We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”
Review of Cyfie Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cyfie Farm
Ranked #2 of 4 Llanfyllin B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in March. We had a great warm welcome from Claire and Neal. The location is amazing and the view is fantastic I would definitely suggest that you have a go in the spa. Watching the sun go down over the valleys was fantastic especially with the bubbles off just listening to the sheep and new born lambs.
The suite is a good size and having a kitchenette was great. Also the wood fire was fantastic in the evening. I especially loved the bathroom which was huge and beautifully decorated. Overall for my taste, although the rooms as done to a very high standard, they are a bit old fashioned and a bit cluttered but as i said this is just my personnel taste.
Having a separate entrance was great as you didn’t feel you were intruding or having to walk through anywhere really wet and muddy.
If you are not eating there then you will need to drive a reasonable distance to fine food but we had great food at a restaurant suggested by Neil and Clare called Seeds one night and then made our own food another having had a late huge lunch so this was not a problem.
Breakfast was fantastic and large portions and good quality products. The fresh rolls are lovely. You eat at one large table with other guests so was a good chance to meet others. It was also a good opportunity to get Neil and Clare to share some of their great ideas for walks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review. We note your comments about the suite you stayed in and value your opinion; we are a 17th Century Farmhouse and have tried to keep our decor in keeping with the property but appreciate that taste is a very personal matter. We are glad that you liked many things about our farm and we are surprised that you did not appear to get good sleep quality, especially after enjoying the Spa which most guests find most relaxing and sleeping in our hand-made beds. Is there anything we could have done to improve that aspect for you? Perhaps you will come and stay with us again and try a different suite?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Cyfie Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 58 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

Firstly I have to say I have been meaning to write this review for nearly a year however better late than never!
Myself and my Fiance had the pleasure of staying in sheep dip cottage last December for 5 days. From the moment we arrived impressions were good. We had a lovely warm welcome from Claire and Neil and the cottage was beautiful with all modern facilities. The fire was a must after a long walk in the snow! The farm is located in gorgeous welsh countryside and I would strongly recommend a visit to Lake Vrynwy, it was so beautiful, my boyfriend proposed!
Anyone who has the chance to stay here, do it. You wont regret it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hev1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Many thanks for your splendid review. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Myself and my husband were fortunate enough to stay at Cyfie farm a few days ago. I can whole heartadly agree with all the other reviews re Cyfie farm. Cyfie Farm is a magical place with the most wonderful views right across Wales into England amazing! The garden itself is huge with two Summer Houses you can sit in and absorb the breathtaking views. The huge Spa is a must and also affords amazing views with Horses to boot. The sauna and Changing Cabin is immaculate. We stayed in the beautiful stable Suite with all the original beams and fittings. The Suite has a lounge with a large stone fireplace, wonderful front window with views, (Binnoculars supplied), Books , Magazines, info re local activities, walks eating out etc, all manner of various Tea and Coffee and home made Welsh oatcakes and a Fridge. I believe the other two suites have kitchenettes as well. We had a shower/ toilet room with plenty of Gilchrist and Soames toiletries in the shower and the bathroom itself, so if you forget your toiletries - no problem. Upstairs the Bedroom was just as lovely with a Iron wrought double and single bed very comfortable and at night you can hear a pin drop so an excellent nights sleep is guaranteed. Breakfast was wonderful too and this is where Cyfie Farm, as in so many other areas excels, so many times we have stayed in so called 5 star expensive Hotels only too receive limp heated up Breakfasts and a tiny piece of watery Haddock etc. Not here, ALL the breakfasts are cooked freshly and quickly all locally sourced. My husbands full breakfast was beautifully cooked with excellent quality food and not one hint of grease. My Haddock was a large portion with a perfectly cooked poached egg on top. All the bread rolls were warm, all the Yoghurts were creamy and fruity all the jam home made, large choice of cereals some home made and fruit, quite simply the best quality breakfast we have ever had, it was just a shame that we were unable to book a meal there on the Sat evening as i suspect it would be delicious. We chose to eat out at the Lake Vrnwy Tavern a delicious Welsh lamb Confit and Choc Creme Brulee two course with wine for approx £25 each. Excellent food and value for money.My husbands Cheese and Biscuit selection was diverse and delicious. Neil and Claire are generous hosts both with their time, space, and attention to detail in everything they do, they really care about about their guests experiences and obviously work very hard to maintain the very high standards that Cyfie Farm offers. Our only regret was that because of circumstances we could only stay the one night but strangely enough because of the sheer beauty of the place was still a very restorative experience for us. We will be back soon hopefully for a little longer. Thankyou to Neil and Claire for a wondeful week end.

Room Tip: Book the Spa if you can for an amazing experience. Book an evening meal if you can. Stock up on supp...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missbabs021066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Many thanks for your splendid review of Cyfie Farm. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you here again - perhaps for a little longer and to have dinner with us!

Best wishes to you both

Neil and Claire
Cyfie Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

In mid August 2011, Cyfie Farm was our first port of call on our extended visit to UK and Europe from Australia and set an unbeatable international hotel standard. Excellent 5+ star accommodation, elegantly furnished, set in a garden in a farm with stunning views of the Welsh hill country, it is haven for travelers on business or for pleasure. Friendly hosts Neil and Claire made Cyfie an unforgettable experience.
[----]

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Many thanks for your lovely review of Cyfie. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your long tour of Europe. We hope to see you here again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

excellent accommodation - really lovely to have a suite to enjoy instead of just a bedroom. food and service were really first class. Neil and Claire were lovely hosts. The views from the farm are truly breathtaking and we would truly love to be able to return one day. Lynne and Trevor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnej1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Many thanks for your lovely review Lynne and Trevor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again here soon. Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We spent three nights at Cyfie Farm and would have happily stayed longer. Neil and Claire extended a truly warm welcome to us and were unobtrusively attentive to our every need throughout our stay. The spacious Barley Suite could not be better equipped or laid out. All creature comforts were there, including a small but well-equipped kitchenette that gives guests great flexibility over catering. That said, the breakfasts were outstanding in every way and certainly should not be missed! I am only sorry that we were not there on the days when Neil and Claire offer an evening meal for I am sure these would have been equally wonderful. The situation at Cyfie is beautiful and quite remote for that 'get away from it all' break with views as far as Shropshire in the East and Cader Idris to the South West that are quite stunning. The price for these views is a lofty hill top location so, if like me, you take a bike, expect some hard climbs back to the Farm after your morning rides!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Vivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

David and Vivienne. Many thanks for your kind words about us and our farm. We hope to see you here again soon - especially so David can keep up his fitness levels during his morning rides!

Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Neil & Claire made us feel so welcome. The views down the valley are stunning, particularly from the hot tub, which was a magical experience!! The B& B suites are comfortable, immaculate and with high quality furnishings and lovely finishing touches. We also looked at the self catering cottages and they are an even higher standard! What makes this place so outstanding is the highest level of personal service and amazing attention to detail, so often lacking in soul less hotels and guest houses. We particularly enjoyed the locally sourced food, cooked and served to perfection by Neil & Claire, in intimate surroundings. Its easy to understand why Cyfie is 5 Star & Gold Award, we will recommend it as a perfect place to relax and be pampered to family and friends and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swellrider77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CyfieFarm, Owner at Cyfie Farm, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfyllin
4.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,534 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
131 reviews
7.9 mi away
Plas Uchaf
Plas Uchaf
#1 of 4 in Llanfyllin
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Dolanog
92 reviews
5.0 mi away
Belan Bach Lodges
Belan Bach Lodges
#1 of 1 in Llangadfan
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyfie Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyfie Farm

Address: Llanfihangel | Lake Vyrnwy, Llanfyllin SY22 5JE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfyllin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfyllin
Price Range: $122 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cyfie Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for short breaks, a week away or two weeks of total escapism, Cyfie Farm is a short drive and a million miles from the M54 (one of our links to the hustle and bustle of everyday life).Forget your preconceptions about “bed and breakfast” or “self catering” - at Cyfie Farm we believe that we have redefined the terminology and set new standards. Bed and Breakfast means you have your own suite of rooms with bedroom, bathroom, private lounge and kitchenette, while our cottages are spacious, stylish and offer stunning views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cyfie Farm Llanfyllin, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing