We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views!”
Review of Cyfie Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cyfie Farm
Ranked #2 of 4 Llanfyllin B&B and Inns
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 3 night stay in the Barley Suite at Cyfie Farm. The suite had everything we needed and it was particularly lovely to be able to light the wood burning stove in the evenings. Despite being very snowy and cold outside, the heating in the suite was very efficient. The hosts were very friendly and the freshly cooked breakfasts kept us going for a long time. I am inspired to bake some rolls myself now, although I doubt they will match up to Claire's!The views from our suite and indeed the whole farm are simply spectacular, and I recommend booking a slot in the hot tub to enjoy them at leisure. Lake Vyrnwy itself was simply beautiful. Some of the road around it was closed during our stay due to the snow, but we still managed to walk around part of the lake and dam. I highly recommend Lake Vyrnwy for those who love peaceful, breathtakingly beautiful landscapes, and cannot imagine a nicer place to stay than Cyfie Farm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandMReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. we hope to see you here again soon in the sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We came across this place by chance on the way to Lake Vyrnwy as few years ago and always wanted to go back to stay. At last we've managed it and we weren't disappointed. We stayed for 4 nights in Stable suite and booked 2 sessions in the spa. The views are amazing, particularly from the hot tub. There are 2 summer houses in the grounds that we were encouraged to use and we weren't disappointed.Claire and Neil were fabulous hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The recommendations for places to eat (Seeds in Llanfyllin and Cartref tea room in Llanfihangel) were spot-on. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Jelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in one of the B and B suites, wonderful facilities: your own lounge for the evenings and yet a scrummy breakfast each morning. The hosts were so friendly and always available to help but never intruded (a very unusual skill in my experience) and it is their personalities which make this place so special. The accommodation was spotless, the food excellent (home made rolls for breakfast, still warm from the oven!) and the location stunning. The gardens are truly beautiful and very colourful and well-kept; guests are also welcome to use the gardens. The owners really have thought of everything. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: The B and B suites combine the best of both worlds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyChatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
What nice review - it is always easier to be good hosts with delightful guests. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Galilee
Level Contributor
123 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you are looking for something special, then you must try Cyfie farm. Why? Well, it has everything you need for a get-away vacation in the midst of green rolling hills and valleys in the heartland of Wales. The hosts couldn't do more for us. The made-especially-for-you breakfast was outstanding. Just taking in the surroundings was enough to make you want to stay longer.The Barley Suite was perfect - better than expected. Fully-loaded and crammed with everything to make your stay more comfortable. My only regret is that we didn't get to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to see you both here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked one night B&B in Barley Suite. This is farm guest accommodation and our first experience of it. The owners employ someone else to work the farm, but they live in the old farmhouse and the suites and cottages are converted farm buildings. What they call a suite is far more than you'd expect. We had a self contained "duplex appartement" with a tiny kitchen with a micowave, toaster, fridge and sink, a living room with a wood burner, and stairs up to the bedroom and bathroom. Both the suite and the large yard outside were absolutely spotless! There is a lovely well kept garden, with some sculptures and two summer houses. There is also a sauna and hot tub. I agree with other reviewers about the obvious love and care that the owners put into their properties. The decor is beautiful, and there are ornaments here and there which you feel must have been specially chosen. The only drawback was the mattress - I woke up with backache, and it had sheets and blankets rather than a duvet which I prefer. But the bed was a superkingsize, and had a lovely carved bedhead. Towels and toiletries were brilliant, although there was no drying up towel for the kitchen. There was a gorgeous china teaset for serving tea, a cafitiere, full tea and coffee caddies with a jug of fresh milk in the fridge. Apart from the lovely woodburner, if you turn the central heating on, the place heats up like an oven in 5 minutes flat! Breakfast was served in the main house, where all the guests sit around a large table. The food was delicious and our hosts were very attentive. They are very friendly people and make you feel at home. They showed us one of their cottages - it was gorgeous and the bath had taps in the middle! Would be lovely as a romantic retreat! We will certainly be returning here. I don't think the website gives enought information.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong whichever one you chose
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blodwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review. we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The setting was post card perfect.

There were different shades of green of the nearby hills, tree and valley. Then there was this pretty garden. Among the colourful flowers and plants flown different birds towards the feeder. It was a joy and privilege to encounter their dance and chorus. In addition to a few well placed benches, there were two summer houses to relax with a book and a drink while takng in the view of the valley in the company of a few charming sheep and lambs. That was my favourite ways to spend an afternoon.

The cottage was clean, airy, bright and very comfortable. The bedrooms were spacious and the shower was good. The hot tub and sauna was a favourite with my husband and our two teenage sons.

Clare and Neil were so friendly and helpful that we felt we have known them a long time. They made us felt very welcomed. You could feel their love and pride of their farm and cottages in the way they attend to their garden and every small details of their cottages. Well done Clare and Neil.

This is a perfect place to get away from it all. The garden, the rolling hills and the views. It doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveengland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all here again. Best wishes from Cyfie Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently returned from a week's holiday at Cyfie Farm and can honestly say that it is one of the best places we have ever stayed in as regards comfort, location and personal attention. The formula is half way between B§B and self-catering, making for great flexibility and convenience. Our suite was very comfortable and was available to us all day since the rooms are cleaned while guests are at breakfast. The location is far enough off the beaten track to feel really in the country while not being too remote, and all the positive comments about the views are not exaggerated. It is all run to the highest standards, but the best aspect is the warm and personal welcome extended by Claire and Neil to their guests. The breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice, and the dinners available at weekends are delicious and well presented (take your own wine if you want to do them justice!). There are plenty of local places of interest (castles, gardens, waterfalls etc.), and Snowdonia and the coast are also within easy reach. Seeds restaurant in Llanfyllin is the nearest good eatery, 'good' being the understatement of the year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thanks you so much for this lovely review. We enjoyed your visit to Cyfie very much too and look forward to seeing you here again perhaps.

Best wishes

Neil and Claire
Cyfie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfyllin
4.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,464 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
125 reviews
7.9 mi away
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Dolanog
85 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cyfie Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyfie Farm

Property: Cyfie Farm
Address: Llanfihangel | Lake Vyrnwy, Llanfyllin SY22 5JE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfyllin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfyllin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cyfie Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for short breaks, a week away or two weeks of total escapism, Cyfie Farm is a short drive and a million miles from the M54 (one of our links to the hustle and bustle of everyday life).Forget your preconceptions about “bed and breakfast” or “self catering” - at Cyfie Farm we believe that we have redefined the terminology and set new standards. Bed and Breakfast means you have your own suite of rooms with bedroom, bathroom, private lounge and kitchenette, while our cottages are spacious, stylish and offer stunning views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cyfie Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyfie Farm Llanfyllin, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing