We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality-price ratio!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake Country House & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great quality-price ratio!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The rooms are beautiful! The hotel is amazing, even got a free upgrade to a suite.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
You have that old worldly atmosphere, you feel like an aristocrat in your country home.
The Spa was lovely and clean and included in the price.
Lovely gardens to walk in.
Just simply amazing, but beware of hidden costs. For example they ask you whether you would like a newspaper in the morning, forgetting to mention you will be charged for it. Also no menus available to check on prices of cocktails and coffees. Martini cocktail: £12 a little above average and so was dinner and it wasn't that great.
I suggest you eat somewhere else and just enjoy all the rest.

Room Tip: I stayed in Gwen, my friends who were a couple got upgraded to the suite. Which was also lovely. Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    190
    58
    12
    6
See reviews for
77
609
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were given a night in this hotel as a gift and we had a truly relaxing and lovely time here. The room was really luxurious, very clean and spacious with their own signature toiletries, four poster bed and lounge area with a beautiful view over the river and hills.

We spent the afternoon in the spa where you can book in for a treatment (the deep tissue massage was excellent, no light fingers here!), swim in the pool, have a sauna or relax in the hot tub in the balcony. My one suggestion would be for the spa to provide cold water showers and drinking water nearby for when guests come out of the sauna. The showers in the changing rooms are all set to a certain temperature and you have to go upstairs into the gym area for cold water.

You could stay here and not have to go very far if you didn't want to. There are walks in the grounds and walks farther afield which the hotel will provide you with information about. There is a croquet lawn, 8 hole golf course and billiards room, with an excellent and well kept snooker table I might add. (we enjoyed a couple of frames after dinner)

The food is very good and the service excellent, although the dining area is a little too quiet and dark for my liking. A bit of background music to make the guests feel like they don't have to whisper would be a nice idea and raise the lighting a bit, we like to see our food!. That said, at breakfast time it had lightened up a bit and was a bit more atmospheric. My advice would be to use the annex room attached to the grand dining room for breakfast as this looked lighter and more friendly.

All in all, this is a really lovely hotel and we had a fantastic stay. I would certainly recommend it to 50yr olds and upwards as the hotel has an old fashioned charm about it that I personally think is more suited to a slightly older generation.

Room Tip: We were in the newly re-furbished building, away from the main house. I can highly recommend room 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review, we’re delighted to hear you had a truly relaxing time and enjoyed the spa and the food. Sorry you found our dining room a little quiet, we find that the majority of our guests tend to favour the lack of music. I do however understand that with just a few tables it may lack the atmosphere of the summer months. On a wet and windy day we prefer to use our dining room for breakfast as it is more cosy and comforting for the guests. Thank you for your feedback in these areas, we’re glad it didn’t impact the overall enjoyment. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed one night in the suite named 'Eugenie', I cannot fault the place! Our room was beautiful, great views, very thoughfully provided with everything you could wish for in the way of magazines, toiletries, ALL sorts of teas, coffee etc. Bed was wonderfully comfortable. Staff were exceptionally friendly, courteous, nothing seemed too much trouble. Log fires were awesome! Had a swim in the pool, very relaxing and warm, everything provided. Meals were superb. Might agree that it is not really for children but other than that, a heavenly break! Would love to come again - many thanks to all at Lake Country House!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the suite named 'River', which is on the first floor, at the front of the main house with stunning views over the grounds. The suite was spacious, nicely decorated, had all the amenities we required, and a huge bed. The whole place oozes olde worlde charm and luxury. The staff are very friendly and attentive without being intrusive, and the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. There is a large spacious lounge downstairs with big, comfy couches and chairs, and a wood burner, where guests can have afternoon tea, drinks etc... There is also an open fire in the reception lounge and more comfy seating, and another lounge area with bar.
I can't praise the staff highly enough; they are extremely attentive, and very friendly. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. Our evening meal on Saturday was fabulous. Perfectly cooked and presented, and very tasty. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was again very good, and each table has a printed sheet of weather details for the day, suggestions of places to visit etc... I really can't think of anything needed to improve the overall experience, and we will definitely be back. But for two nights next time !!
My only word of caution would be that this place is not set up for children, so I would probably advise those with youngsters to stay somewhere else, but for couples it is absolutely perfect

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anyofu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

we booked an overnight stay with dinner mid week in early January .we had a lovely suite{badger} which we can thoroughly recommend .the weather was cold and damp-but the hotel and lounges were warm and inviting with open log fires .the spa was excellent with a lovely pool and clean modern facilities .my wife had a facial the following morning and she was delighted with the treatment .The dinner was very good and like all the service it was served with a professional but friendly approach .even at that time of the year the grounds looked attractive and well tended .With better weather the walks look very appealing .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekender1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your stay. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here and your wife enjoyed her spa treatments. There are indeed plenty of great local walks and I hope you will get a chance to come back and enjoy them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel another fabulous stay .
Slightly expensive but you only get what you pay for . Staff helpful , food outstanding , great for waking.
Spa is lovely and relaxing, would defiantly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kj2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Lake Country House Hotel. I had never stayed before and it is testament to how much I enjoyed my stay that, on returning home, I have booked another stay in a month's time.

The hotel and spa are lovely, and my morning swim was fantastic! The staff were very professional, but enormously kind and helpful. The food was superb.

I can't wait for my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
21.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Property: The Lake Country House & Spa
Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing