We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 week business trip...”
Review of The Cammarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cammarch Hotel
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I'm wanting to write this review because I've never felt so at home when not at home. The staff at the Cammarch hotel were excellent. I couldn't of asked for a friendlier service. My business has very unsociable hours which meant a very uneven eating pattern. But that wasn't a problem for them at all. I never went to sleep on an empty stomach. All the locals make you feel so welcome and I can't wait till I return hopefully this year.....

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for The Cammarch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over Easter and had a lovely break. Much of the interior is newly decorated following the fire and all looks good and is comfortable, with all the facilities you need including a comfortable, sunny conservatory lounge. The gardens at the back stretch down to the river and have some unusual occupants - a peahen & a couple of goats. There is also a lovely nearby river walk.

Kathryn, Alan and their staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent - good cooked food and lovely fresh fruit salad. In the evening, dinner is good value and beautifully presented; while the bar is a lively local hub.

From the village you can quickly get to some lovely routes across nearby moors to the north and south; and explore Carmarthenshire and north to the coast.

We would happily go back if we were looking to stay in the area again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the lovely garden, while the front overlooks the church and graveyard. Ro...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaC-Medlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Despite having had a serious fire and a lot of water damage and not being able to get hold of us to let us know what had happened, Alan and Kathryn went out of their way to make us comfortable.
We had a lovely room with a king sized bed, excellent food in super surroundings. Can't wait to go back when it is completely up and running again.
A hotel not to be missed.

Michael and Megan - Eastleigh Hants.

Room Tip: If like Megan climbing stairs is difficult remember the accommodation is spread over four floors wi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23,462,013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I recently went to visit my aunt who lives practically a stone’s throw from this wonderful hotel and when she told me that this place was the favorite among the locals I could see why. Although they were having a bit of a remodel due to a small fire the hotel was still extremely welcoming and comfortable! The public areas were bright and beautiful and our room was very comfortable and surprisingly large compared to some others we had stayed in in the UK. We also enjoyed a fabulous dinner with delicious appetizers and entrees served in an elegant fashion. Kathryn and Alan were delightful and charming hosts and I truly felt very at home there. I definitely hope to visit again and would not consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here to complete two sections of the Wye Valley walk and it is well placed for the sections from Hay on Wye the end with a mix of car and public transport. Aside from the quality of the place the welcome of the owners and their willingness to go the extra mile is outstanding. They went out of their way to meet my dietary needs and were more than willing to pick me up at the end of the day from a long walk if by any chance I missed the bus back to my car. The location is a delight, the food good and the company excellent. Go out of your way to find an excuse to stay there

Room Tip: Wireless reception is better the closer you get to the ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We brought our dog as we were going to the Builth Show.We received a very warm welcome and the hosts were very attentive for our whole stay.Lovely room,nicely furnished.We were even given the privelege of eating in the dining room with our dog as in their eyes he was no trouble.Thought this was a nice touch.
What I would say to make the stay even better would be to have a larger bar,which in fact they are working on.The other point which I think was more of a issue and was evident to other guests,was that there was a lovely garden but unfortunately this could not be used as the owner's dogs were outside who were not very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked following good Trip Adviser reviews and because it was the half-way point on our journey to west Wales and a family holiday. Very warm welcome made us feel like we had visited many times, not just for the first time. Enjoyed a cool drink in the lovely garden on a very warm day before going to our room. Excellent room, massive, comfy bed and lovely old furniture, just right for the hotel. We enjoyed a very good meal in the conservatory and were pleasantly surprised that our dog was welcome to join us. Unfortunately our dog was ill during the night so we missed our cooked breakfast as we were outside trying to contact local vets at 7:00 am however the hotel owners pitched in with the telephone number and provided tea, coffee and toast for our unplanned picnic breakfast.
Thankfully, following the visit to the vets our dog made a quick and full recovery so we were able to continue on our way.
Can thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back as you could not find a friendlier hotel anywhere.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AJBLancs187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
0.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
912 reviews
12.3 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
626 reviews
6.2 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,342 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
54 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Fforest Inn
The Fforest Inn
#1 of 2 in New Radnor
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cammarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cammarch Hotel

Address: Unnamed Road | Llangammarch Wells, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range: $91 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cammarch Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cammarch is a friendly AA 4star rated guest house with a long history as a fishing lodge, with over 4 miles of fishing on the rivers Irfon and Cammarch. Guest accommodation is spread over 3 floors with 10 double/twin en-suite rooms and 2 family suites which have 2 bedrooms and one en-suite bathroom in each suite. We provide clean, comfortable accommodation as well as a cosy lounge, dining room where you can sample delicious home cooked breakfast and dinners, and we have a public bar. We are centrally located for you to explore the rest of Wales and our own setting is beautiful and very relaxing. A great place to for a relaxing holiday. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Cammarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cammarch Hotel Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing