We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect country getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Llanfyllin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect country getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arrived at night & the place looked stunning from the road and the drive up towards the house, even if a little spooky! Our room was massive, with everything you need, well stocked tea & coffee.
Had the best nights sleep, breakfast was plentiful, yogurt, fruit, croissants, cereal, and thats before your cooked breakfast.
Not too far away, we drove to the waterfall, had a walk up, & if your brave enough look over, (I wasn't!)
And then a drive a little further to Lake Vernwy where we hired bikes from the cafe.
And what better to go back to than the biggest bath tub.
We did have an evening meal which was 1st class.
There is an honesty bar, well stocked.
Would defiantly return & recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandmark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
70
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife an have just returned to Cumbria after a lovely break in Wales and Shropshire. Chris and Julie made our short stay really welcoming and we just loved the hotel, food and the surroundings. On arrival a pot of tea and some warm fruit scones was a lovely start to our stay. In the blink of an eye it was over so quickly, but we had a lovely evening meal to celebrate my wife's birthday. Delightfully cooked, we had homemade soup and warm crusty buns followed by the lamb steak which was delightful, veg and then sticky toffee pudding (my wife's choice) and a fine selection of Welsh cheeses and biscuits for me. We had previously during the day complete a walk around Lake Vyrnwy (12 miles!!) so after the meal and a nice glass of wine we slept like a log in our wonderful room. So five stars to Plas Uchaf, we loved every minute and no doubt return in the future . . but maybe not the 12 mile walk, ha!!!

Room Tip: My tip would be . . just book the Plas Uchaf and enjoy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaGraphicsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasUchaf, Owner at Plas Uchaf Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Perhaps try the bike hire for the 12 miles next time. Regards Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our daughter gave us a Voucher from Fresh Weekends "A Room With A View " to celebrate our 43rd Wedding Anniversary and we chose Plas Uchaf from the available properties.
And we have to say it was a delightful stay for the one night we had.
On arrival we thought the welcome could have been a little less business like and the offer of a cup of tea would have been nice, however we were a little early and Chris said our room was not ready. Chris did offer that our bags could be left, and suggested we pay a visit to Pystill Rhaeadr waterfall the highest in England and Wales, which we did. On return our room would be ready, which it was.
We stayed in the Abington room a premier Double Ensuite which was a tad cold at first the heating not being on for that long. A lovely large bed (super king size) very comfortable with warm duvet. Period furniture only problem we almost needed step ladders to hang our clothes!
a large carpeted bathroom with bath and shower.
We arranged to have Dinner that evening which was delicious and good value at £19 for three courses. We said we would have pre dinner drinks in the lounge and it would have been nice had the log fire been lit and we may have spent more money in the honesty bar. We can only think as we were the only guests they would not bother with lighting the fire which was a shame. Could be that we where a Voucher customer!
We got a nice reception from the chickens that would have got into the car without any problem!!
The breakfast was first class the eggs from the chickens wonderful.
We would stay again if in the area, the hospitality would be a little more friendly without a pre-payment Voucher we think.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanClomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Plas Uchaf for 2 nights on the weekend of 27th October 2012. We can only echo what has already been said. Plas Uchaf is an excellent place to stay. Chris is very friendly and made us extremely welcome. Lemon cake and tea in guests lounge was excellent. He can also advise on places to eat and places to visit. Our room was large and extremely comfortable with a settee, ensuite bathroom was great. The other guests we met were very friendly.
Breakfast – faultless. Particularly liked the Grenola. Brilliant views from the house. We dined at the guesthouse on Saturday night and really enjoyed our meal. All the reviews here say the same thing – Plas Uchaf is a great place to stay. We are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryokeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night last weekend. Absolutely great, faultless. Would recommend in an instant and will definitely go back. Great local pub just a mile away and really great breakfast at Plas Uchaf.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerrards cross
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent just one night at Plas Uchaf with friends celebrating our wedding anniversaries. We could not have asked for more. Meticulous attention to detail in every respect, everything you could wish for is provided and all extremely high quality. Enjoyed a beautifully presented meal at a very reasonable price. One night not enough!

Room Tip: May be worth choosing a Premier room, but I am sure all rooms are of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cranleigh94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We needed an overnight break on the way into deepest Wales, found Plas Uchaf on Alastair Sawday’s website and were encouraged by Trip Advisor reviews. We were impressed at first sight. Located high on a green hillside and approached by a winding drive – a pretty and impressive Queen Anne house.
We were made very welcome and shown to our “garden room” – actually a well converted ex-stable(?) standing alone and apart from the house (see picture). Comfortable, and perfect for us and our dog – fitted out with twin beds and a settee and all necessary facilities (though I don’t think a hair dryer was in the room).
In the evening we enjoyed a while in the pleasant lounge with its books and well stocked “honesty bar”, and then had a good quality and reasonably priced evening meal (under £20 for 3 courses – well cooked and presented – I recommend the perfectly kept local cheeses).
Breakfast consisted of a generous buffet of fruit dishes, juices, yogurt, muesli and croissant, as well as all the usual cereals. While we enjoyed all this our host prepared our full Welsh breakfast. Again, the quality was high and the local bacon and sausage were particularly good (and I’m pretty choosy).
We were fortunate to have lovely weather during our brief stay and were able to sit out and soak up views of the surrounding hills and fields.
Guests are free to use the extensive garden areas which are mainly grass, including a croquet area, but are rather let down by the borders which are crying out for many hours of TLC – not easy as the gardens were laid out when such a house had many full time staff!! But don’t let that put you off – you will enjoy Plas Uchaf, eat well, and be well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfyllin
3.8 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Uchaf Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Uchaf Country Guest House

Property: Plas Uchaf Country Guest House
Address: Plas Uchaf | Llangedwyn, Llanfyllin SY10 9LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfyllin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfyllin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Uchaf Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plas Uchaf Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House Llanfyllin, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing