We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Certificate of Excellence
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
492 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Breath taking views”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We only stopped off for a drink so I cannot comment on the rooms or food but we now plan a future visit. We sat in the main bar area which provides breath taking views across lake Vyrnwy. The bar, and hotel, has an old fashioned feel and appearance (dates back to 1890) whilst at the same time being cosy. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and answered the various questions we had about the hotel. We felt the bar area could benefit from some more tables and chairs. The terrace is lovely though the weather did not lend itself to sitting outdoors. The more formal sitting room to the left of the bar is very comfortable with sofas and houses a large grand piano. We looked in the Tavern pub and bistro which are far more casual than the main hotel but were also busy. The spa offers some nice treatments and hotel guests can dip in and out during the day for £10.00.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    451
    141
    67
    31
See reviews for
150
1,024
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We went to this hotel for a celebratory meal on the 23rd August 2012. When we arrived at the Hotel we were immediately stunned by the building. We entered the building and was yet again astonished. The staff were extremely friendly as we gave them the make of the reservation. They told us to go through a big double door and sit on a wonderful high back antique sofa. We ordered the drinks and the waiter brought them over on a tray. Then the waiter brought the menu's and left us to decide what we were to order. He came back about 5 minutes later to take our order along with 2 bowl's which had olive's and mixed nuts in them. He took away the menu's along with our order. Around 30 minutes later another waiter arrived to take us through to the table, he also came with a silver tray which he used to carry our drinks through to the dining area. The wine that we had ordered was already waiting for us chilling in an ice bucket. The waiter then poured it into glasses for us, he then brought us each a small bowl of Lemon Sorbet. The food then arrived. This was the best food that I had ever tasted. It was cooked just as I asked and was presented wonderfully. The desert that we ordered was fantastic. You could tell that care and consideration was taken when producing and presenting the food. Overall I can say that I have no criticisms about the hotel, apart from the bad weather. However, they even apologised for that. Something that they had no control over. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone. We had a wonderful experience ant the Lake Vyrnwy Hotel and would definitely visit it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callums512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We came to the hotel for my partners birthday. My only regret of the whole weekend is that I didn't book earlier as I would have liked one of the rooms in the older part of the hotel as they tend to be better, more characterful and better appointed.

Having said that I don't want this to read as if the room we had was not of an exceptionally high standard. The balcony overlooked the lake and the view is simply stunning no matter what the weather or the time of day.

The food in the restaurant is also exceptional. It is clearly local produce, they use a local wine merchant of great repute (Tanners of Shrewsbury) and the staff are attentive, friendly yet not remotely intrusive. I like a hotel where I get the impression that there is nothing the staff would not do for you. Lake Vyrnwy gives you that.

If you are looking for a warm, romantic or energetic outdoors weekend away with friends or just as a couple this hotel will tick all your boxes. I ran around the lake and we also walked up to the beautiful falls at the top end of the valley.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We first stayed in this hotel a few years ago and the food has gone down a notch in quality (from 2 rosettes to 1 rosette) and this was noticeable to us. Our main issue was with the main courses which didn't really work for us - the dishes were unnecessarily complex and fussy and looked and read better than they ate. The food generally lacked flavour and nothing stood out especially. The overall experience of our stay was very pleasant. The views are really spectacular from the restaurant and from our room (we stayed in room one and had a picture window straight onto the lake). The public rooms are comfortable and welcoming and we enjoyed taking coffee and petit fours in the drawing room after dinner. Our bedroom furniture and decor looked a bit shabby (there were coffee rings on the occasional table and a drawer knob missing on the desk) and the water temperature in the shower fluctuated from warm to cool. The spa facilities are limited as there is no pool and only 6 beds. There was no separate relaxation room and the refreshments consisted of iced tap water in plastic cups. Nothing to write home about, although once again, the views made up for it all a bit. That said, I booked treatments which meant I didn't pay a separate £10 entry fee for the "thermal suite" - definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 3 are by far the best rooms in the house. Room 1 has the best view but you lack a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilli-Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend, absolutely beautiful hotel. Check out the pub next door for some great food, try the pie!

Wonderful walks around the lake. Highly recommended, some great nature spots where you can sit and watch the wildlife. Be careful around the roads as they can be tight to drive round :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_Lee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel was highly rated on the Trip Advisor website and we were planning a trip to the area so I took the plunge and booked one of their premium rooms for a two night stay including dinner.

The room was large, had a great view of the lake, and was generally well equipped though the armchairs were not at all comfortable. The bathroom looked as though it had recently been refitted to a high standard but my face was in a deep shadow standing at the wash hand basin, there was nowhere to park our wash bags, and the showerhead was fixed. I like to be able to spray myself with water from various angles.

The real problems were in the restaurant which seems to aspire to fine dining. The wait staff were both numerous and impeccable but at both our dinners some of the food left a lot to be desired in terms of both quality and quantity.

A starter described as “scallops” consisted of one prawn, one scallop and some decoration. My wife ordered a main described as lemon sole and got a plate with four tiny pieces of a white fish, presumably lemon sole, topped with a small lump of soggy salmon encased in seriously undercooked, and possibly raw, pasta. My beef teriyaki main contained four thin slices of beef about 3 cm by 5 cm and the four smallest potato croquettes I have ever seen. Perhaps nouvelle cuisine lives on in the Welsh hills.

By comparison the cheese plate (for which I paid a small surcharge both evenings) featured decent size pieces of four delicious cheeses accompanied by grapes one evening and celery the following evening along with more biscuits than you are likely to need.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
379 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The vista from the hotel over the lake is truly magnificent and you can never grow tired of it. However, the hotel is not in the same league. It is actually a nice hotel, with some decent public rooms. However, the food in the restaurant is very average both at breakfast and dinner. In fact at dinner it is a bit pretentious as it offers a complimentary amuse bouche, but they were things like leek and potato soup, which is hardly a culinary experience. One morning I had smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast: the haddock was dyed and overcooked whilst the poached egg was like a bullet. I would have complained but I didn't have time as it took 30 minutes for our food to arrive which meant we were then in a rush to get down to the lake for an activity. Service on the whole was pretty average.

The decking overlooking the lounge could be really nice but it is let down by really scruffy and cheap tables chairs and parasols.

We stayed in room 7 which was very nice. The bathroom was excellent and the loo over the lake whilst sitting on the throne was the best I've ever had (of the lake that is!). Our only problem with the room is that the windows can only be opened a short distance. This was a problem as all the lake facing rooms face west, and as we were fortunate to stay on one of the few sunny days of the year it meant the room got superheated from about 5pm onward. We had to draw the curtains to stop the sun from further heating the room. It was quite a hot nights sleep.

The spa is very small but quite nice. The one complete oddity in the hotel is the pub and brasserie (separate from the main dining room); which are both scruffy and noisy. They had quite a lot of people in them however.

We suspected that the hotel doesn't quite know what it's target clientele is and so try to do as much as possible to appeal to a wide spectrum of people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwddyn
10.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
117 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
394 reviews
20.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Property: Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Address: Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwddyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanwddyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel Llanwddyn
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel And Spa
Hotel Lake Vyrnwy
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa Wales/Llanwddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing