We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cain Valley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$131
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
$122
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
$94
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$88
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Oswestry(Oswestry)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
65
55
10
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
55
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomplenty of hot waterlake vyrnwycoaching innsloping floorstwo nightsgreat foodold world charmmid walesgood sizeexcellent value for moneyone night stayfew drinksmy wife and i have justexcellent hotelstore roomhistoric hotel
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 139 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Because of business responsibilities in the area I needed to stay over on New Year's Eve. I have absolutely no regrets about staying in the Cain Valley hotel. As mentioned in other reviews this hotel has very uneven floors but this adds to the charm of the place. My room was very spacious and comfortable, giving me all I needed without the unnecessary accessories provided in chain hotels. I will definitely be back .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Llanfyllin is NOT on any beaten track so you need to want to be here.... That being said, the Cain Valley Hotel is a very nice place to rest your weary head. Don't expect boutique style, pillow menus or selections of toiletries. You will get huge dark beams, horse brasses, patterned carpets, really creaky, uneven floors and a generally old fashioned air. However, what you also get is really helpful, friendly staff, really tasty, inexpensive, well proportioned meals, a very comfortable bed and a general feeling of good value and a feeling of satisfaction at having found a great night's accommodation. The hotel is over 300 years old so is doing fairly well...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BreeSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Got there, had a rather muted 'welcome', which was fine. But the room was very dusty, and stuffy and generally a bit dank and dated.
Stayed 10 minutes, I have mild asthma but I couldn't stay as this place really set me off (to be fair even my other half was affected by the dust, the curtains and bedspread were covered).
Opened the windows, went for a walk, came back, still really stuffy and dusty.
Paid, went home, had a chinese back in Hope (Flintshire, great place called the Bridge Inn).
I probably should have complained, but didn't want the hassle, just wanted to go home and celebrate my engagement...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Took advantage of the special offer of £180 for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast last weekend. Excellent value for money. Ambience was very good. The hotel is 17th century, the staircase is Grade 1 listed and the rest of the hotel is Grade 2 listed. Sloping floors all add to the experience. Couldn't fault the food or service. All in all a lovely break in an excellent location just 15 minutes from Lake Vyrnwy which also is well worth a visit. lovely walks and beautiful scenery.
Only problem if you could call it a problem - need a better choice of music in the dining room!!

Room Tip: Even though our room overlooked the main street it was still quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very friendly and relaxed staff, and proper beer - as well as nice food - made for an excellent overnight stay. The building is full of charm and character, and although the decor is a bit dated in places the room was clean and tidy, and everything worked. Well located for exploring Llanfyllin and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews