We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly Rural Hotel in mid-Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in a luxury lodge suite for 3 nights recently and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was open plan, very large with a bathroom with shower and bath. The hotel had wonderful grounds for walking our dog and we were shown around by the hotel owner's dog, Cassie.
The main hotel building was more traditional in style with friendly and accommodating staff, and wonderfully engaging owners. The restaurant was formal in style and we were delighted with all the meals that we were served.
Dogs were allowed in bedrooms, grounds, lobby area and the bar where we could eat both breakfast and evening meal, if we requested.
On site there is also a gym, pool, sauna and hot tub which we used both days. Also there are treatment rooms, if you feel the need for a massage.
Overall we really enjoyed our visit and if it weren't 7 hours drive away we would visit more often.
Thank you to Molly and Cassie for making Connie (our dog) feel welcomed.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with your dog ask for a modernised ground floor lodge room/suite for access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnietheCoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 920 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved it, the rooms great and very comfortable beds, the spa was good and treatments brilliant at reasonable prices. The atmosphere in the main house was very chilled. The food was good, albeit a small menu, we enjoyed what we had, and the wine list is very extensive. We asked for our Rose champagne & wine to be extra chilled & that's exactly what it was! The team were friendly, polite and wanted to help. All in all a fabulous experience, we'll be back! Thanks to Luke and the team for all the hard work they did to make our experience a great one.

Room Tip: We had a suite, spacious, very light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent visit. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here and that you appreciated the hard work our team put in to make your stay special. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have very mixed feelings about my stay- some things were lovely- others very below standard. The hotel itself is quite old fashioned and there is an unplesent smell in the lounge area. The grounds are lovely and well kept. The spa is nice but it was very fully booked and we only managed to squeeze in one treatment. The staff in general were not friendly or overly helpful. We had a suite in the lodge which was spacious with a huge bed, it looked lovely but on closer inspection could really do with being updated and painted. The shower pressure was awful and tea and coffee very basic and we had to ask for milk everday. There was also a note saying our room would be turned down during dinner- this happened one out of four nights.

The food was very poor and over priced, the soup with dinner was nice however I am unable to compliment anything else. The breakfast selection wasnt great- we had much better choice at a premier inn. They also ran out of something everyday- branflakes, fish, fruit salad and made no aplogy for this. They also constantly mixed up tea, coffee and toast orders between tables and forgot eggs with my husbands full welsh breakfast. We were very dissapointed with the food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review, we’re glad to hear there were areas such as the grounds and the spa which were enjoyed. We are sorry to hear that there were other areas which were not to your satisfaction. We encourage feedback and would have been happy to discuss any of these issues during your stay in order to rectify them.

Just to clear up a couple of points; during busy times the spa can get very full, we wouldn’t want anyone to miss out which is why we always advise guests to book in advance. We will speak to our housekeeping staff regarding the tea and coffee making facilities to ensure this does not happen in the future. Finally, we are constantly renovating and redecorating our rooms to maintain our high standards. Let us take this opportunity to thank you for your useful feedback and to assure you of our very best intentions at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a special offer for 1 night - 4 female friends - individual rooms of such spacious luxury. We had teas and welsh cakes, swam in the indoor pool and wallowed in the jacuzzi which overlooks a lake. Dinner was included and was 1st class. Everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful and we all had a spa treatment. It's a special place. We played tennis but ran out of energy for golf. Yes, it is expensive and a special treat but we all loved it. Look for the special offers and try it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Al-abingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

As long as you are up for the drive to mid-Wales this country manor is well worth a visit. I thought it expensive at 220 UKP a night but other than that it is a delightful.

The worst things - terrible water pressure in the showers - we gave up and had baths instead! The food wasn't up to par given the cost of the hotel and the management should have a rethink on what a good Welsh breakfast looks like.

The best things - the grounds, which are well kept and very pretty and the staff were warm and friendly.

I agree with those who had trouble finding it. We used the trusted method of navigating from major towns on the route without too much trouble but family and friends who used their GPS' got quite lost.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Chat to them before you arrive to make sure you know you are getting the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ydris5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel looks rather odd on arrival, and we failed to see a sign actually spelling out its name, so it was rather confusing to arrive and not know if we were in the right place. This, after driving past without seeing the sign on the wall on the road at all. We were therefore a bit frazzled, and needed a bit of TLC when we arrived. Despite there being several male staff wandering around, no-one offered to help with the bags, and the welcome was rather off hand I thought. We were in a 'superior suite' in the Lodges, which at first I found rather disappointing. There is a seating area which is welcome, but the carpets are tatty and cheap looking, and the predominant colour seemed to be beige and brown, with mahogany furniture, with a cheap MDF TV stand, and broken legs on the coffee table. The bathroom was nice, but the shower disappointingly lacking in power, and the taps on the bath and sink were infuriating to work. No hot and cold indicators, and I got soaked several times trying to turn them off. However, soaking in the bath was lovely, once the temperature was correct. There is a desperate lack of proper lighting for reading, and even with the bedside lights on and the main overhead light, I struggled to read in bed!
The toiletries were interesting and enjoyable to use, but no conditioner as several other guests have pointed out.
The tea tray was underwhelming - two cheap tea bags - no herbal at all, and no biscuits or fruit. After a long drive in appalling weather, it would have been nice to have had a couple of biscuits and some nice tea in our room at least. Also, no fridge, no mini bar, no wine glasses.
The main advantage of this hotel is the silence - no road noise, nothing. Just birdsong and sounds of water. Owls hooting at night. Absolute bliss. At times I would have liked to have had an Ipod dock available to use now and then, and that would have been a welcome addition, but not a problem.
The grounds are lovely in good weather, with croquet, golf and a putting green. Swans on the pond along with ducks. There are free range chickens roaming near to the golf course, which was lovely to see. They looked happy and healthy.
The owners dogs are often in evidence, and seem to have a mind of their own about where guests should go and what they should do, and I witnessed them digging holes in the lawn, but this adds to the charm.
The food is the absolute highlight of a stay here. It was uniformly excellent. Very small portions, and perhaps a lack of vegetables or salad, but the flavours were wonderful. The breakfasts likewise - beautifully cooked porridge made with proper oatmeal, lovely jam and marmalade.
We did find the ambiance when dining a bit frigid.however. The service is very attentive most of the time, though on the first night we were continually asking for water glasses to be refilled. However, it lacks a bit of personality we found. Staff are like automatons, and conversation is very muted as it is easily overheard. I wondered if perhaps some gentle background music might be relaxing and make guests feel they could talk in a more open manner.
I found the almost obligatory pressure to order drinks in the lounge whilst looking at the menu a bit off putting. The wine is very expensive and not particularly special for the prices they are charging. This is a false move on the part of management I think, as more wine would be ordered if it was a more realistic price. I couldn't see who to ask for after dinner drinks, if these were required, and once when we looked for the lunch menu (just soup or sandwiches) it was hard to find and then there was no-one to order from. Rather than ask at reception, we left and drove outside to find lunch.
I tried several times to phone reception one afternoon, and no-one answered until the fourth or fifth attempt!
I was very disappointed not to be able to have a spa treatment, as our stay was to celebrate a special anniversary. It was completely booked up by the time we arrived! The pool was lovely for an early morning swim, and the sauna great, though very small. We used the Jacuzzi, but it was fairly cold and not particularly enjoyable, but an experience all the same.
Since this was a special occasion, I sadly did not go away feeling I had been pampered. but the food was great and all in all it was a good experience. If you are looking for good food in a tranquil environment, this fits the bill. Just book at the spa in advance if you want a treatment!
We felt the Secret Escapes package was reasonable value, but at full price we would have felt ripped off. Even extras like coffee or a bottle of wine can escalate the bill quite considerably. A cream tea is delicious, but scones are small, and the price is too high. I have had a cream tea at a five star hotel for less!
One more thing - the info in the rooms states that there are maps at reception available for walks. When I asked for these, I was told in an off hand way that they were ' under the stairs'. When I looked, there were only tourist leaflets and no 'printed out walks' as mentioned. This was frustrating. A bit more personal attention and a warmer manner at times might be welcome! This might extend to the maître 'd who had a very odd manner, verging on rude. I heard him address other guests as alternatively 'you guys' and 'Sir and Madam'. He works hard but his manner is strange.

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms are reasonably spacious, but ask for an upstairs one as the downstairs ones are nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azure983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Lake Country House Hotel isn't easy to find - and even more difficult if you use satnav! Arriving for a family wedding we discovered that several fellow guests had ben led astray by their modern technology, resulting in long detours through the surrounding countryside. Trust in an old-fashioned printed map instead and follow the brown visitor signs.
The hotel is in a wonderful setting - rolling lawns down to a river and a peaceful lakeside walk. The original building is Victorian - a product of that era's obsession with "taking the waters". As a result it's a bit of a rabbit warren up and down stairs if your room is the main house. The newer lodge next to it is more family friendly - no steep stairs for little ones to climb.
Accommodation throughout is to a high standard, although I found the lack of electric sockets annoying - what's the point of having a hair dryer in the room if there's no spare socket and certainly not one near a mirror! Nir was I tempted to use the bathrobe in our en-suite as it was stained - not much, but definitely used before and not properly washed.
And it's this lack of attention to detail which lets the hotel down. They make a feature of their wedding service (you can have the whole hotel for the day). So it's likely that number of guests will share the same surname - and even the same initial. But on check-in there was total confusion as to which guests was which and what room thewy had. If at all! And at check-out a queue was kept waiting while the only staff member on the desk went off to sort out a problem elsewhere. The staff are friendly, but many of them seem inexperienced -and there are not enough of them.
The food was fine, as were the drinks, but I'd agree with "leon d" below that it's very expensive for what you get. You're paying for the grounds and the view.
And if it's views that you're after. drive the country road across the hills to Capel Uchaf. On a fine day (and if it's not closed due to the army having firing practice) it is a spectacular switchback of a road.

Room Tip: Rooms over the public rooms ( near the conservatory) are easier to get to - but noisier when the ban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leeGlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
641 reviews
11.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
835 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
970 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range: $151 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing