We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY Happy Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lake Country House & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I (plus our dog Dillon) have just returned from a three night all inclusive Christmas break at this hotel. Whilst not cheap it was fantastic and seldom has my wife said that she was sorry to be leaving. The hotel is set in lovely grounds although the adverse weather precluded our exploring too far. To compensate for this, the modern spa was a very pleasant distraction and sitting in the outdoor Jacuzzi watching the steam drift down the valley was surreal.

We stayed in the original house and the room had been tastefully modernised, although I do support the comments by other reviewers that it was surprising not to find tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The staff were wonderful, the food was excellent (and there was too much of it) but the real plus was that the owner and his wife were very much part of what was more like a country house party than a hotel break.

A return visit is definitely on the agenda!.

Room Tip: The lodge annex has larger rooms but is a short walk from the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for choosing to spend Christmas at the Lake Country house and taking time to share a review of your break. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the spa and the grounds. We hope to welcome you back in the summer when the weather is nicer and Dillon can fully explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 937 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I booked dinner, bed and breakfast through secret escapes, which therefore allowed us to book a single night, rather than the usual two night minimum at weekends. Our one night stay came in at £145 plus beverages. I have to say, the service was absolutely first class, and the food was also of a very good standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and thought the grounds, room and facilities were just lovely. In comparison to the regular price, I think we can safely say it was value for money too.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhoJus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good location pleasant grounds with walks and 9 hole golf. A warm welcome from the staff and owner on arrival; tea in front of a roaring fire. Spacious room, spotless bathroom and comfortable bed. We were booked in for an overnight stay. Dinner was an 8 course tasting menu supported by a well stocked cellar. Although the thought of 8 courses was somewhat daunting the portions were just right and an unhurried meal meant we enjoyed it all. A restful night and a first class Welsh breakfast, freshly prepared, set us up for the day. We would be delighted to return in the summer to enjoy the grounds and surrounding countryside

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellerplus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Lake Country House. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back in the summer when the grounds and surrounding countryside really do look spectacular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

With log fires in the main rooms , friendly and efficient staff , excellent food and wines , this elegant house is the perfect place in which to relax .
Set in a valley with the river at the bottom of the garden , with fifty acres of woods to wander through, a hard tennis court and a challenging nine hole par 3 golf course for the energetic and a Spa and Pool in which to indulge yourself , you will not wish to leave.

Room Tip: Try the River Room which looks down to the river and on the hills beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broxwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very friendly welcome; lovely room, well furnished with good bathroom and complimentary dressing gowns. We had the eight course dinner tasting menu which was excellent...the best fillet of lamb we have ever had. The staff were always attentive and friendly. We enjoyed the pool and a walk around the extensive grounds after a lovely cooked Welsh breakfast. Altogether a very enjoyable experience. We plan to return in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JABOZ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Lake Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I'm sure the kitchen team will be similarly happy with your comments. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the summer months when the grounds are looking even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have stayed at the Lake Country House and Spa for 2 weekends, a year apart. Both times we were 4 couples having a weekend away without children. The accommodation is excellent and the surrounding countryside beautiful, as are the hotel grounds. The service and food were excellent. The hotel has old-fashioned charm but the spa is modern with a big swimming pool and tennis court between the hotel and spa. The 9 hole golf hill was great fun! We would certainly stay there again. Our stays were actually October 2010 and 2011.

Room Tip: both times we stayed in the suites across the drive from the main hotel. Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hootchersone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have just had a lovely relaxing break at The Lake. We rarely return to hotels but this was as good on the second visit as the first. The food is excellent...all of it .Breakfasts are not overfacing and of outstanding quality. The afternoon teas are a delight. I asked for a tea tray at 7.30 a.m. one morning and it was delivered a few minutes later! The evening meal is special and an occasion to dress up for. We wouldn't consider eating out when we stay here, the food is just too good at the hotel! The staff are outstandingly good, friendly (without being in your face), courteous and efficient. This time we took our dog and it was even more enjoyable with a companion to share the superb grounds and walking around the hotel. The spa is very good. Yes, there are some improvements to be made and Pierre says he will make them soon but once again, the pool is exceptionally clean and warm and the hot tub a delight, no streaming eyes here. I love the little sauna and had two swimming sessions in the clean warm water all to myself! I had a back massage and facial from Hollie and it was really good. It was exceptionally cold outside, crisp and icy, but the hotel was cosy and warm with lovely wood burning stoves in all the main rooms. If you want complete relaxation and a bit of spoiling in lovely surroundings then The Lake is for you...think comfortable. We will undoubtedly be back!
P.S. Do visit Hay On Wye and enjoy the wonderful scenery all around. This is a very beautiful part of Wales.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good here. This is a hotel that prides itself on comfort and even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justoneluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
11.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
659 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
836 reviews
15.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,383 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Plough Rhosmaen
The Plough Rhosmaen
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
862 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Country House & Spa

Address: Llangammarch Wells | Powys, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range: $136 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake Country House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Country House Hotel is a 4 star hotel set in the Heart of Mid Wales and is the perfect destination for a luxury hotel break or romantic getaway. The Spa offers a range of Heath and Beauty treatments and is equipped with and indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi overlooking the lake. Game Fishing and golf are available on site and there is a good range of other golf courses in the area. Horse riding, the Elan Valley and of course the Brecon Beacons are all near by.An air of elegance and calm informality pervades this exquisitely furnished Welsh country house hotel. Standing serenely in its own fifty acres of parkland, with sweeping lawns, rhododendron lined pathways and riverside walks, this magnificent mid wales hotel is comfort epitomised.The country house itself is an architectural bagatelle, begun in 1840 and remodeled in 1900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lake Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Country House And Spa
The Lake Country House Hotel Llangammarch Wells
The Lake Country Hotel
Lake Country Hotel
The Lake Country House & Spa Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing