We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and excellent service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of March. It is a beautiful spot. We walked around the lake and along the river a couple of times and there is croquet lawn and pitch and putt facility within the extensive grounds. We also made use of the excellent billiard table. Our room (Eugene) was beautifully and thoughtfully decorated with lovely furnishings and a luxury bathroom.

The spa facilities were an added dimension to our stay and we really enjoyed out full body massages and daily swim/sauna/hot tubs.The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had to re-arrange my booking and they were very accommodating and efficient over this and every aspect of our stay. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.

We dined at the restaurant two out of three nights. The food was excellent as were the breakfasts.

We enjoyed climbing Pen y Fan the highest mountain in southern Britain and walking around Elan one of the beautiful dams close by. We wish we had had longer to explore the local villages and do more walking as the scenery in this area is spectacular.

The only negative we had was being woken at midnight on our last night by the conference organiser who was setting up in the room next door. We mentioned this to the receptionist the next morning who was very apologetic and said that the organiser should not have been allowed access to the room at that time of night and that she would take it up with the person who was on duty that night.

All in all would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeedJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very lucky to be situated in such a beautiful location with plenty to do nearby and we’re glad to hear you enjoyed climbing Pen Y Fan. An apology once again for the small disturbance but it is great to hear everything else was so positive. If you choose to return to finish exploring our local villages and beautiful scenery, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Lake Country House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    199
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
81
631
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful one night stay will definitely return for a longer stay. Rooms were excellent with every thing we needed. Service throughout the hotel was excellent. Used the swimming pool and hot tub. Resident dogs escorted us on our walk around the grounds. We enjoyed the taster menu and breakfast was very good. We loved the relaxing atmosphere and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyloocardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was one of a group of 14 who attended a intensive workshop. Despite the wonderful rural feeling of this hotel it is also very efficient. Rooms were ready on time and extremely clean. Refreshments appeared like clockwork at the allotted times. biscuits were home made. all parts of the site were very clean and well maintained.

The food is wonderful. The portions are not huge - but they are well balanced so one leaves the table feeling pleasantly replete. My menu included crayfish risottos 9 delicate, moist, flavoursome and bream with tiny roast potatoes a jus and roast tomatoes. The pannecotta dessert was served with fresh berries and two home made shortbread biscuits. Nibbles were home made and exquisitely presented.

Getting to this hotel is quite simple. There is a train station about one mile away. The hotel is well signposted from the road. I did not use the spa on this occasion but have previously and found it to be of a very high standard. we particularly enjoyed the covered but otherwise outdoor hot tub!

There is a path along the river from the hotel to the village.

I would jump at the chance to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited this hotel/country house/spa as a special treat to ourselves late last year. A deal came up and it looked fabulous so we booked and away we went. The same deal has just come up again, but we weren't impressed enough the first time around to avail ourselves of the offer. In fact we have had such ambivalent feelings about our stay that we were uncertain how to review it.

When we first arrived it was a bit like walking into the Marie Celeste. The place was deserted, there was no one at reception and we stood there wondering if we were at the right place and what we should do. Eventually we heard voices out the back and followed the sounds to find where the staff were congregating, there was no bell to ring to say we had arrived or even a sign saying to go out the back. We were a little early and so had tea and sandwiches whilst we waited, which were delicious and beautifully presented but a little on the pricey side. As so many people have reviewed the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms is not good, particularly because the cost of the tea and coffee. From memory it would cost us £7 for a couple of teas (which did come with lovely home made shortbreads) but this quickly adds up. Unfortunately we weren't told that we could have tea making facilities in our room and none of the other guests who were there appeared to know this either.

The suite that we had was nicely appointed, although we found it quite dark. The one across the hall had lots of windows but we were told that it was booked - although it was never occupied in the time that we were there. The linen and towels were of a very good quality however the bath was ++ slippery and for one of the first times in my life I was worried about slipping over in it.

The pool/spa/jacuzzi facility was very nice and although we didn't have any treatments we did enjoy it. The jacuzzi on the balcony was a lovely touch.

The description of 'country house' was apt. We found it was like staying in a country house with a great room full of squishy furniture, oil paintings of persons unknown on the walls and a smell redolant of furniture polish and open fires.

We did enjoy the dinners that we had but we found that the atmosphere was a bit stilted. It didn't feel comfortable and everyone spoke very softly, it was a bit like being in a museum. Some soft music in the background would not have gone amiss. The food for dinner was quite good but the lack of variety was frustrating. On the first night we were told that the menu changed daily, however we were presented with exactly the same menu the next night, there were no specials although the soup de jour was different. When I queried this we were told that to make the catering easier the menus changed once a month. It would be good to have some variety and local specials on the menu. The service at dinner was good although our waiter was a little gauche, enquiring after we tried the wine before he poured it if 'we knew what we were doing'. He didn't mean any harm by this and I think he was just trying to make conversation so we explained that we were no experts but that we'd let him know if the wine was corked. He had just started at the hotel and he didn't seem very confident of his position, with good reason as we heard other staff members moaning about him whilst we were sitting by a fire later that evening!

The breakfasts were a bit hit and miss. The service was very slow and again everyone spoke in hushed whispers. The cooked Welsh breakfast was lovely but I had the haddock one day and all I can say is don't do it!!! It was really disgusting, it had a sharp ammonia-like after taste, and it's saying something if I can't/won't finish food.

The grounds were very nice and it was lovely to be in the countryside. We did enjoy our stay but overall I think that it didn't really meet our expectations. Maybe they were too high to begin with?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonS917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. No matter how hard we try, it is impossible to please everyone all of the time although as you will see from our recent reviews many of our guests share extremely positive experiences. It is great to hear you enjoyed aspects of your stay such as the Jacuzzi, the ambience of our country house and our welsh breakfast. We can only apologise if there were other details that were not quite up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

After debating whether to book this hotel, we were not disappointed. Upon arrival the staff were really welcoming and friendly - especially Laura who was exceptionally pleasant & helpful throughout our stay.

The room was well presented and had everything we needed, the room was warm and cosy upon our arrival - which was nice to go into from the cold. The bathroom was bright with large bath and a powerful shower. The complimentary spa products in the bathroom were a nice touch. The bed and duvet were comfy however our only criticism was that the bed was two singles put together (with double bed sheets obviously) and made the bed massive which was good but a normal double would have been preferred.

The grounds were beautiful, with the option of a nice walk through the woodlands & around the lake. I think in the summer months, fishing in the nearby river (fishing gear is available to hire) would be nice.

The spa was the main thing that we went for, the facilities did not disappoint with the staff there being very friendly and accommodating. Myself and my partner had a couples treatment (not advertised but available) which we both enjoyed and agreed we would do again. Even though it was a cold day, the hot tub was available on the balcony which was a nice retreat with a great view over the lake & surrounding woodlands.

The restaurant was very nice, for breakfast there was a good choice of fruit juices & cereals with a number of options of hot food on the menu - The full welsh breakfast is a winner! Afternoon cream tea was everything you would hope for and the evening meal was delicious - the service was flawless and the staff again were exceptional.

We found the hotel was very well maintained and after meeting the owner (who was a lovely man) we felt we were in good hands.

We can't recommend The Lake Country House & Spa enough, as a getaway it delivers on every level. We'll be back!

Lee & Catherine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katehib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Old manor-type house in extensive grounds - grass, woodland, a lake and river. A pieceful rural location - but pretty easy to navigate to by road.

The spa/pool/gym were of a very high quality and sited in a separate building overlooking the lake. There was also an outdoor hot tub from which to admire the views.

The level if service and quality of the food plus the attitude and friendliness of the staff were very good indeed. We were a bit surprised that there were not tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms - but this was quickly and cheerfully remedied (with no charge) when we asked.

Rooms were very well presented - everything in the hotel seemed well maintained and very clean. The style of the public areas (but not so much the rooms) was traditional rather than modern/minimalistic. However, this all seemed to be in keeping with the nature of the property.

Good location for sight seeing in mid-Wales.

I would definitely stay there again and would have no hesitation in recommending it. Overall impression was an extremely positive and pleasant one.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to hear you would have no hesitation in recommending us; I will pass your positive comments onto the rest of the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, even if it does not look much from the road. Slight confusion with parking but soon sorted.
Nice suite, although a double would have been preferable to the sometimes uncomfortable two singles pushed together.
Free use of the spa (appart from treatments) was nice, and the facilities very good.
The restaurant was very very good. If I had one criticism it would be that the courses came a little too quickly and the heating could have been a little higher.
Breakfast was excellent, as expected.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff. All in the restaurant were first class and the check in staff were friendly, helpful and all that you could want.

Room Tip: Heron Suite was lovely, but try and ask for one without the two singles arrangement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
786 reviews
11.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
905 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
21.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Property: The Lake Country House & Spa
Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing