We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is how to welcome in the new year.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“This is how to welcome in the new year.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights over new year - our third visit, and the whole experience was magical. From the moment you arrive you are treated like house guests and the whole event was like a family party. New Year's Eve it's self was fantastic, champagne to greet, eight course dinner, great live band (especially for people of my age!), welcome the new year and then fireworks. How could it have been better. Well, there was the hot tub overlooking the lake, great walks with the resident dogs and the swimming pool all to ourselves. I could go on. We are fussy and difficult eaters and the cook managed to give us both memorable meals every evening. The icing on the cake are the fabulous staff, nothing is too much trouble, smiles and greetings al the time - a credit to the management. One small niggle, the management should spread themselves around all the guests, we did feel at times that we were not the most important people at the party. We will be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wildswimmer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Lake Country House once again and also visiting our sister hotel, Northcote Manor. We’re delighted to hear that we gave you such a positive experience. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon when hopefully we’ll be able to spend a bit more time with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    198
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
79
626
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stunning scenery, comfortable hotel, wonderful staff.
Overall, a very relaxing holiday.
Lovely people, all with a story to share, so peaceful in the welsh country side.
The grounds are immaculately kept and the spa is a real treat.
The food was good, but not exceptional, whilst the food was still good, and above average, I would rate this as the area letting the hotel down. More old-fashioned food than traditional, I really don't want to be offered game pie, or veal, or especially the cliche of caviar! But then I guess a lot of guests would. They will offer a few alternatives though.

Room Tip: If you want a classic, cosy room go for a suite, if you want a modern, stylish room, go for a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jnoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is traditional country house style which makes it feel so homely with log fires, grand piano and antiques.
The room "pumphouse" was perfect for us although it took 3 hours for them to locate the room key for us! The spa is good the highlight being the outside hot tub.....stunning on a cols moonlight evening. The service was good all staff very friendly and even had a chat with the owner.
The food was excellent we had a tasting menu which was perfect. The wine list was very good and enjoyed a lovely south american merlot. Breakfast was good and more than enough of everything. my only issue being the tables were too close together. Especially as only 6 couples at the hotel.

But that is my only fault with a fantastic stay. I even played the piano!

Thank you to all the stay for a great stay. I enjoyed that much i have booked my mother and father in for a 2 night stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I (plus our dog Dillon) have just returned from a three night all inclusive Christmas break at this hotel. Whilst not cheap it was fantastic and seldom has my wife said that she was sorry to be leaving. The hotel is set in lovely grounds although the adverse weather precluded our exploring too far. To compensate for this, the modern spa was a very pleasant distraction and sitting in the outdoor Jacuzzi watching the steam drift down the valley was surreal.

We stayed in the original house and the room had been tastefully modernised, although I do support the comments by other reviewers that it was surprising not to find tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The staff were wonderful, the food was excellent (and there was too much of it) but the real plus was that the owner and his wife were very much part of what was more like a country house party than a hotel break.

A return visit is definitely on the agenda!.

Room Tip: The lodge annex has larger rooms but is a short walk from the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend Christmas at the Lake Country house and taking time to share a review of your break. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the spa and the grounds. We hope to welcome you back in the summer when the weather is nicer and Dillon can fully explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I booked dinner, bed and breakfast through secret escapes, which therefore allowed us to book a single night, rather than the usual two night minimum at weekends. Our one night stay came in at £145 plus beverages. I have to say, the service was absolutely first class, and the food was also of a very good standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and thought the grounds, room and facilities were just lovely. In comparison to the regular price, I think we can safely say it was value for money too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhoJus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good location pleasant grounds with walks and 9 hole golf. A warm welcome from the staff and owner on arrival; tea in front of a roaring fire. Spacious room, spotless bathroom and comfortable bed. We were booked in for an overnight stay. Dinner was an 8 course tasting menu supported by a well stocked cellar. Although the thought of 8 courses was somewhat daunting the portions were just right and an unhurried meal meant we enjoyed it all. A restful night and a first class Welsh breakfast, freshly prepared, set us up for the day. We would be delighted to return in the summer to enjoy the grounds and surrounding countryside

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerplus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Lake Country House. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back in the summer when the grounds and surrounding countryside really do look spectacular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

With log fires in the main rooms , friendly and efficient staff , excellent food and wines , this elegant house is the perfect place in which to relax .
Set in a valley with the river at the bottom of the garden , with fifty acres of woods to wander through, a hard tennis court and a challenging nine hole par 3 golf course for the energetic and a Spa and Pool in which to indulge yourself , you will not wish to leave.

Room Tip: Try the River Room which looks down to the river and on the hills beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broxwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
21.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Property: The Lake Country House & Spa
Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing