We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cammarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cammarch Hotel
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Loved everything about this hotel! Such a warm welcome from the lovely owner, with tea and a slice of delicious homemade whisky-soaked fruitcake. Really tasty breakfast with fresh fruitsalad, cereals and homemade bread for toast with a lovely cooked breakfast - even had the 2 peacocks waiting outside the conseratory door for their bacon rind! (wish we'd eaten here for dinner too!). Very spacious accommodation with such a comfy bed. Such a great location too for long picturesque walks, and very friendly locals in the village - wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: we had a family suite, two tastefully furnished rooms with a large kitchen/dining area in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We visited the Cammarch for a family weekend. From the outside, it's quite a stern looking building, but the facilities inside are well kept and the welcome's warm and helpful.
We had a top floor apartment comprising double bedroom, shower room, kitchen /dining room and lounge with a convertible sofa bed and TV. We slept like logs, the peace was complete.
Other members of our family had a nice double with en-suite and roll-top bath.
We dined in on one evening, the food was great but you need to be aware that they've had to curtail the menu so there are only a couple of different choices each evening. Breakfast choices are good, the full cooked is available if you want it, with plentiful toast and lighter options available for those who don't.
Out in the garden are two inquisitive pigmy goats, a couple of peacocks and we mustn't forget the lively Border Collies.
The surrounding area is fantastic for most outdoor activities and we saw so many Red Kite that the novelty nearly wore off by the end of the weekend.
All of us really enjoyed our stay at the Cammarch, and I'm sure we'll return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

5 of us stayed for the duration of the Royal Welsh Show this year and we were all delighted with the building, the food, the service, the friendliness, the staff.... I could go on and on.
Catherine the owner could not do enough for us, providing delicious hearty breakfasts and delicious evening meals, even reopening the kitchen on one occasion when we returned very late to provide a late supper. I would come back again with business, with my partner for a quiet country get away or with friends for mountainbiking or fishing. I truly lovely spot run by equally lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed fortwo nights at the Hotel. The setting is lovely, so peaceful, with nice walks in surrounding countryside. Kathryn, The Landlady made us feel very welcome. The food was very good with a varied menu. The bedroom we stayed in was immaculate, with an extremely comfortable bed, together with the added bonus of a large cast iron bath!! We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

A group of us stayed to fish the local river. An ideal venue.
A lovely well kept hotel. The hostess is most welcoming. We had both dinner and breakfast not to be faulted.
I can highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jono2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

A warm word or two of thanks to Kathryn Dangerfield at her pretty hotel in Powys, one of the most picturesque counties in the UK. Travelling with two border collies we were delighted to find that Kathryn has two lovely collies of her own. The hotel is warm and friendly with immediate river access for fishermen and great river walks for others. Super home cooking for dinner and breakfasts and clean and spacious rooms. What a find. We will be going back again very soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colyngardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

We were a mixed group ranging in age from 19 to 58 years. The Cammarch was ideally located as it was in the middle of an area occupied by our extended family who we were visiting. The owner and staff were helpful and friendly.
Upon arrival we found that the hotel was half full with the other guests being mainly fishermen. The hotel lies at a point where two rivers meet. The premises have fishing rights and guests can use their stretches of water to course fish or try for a trout or salmon. On the second night we were the only guests.
The building is Victorian and has four floors, excluding cellars. The ground floor has the entrance, bar lounge, kitchens and conservatory dining room. The first and second floors are occupied by bedrooms and the top floor has two apartments suitable for families.
The bedroom’s furniture was mainly antique Victorian, but the beds were modern and comfortable. Linen and curtains had been matched well with different colour schemes in each room. The beds were very comfortable.
The bar worked on honesty with guests serving themselves and then signing a chit for what they had taken. It had an average range of beverages for a small establishment and prices were reasonable.
Breakfasts were substantial. They were hearty Welsh cooked breakfasts preceded by cereals, fruit juices, fresh fruit salad (not tinned) and completed with home made bread and toast with local preserves. The meats and dairy items were locally produced on neighbouring farms. I have never seen such thick cut slices of bacon, they were more like gammon steaks. The sausages were mouth-watering. Other cooked options (kippers or porridge) were available by prior arrangement.
The grounds are extensive. The hotel lies in the ‘V’ where two rivers meet. If you walk around the gardens you will be accompanied by friendly hotel pets such as two noisy border collie dogs and a couple of pygmy goats.
There are some disadvantages to staying at Cammarch. Parking is limited on the premises with possibly 6 – 8 medium sized cars being a maximum. However, the railway station car park is free and only 100 yards away. I had to use that on the first night. We found that the majority of bedrooms had miniscule bathrooms/shower rooms. It was difficult to move around in them and the mirrors and wash basins were positioned very low for anyone over 5’10”. I am 6’ and if I bent to look in the mirror, my backside pushed the bathroom door open and part of me was protruding into the bedroom. This is only to be expected in a Victorian building where en suite facilities have been added in vacant corners as an after thought.
All of the rooms are on the first, second and third floors (English system of describing floor levels in a building). The stairs were a problem for persons with mobility difficulties. There were no suitable disabled facilities. All of the public rooms were on the ground floor. The conservatory dining room was cold if you were first in to breakfast in the morning.
The staff and proprietor, Kathryn, were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to any able-bodied person.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plod715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangammarch Wells
0.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
6.2 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
11.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
16.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
12.3 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cammarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cammarch Hotel

Property: The Cammarch Hotel
Address: Unnamed Road | Llangammarch Wells, Llangammarch Wells LD4 4BY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangammarch Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Llangammarch Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cammarch Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cammarch is a friendly AA 4star rated guest house with a long history as a fishing lodge, with over 4 miles of fishing on the rivers Irfon and Cammarch. Guest accommodation is spread over 3 floors with 10 double/twin en-suite rooms and 2 family suites which have 2 bedrooms and one en-suite bathroom in each suite. We provide clean, comfortable accommodation as well as a cosy lounge, dining room where you can sample delicious home cooked breakfast and dinners, and we have a public bar. We are centrally located for you to explore the rest of Wales and our own setting is beautiful and very relaxing. A great place to for a relaxing holiday. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cammarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cammarch Hotel Llangammarch Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing