We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No swimming for children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No swimming for children”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

It seems like a lovely hotel and lovely swimming pools- including a lovely indoor pool, and we would have loved to enjoy them. However, just before confirming a booking we were informed that children under the age of 8 were not allowed to use the swimming pools, and children age 8-16 were allowed just one hour a day!! We have a very well behaved lovely 5 year old girl who is an excellent swimmer, but she would not be allowed to use the pools. On that basis, we cancelled our reservation. No wonder this hotel has lots of rooms available.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ultrasounddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We are deeply saddened to see you have chosen to leave a one star review despite not actually booking or staying at The Lake Country House. As this in violation of Trip Advisor's guidelines, we have asked them to remove the review. I'd just like to add that although our child policies may appear stringent, it’s for this reason that many guests choose to return again and again. I am glad that our reception team supplied you with all the information you needed to make an informed decision before making your booking. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    195
    58
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
618
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked a Secret Escapes offer to celebrate my husband's birthday and must say we were not disappointed.
On arrival new carpet was being layed in reception and up the staircase so we couldn't check in. No problem we had a light lunch on the lawn which was delicious.
Our accommodation was in the adjoining block and as indicated by a previous reviewer was indeed spacious, well maintained, clean and extremely comfortable.
Restaurant was excellent and please don't take up the suggestion of background music! On our second evening we had the 8 course Taster Menu which was delicious as was the meal on our first evening.
We had the pool to ourselves each time we went and the weather was so good that we were able to sit on the terrace outside the pool to dry off. Only drawback to this was the occasional niff of sewage from the septic tank located nearby.
Wonderful walks in the grounds and on the hills surrounding.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable two night stay.
We shall return!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked a 2night stay at this fabulous country house & spa ,the grounds are superb well maintained very picturesque with its lake , gardens & area's to stroll . peaceful &relaxing&quite. The lodges .swimming pool & spa were very inviting ! ! However my stay was very disappointing , it wasn't cheap &we didn't get what we paid for. We stayed in the house YES it is very authentic but very antiquated The TV was a little old silver television ( very old ) as was the settee /chairs /tables chest of draws & mirror along with the light fitting/ lamps & i do mean old this was disappointing because the carpet /curtains /headboard & wallpaper behind the the lovely big comfortable bed we a lot more up to date , if the rest followed suit it would be a lovely room , just a shame the windows had not been cleaned so the view when the sun shone just highlighted the cobwebs & dirty windows. Not something you expect from a place like this ! (shame). The resturant was in keeping with the house but upto date , new &,clean food & service very good , just a shame they had ran out of lamb that was on the menu even though the resturant was nearly empty , however the chefs alternative of sirloin of beef was delicious as was all the food . Resturant lacked atmosphere could have done with some form of backgroud music ! But my biggest let down was not being able to stay the 2 night break I had booked , this occurred on arrival after receiving a phone call relating to my father being admitted to intensive care , back home 180 miles away , l explained this to the young lady & Gentleman on reception stating I would be leaving after breakfast the next morning to worried to stay another day!, therefore il was cancelling my following nights booking , they said no problem this was understandable and would be sorted the next day when Heidi arrived as the young lady on duty was new & couldn't sort it ? Heidi did sort it stating she was sorry ! THEN! She charged me 50% of the following night I had to cancel ,stating it should have been the full amount(100%) as I hadn't cancelled 48hrs before ! This happened the night I arrived out of the blue , that my father was rushed to hospital . So YES it was sorted but not with much compassion I expected from a business this popular& size a different maybe goodwill policy would apply relating to the Nature of the Circumstances . I do understand they are running a business but ? ? You only get ONE DAD!!

Room Tip: Rooms are large as are the beds & comfortable ,but the main house has old furniture in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed our grounds, swimming pool and locally sourced beef. I can only apologise if certain elements of our styling were not quite to your taste. I would like to assure you that we carry out a continuous program of maintenance and refurbishment. Sorry once again to hear of your father, we always try to show compassion when circumstances such as yours are presented. We fully appreciate the difficult situation you found yourselves in, which is why we chose to refund you 50% of the following night instead of full payment as per our terms and conditions. Once again, many thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Had a lovely time at this hotel last night and today. Super hotel with great lounges and bedrooms. The dinner last night was delightful. Spent the morning walking the huge grounds, followed by a swim in the Spa and finished with a lovely relaxing massage. Then back to the hotel for light lunch before leaving for home.

The staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. Our bedroom at the back of the hotel was large and very clean with everything you would expect in this standard of hotel. The dining room is pleasant with the tables nicely spaced so that my wife and I were able to enjoy a lovely evening. Breakfast is taken in the Orangery and is cooked individually which is a big plus. The grounds are beautiful especially if you walk beyond the lake, down through the woods, towards the railway viaduct before returning to the hotel along the river bank. The Spa is spacious again with very friendly staff.

My wife and I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel look out over the lovely grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay here for my wife's birthday weekend. It's been perfect. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. A quiet, relaxing break with fantastic food and attentive staff in a fantastic location. The weather was brilliant too, which no doubt helped! A cool beer on the terrace whilst reading a book - just fantastic!

This is a very personal hotel - no stack them high here, and whilst we were there at least, largely booked to couples (of all ages).

Our room was comfortably the largest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The general decor of the hotel is a mix and match of old and new, with large comfy sofas in the drawing room/lounge area. There's no "bar " as such. You ask (or more likely get asked by the attentive but not pushy staff) and they bring your drinks to you, wherever you are.

The food was fantastic. The menu was the same for both nights we were there, but that was fine and we tried a different starter, main and dessert each night - all was fantastic. It's beautifully presented, and very delicious - but also quite pricey, and you won't find any wine less than about £24 a bottle. But we knew that before we went, and for a special treat away, this was a perfect place.

The breakfasts options were also good - continental options with pastries, or kippers, or smoked haddock or the full Welsh - which was lovely!

The grounds are spacious and worth wandering around. We had a go at putting, croquet and snooker. The spa is also very decent. My wife booked a Soul Retreat which she said was lovely. I stuck with the pool and sauna and hot tub.

For those who need modern day technology, there is complimentary wifi - it's not fast and occasionally patchy, but it does a job.

Although we planned a relaxing break, we got out a fair bit too. The day we arrived we went to the Elan Valley visitor centre and Gigrin Farm to see the red kites feeding - an awesome sight and highly recommended (open every day - feeding at 3pm in the summer). Both were at Rhayader about 30 minutes drive. The second day we drove to Devil's Bridge to see the falls (about an hour) and then came back right through the Elan valley - a spectacular if windy (lots of curves rather than lots of breeze) drive.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and the proof is in the question - would you got back? Without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Eugenie". It was a good sized and comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Hiscocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk res
Level Contributor
295 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We arrived at the local station,about a 20 min. walk away along the river Irfon.
This is a delightful hotel set in large grounds with a spa, good sized swimming
pool and hot tub.
Authentic country house-style and attentive staff. Bed room was of a good size
and the bed comfortable. Food in the rather dark dining room was excellent.
We'll worth a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Spent two nights here on a Secret Escapes deal for 2 which included an 8 course taster menu dinner on night one. This country hotel has one of the most peaceful, beautiful and charming settings you could wish for. A perfect get away from it all and a great purpose built spa (had a great massage) on site also! Not especially a family hotel, I can see myself returning here with mine as they would love the indoor pool, sauna and outdoor hot-tub overlooking the lake. Wildlife is all around you and the extensive gardens have been thoughtfully planted over the years. The staff are quick to please and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The beds were especially comfy. I could almost give this place an excellent rating but it fell a little short on the wine menu (eg Californian listed under French!) and the room had been made up as a double when I booked a twin for my friend and I. Also, we had to call reception as we had no toilet paper! The breakfasts were very good and the evening meal on the second night at £45 for 3 courses was good but not great. In fact on both nights the amuse bouche was a bowl of soup - a first for me! However, overall we had a fabulous time and the weather was very kind to us allowing us to sit out on the pool terrace and enjoy a cooling drink and chat to other residents. Definately one of my top ten hotels!

Room Tip: Can't imagine a bad suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumsTheWord57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
574 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
872 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,277 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
21.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Property: The Lake Country House & Spa
Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing