We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, wonderful and very cosy”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ceiros Cottage

Ceiros Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ceiros Cottage
Ceiros Cottage The living room in Ceiros Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Ceiros Cottage
Ceiros Cottage
The living room in Ceiros Cottage
Dining table
View from the sink !
The kitchen
The kitchen
The kitchen
The bathroom
The stand alone shower in the bathroom.
Double room
Double room
Twin room
Seating area in the garden
The garden
From the distance
The house from the Epynt mountain
The cottage
Sheep on the hill in the snow
The Epynt mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangammarch Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lauren T
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, wonderful and very cosy”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on Christmas eve and the log fire had been lit. We found the cottage had been decorated with lovely Christmas lights and even a real christmas tree. A very special touch. It has everything you could need, fantastic cooker, well designed kitchen. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and the cottage is very homely. We had a fantastic stay at the cottage which is perfect if you want to get away from a busy life.

Due to our arrival so close to christmas I asked if it was possible to have surpermarket food delivery direct to the cottage, which Maggie agreed to stay in to sign for on our behalf.

Thank you for a wonderful stay in your lovely cottage, cannot wait until we can stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dperre10
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ceiros cottage was cosy with a homely feel and had all facilities expected and more..”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great communication from the owners who supplied excellent directions and information on local attractions. The cottage was very cosy with a homely feel and we loved nights by the log burner fire. The cottage had a modern kitchen with a good range of appliances and utensils. The beds were very comfortable and provided great nights sleep. The cottage is well equipped for babies and toddlers with cot, highchair, stairgate and a large toy cupboard which was a massive hit with my 3 year old. In addition there is an array of outdoor play toys in the garden including large trampoline, climbing frame and swing which my daughter also loved. The location was ideal for us as we were visiting family member who lives in the area. Thanks to maggie and family for a lovely stay. We would definately return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cottage”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights with our 6 month old twins and my parents. The cottage was perfect for our needs, very well equipped and very child friendly with a cot, highchair and plenty of toys available. The owners were also extremely nice and accommodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Car01yn85
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The weather was horrible during our stay so it was nice to have a warm cosy clean cottage to stay in. The owner was v helpful. Only problem was such low lighting in the lounge and kitchen. Generally v lovely and I would recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utherpend...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT COTTAGE NOT SO GREAT TOWN”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

great little cottage,great hosts especially James knowledge of local archeology.not so great was that the local pub 500mt from the cottage had shut down and the nearest pub had a fire in the kitchen and was only open a couple of hours a day with no food.we had to go to Builth Wells for any meals and grocery shopping.all in all though a great little place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage itself
Liked least: water never got real hot
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2013
It was unfortunate that there had been a fire in the local pub/restaurant just prior to the arrival of these guests, as with many guests, they would have enjoyed an evening meal within walking distance. The pub/restaurant, which is about an 8 minute walk is now up and running as usual. The village hosts an award winning post office/shop which supplies all of the basics and a lot more, however the nearest large supermarket is a 10 minute drive away in Builth Wells. Llangammarch Wells, situated on an ancient drovers route and connected to the rest of the world by the Heart of Wales train line, is a small and picturesque village surrounded by mountains and rivers, but if you’re looking for an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance, this is not the place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agreatday
Riddle, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations! Tiny, dark, depressing!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Having rented many properties in a similar price range, I felt that our expectations were realistic, and this cottage failed to meet those expectations in a very big way.

It is hard to know where to start, but I suppose I shall start at the door, where the couch projects into the doorway,and you have to scoot around it to get in the house.

The cottage is extremely dark -- and the kitchen is where this actually becomes a problem. If you've ever tried to cook by the light of a single candle, you can perhaps imagine what it is like. The bulb in the light fixture is so dim that I didn't even realize they made wattage that low! Adding to that, there is no vent or hood in the kitchen, so to cook anything quickly fills the kitchen with steam, making it that much harder to see what you are trying to do. Forget trying to season anything! You couldn't tell if you'd put none on, or the entire bottle!

The upstairs, in particular, was filled with spiders. Many of them right near the beds. Not wanting to be crawled upon while sleeping, this necessitated killing a rather large number of them before going to sleep. One could only hope that the nests didn't hatch overnight while one's eyes were closed!! I live in the country, but this was just excessive! A quick once-over with a vacuum prior to our arrival could have easily solved this problem.

I will say that while the bed was a lot like sleeping on a sack filled with potatoes, the bedding was clean, nice and warm, which was appreciated.

The cottage is attached to the owner's house -- which should have been fine. We have stayed in many cottages attached to another house, but this time the noise from the other house was excessive. Lots of stomping up and down the stairs, which could be heard quite clearly in the cottage, as well as other various noises of which one could only guess their origin.

There was internet access, but it was quite spotty, and not always available. Difficult to get the work done at home that I needed to do while on holiday.

The house is filled with books, which we laughed about, considering that you would be hard pressed to find enough light to read anything. I rather suspect that the books are simply overflow from the owner's own shelves, as truly there would be no way to enjoy them.

We had read the review mentioning how nice it was to sit around the fire, and the cottage was cold in the evenings and we certainly would have loved to have enjoyed that -- but sadly while there was newspaper and firewood, there was no kindling -- thus no way of building a fire. Instead we used the newspaper to swat the flies.

While we certainly heard the owner/family plenty, we only saw the owner minutes after we had arrived at the cottage -- and never again.

Perhaps the crowning highlight of the cottage was the shower -- which took an extremely long time to get warm. I suspect you could have cooked and eaten breakfast while waiting for the hot water to arrive. But that was not the worst part. Oh no, the worst part was not the used child's potty seat tucked behind the toilet, no, the worst part was the black mold/slime on the bottom of the shower curtain, that had a tendency to waft in and stick to a person's legs. Talk about motivation to conserve water! That certainly did the trick.

If you are looking to stay in the Builth Wells area, I would highly suggest looking elsewhere for accommodation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2013
Having given this response much thought, I came to realise that most of what I want to say has already been said by ALL of the other reviews listed here. We have been extremely lucky with the guests we have had at our lovely cottage, and we appreciate them now more than ever. Not for one moment can we understand what has driven this guest to write such a review. In my opinion this is more a reflection of the person than of the cottage!! We are so proud of our little cottage and run our business with complete integrity. We charge a fair price, and provide a cosy get away, with comfortable and quality fixtures and fittings. The cottage is kept warm (guests can have the heating on as much as they want at no extra cost) and completely spotless and we are at hand to provide any help or support that's needed. Guests are welcome to use as much wood for the burner as they like all free of charge, and we even offer to light it for them – in most cases, the burner is lit for guests on arrival. We also offer to shop in advance of guest arrivals, so as to make the holiday as easy as possible. In all, we feel we do a good job - all our other reviews and our guest books confirm this! We have many guests that come back for repeat visits. Please read all our reviews for a balanced view, and we look forward to giving you a warm welcome to Ceiros Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Family Friendly Property”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We've had another fantastic week at this jewel of a cottage. Maggie and James are always so welcoming, and the cottage is perfect for a family break. The kids (13 & 6) really enjoyed the hammock swing in the garden, the DVD collection and the fantastic toy cupboard upstairs. A cot, high chair and stair-gate were all provided which made life so much easier with our 1 yr old daughter. Maggie and James both go out of their way to help you. Our 6 year old came down with an ear infection, and shortly after telling James, he turned up at our Door with a stack of BluRays and the offer of Calpol. It's a well equipped family friendly cottage run by a lovely couple and their family and all the extra touches make the world of difference. We will be back..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing