 menu is a bit steep! Food in the Tower Tavern (part of the Hotel) was excellent value and service very good in both restaurants.

Great location for walking directly from Hotel. No alternatives for an evening meal within 5 miles. We would go again but will wait for another good deal to come along

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The good:

Huge room with superking bed, private balcony and gorgeous views (Premier Lakeview Room). The bathroom was gorgeous and everything was spotlessly clean.
Dog friendly - dogs can be in the rooms or in the heated kennels on the grounds.
Beautiful location - the lake's lovely and the hotel overlooks it from higher ground.


The bad:

The service was mediocre - nobody seemed all that friendly or interested.

The food at the restaurant was dreadful! It wants to be fine-dining, but just ends up seeming pretentious and all the more disappointing for what it claims to offer. Flavours didn't match, the wine was appalling (yet expensive) and the portion sizes for some of the mains were pathetic. We were still starving after a 5 course dinner - due to both small portions and inedibility. We didn't even get vegetables and nobody offered them to us, so we didn't realise they had to be ordered separately.

The atmosphere in the dining room wasn't great either - it was much too bright and the decor's very tired. Service, again, was below-average.

Breakfast wasn't much better. We ordered full breakfasts, but the sausages were so cheap and nasty that even our dog wouldn't touch them. The eggs were slimy and watery, the tomato raw and cold and the bacon incredibly fatty. The croissants were very nice though!


Overall:

I'd go back for the rooms and location, but I'd eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: For a special occasion, upgrade to a Premier lakeview room in the older part - gorgeous!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellyarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.4 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
165 reviews
18.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
11.7 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
427 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range: $128 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Wales/Llanwddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing