We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb..”
Review of Plas Uchaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plas Uchaf
Ranked #1 of 4 Llanfyllin B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and simply cannot recommend Plas Uchaf enough.

The owners are the perfect host's, nothing being too much trouble. We were greeted by Chris who insisted on carrying our case in from the car, such a gentleman.

First impressions are of a large country house set in well cared for gardens with superb views to the front. Inside its spotless and our (huge) bedroom couldn't have been more 'us' in its decor and furniture, pure coincidence but it made us feel completely at home.

Breakfast is excellent with various juices, yoghurt, cereals, and the ingredients of a full English very nicely cooked to you preference.

We dined in one night (24hrs notice please). We had Sea Bass and Pan Seared Duck Breast, simply excellent and the 'in house' cooking is highly recommended. For eating out the is a nice pub a couple of miles down the road, and plenty more further afield.

There is a 'honesty bar' in the very comfy lounge, just write down what you have and it will be totted up at the end of your stay. There is free WiFi, and friendly cats! We'll be back.

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired, or wish to take your dog ask for the Garden Room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neilb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

I took my elderly mother to Plas Uchaf for a few nights and we stayed in the garden room. I can only reiterate all the other reviews, we loved it. It's in a wonderful spot with great views, our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. The main house was lovely and the breakfasts and dinners consistently good. Chris was a great host, very helpful and welcoming. We would definitly go back and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The garden room is great for those who can't manage tips stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_Hitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I booked this weekend through "Lastminute.com" whom I had not used before. They were very professional and helpful although did try to suggest other destinations but I had decided that it was to be Plas Uchaf after seeing the photographs.
We were greeted by Chris who is a charming and helpful host. my friend and I stayed in the garden Room as we both have difficulty with stairs. It was a lovely building in, of course, the garden with delightful decor including a leather couch on which to watch TV. The shower room was lovely and the shower perfect. The main house reception rooms are lovely. We were greeted with tea and biscuits on our arrival. The full English breakfasts were excellent and very filling.
The views of the countryside from the house are stunning. We were lucky in our weather and spent time outside sitting admiring the view.
We will be recommending Plas Uchaf to all our friends and relations and we will be back.

Room Tip: I did look, with Chris, at two rooms on the first floor and they were large and beautifully decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful night away from it all, then this would be a great choice. Booked for our wedding anniversay, lovely room, great view of the surrounding hills and fields. Chris the owner was a great host. Shame about the weather, but it is mid wales, still didn't spoil our trip. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_R323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Plas Uchaf last weekend. Lovely house, room, hosts and food. Chris and Julie are very nice people running a superb guest house. Our stay could not have been bettered.
We can only confirm all the good comments made by previous reviewers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brookbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked it after a last minute decision to go away for the bank holiday. We had read the previous reviews so our expectations were high. Plas Uchaf really is an amazing little gem in the middle of the Welsh hills with no noise pollution other than the birds singing. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Chris and shown our room which was on the 3 rd floor - the staircase leading to the room is original wood has been lovingly restored - the room was beautifully decorated an very spacious with a stunning view of the countryside. We were then invited for coffee and homemade coffee cake which was delicious. We ate at the pub (25 mins walk) the first night which was ok( typical pub grub) but I must sat the locals were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. After a most comfortable nights sleep in the best bed I have ever slept in we had a fantastic brekkie - fresh fruit, warm croissant, Greek yoghurt etc then Chris took our order and cooked us a brekkie just how we asked. The second evening we booked to stay in Plas Uchaf for our evening meal - we had drinks from the honesty bar then we were treated to a delicious welsh beef roast with all the trimmings and 2 yummy desserts - to say my hubbie is a fussy eater is an understatement and think this is the first time I have known him to clear his plate when eating out. We will certainly be visiting again and will recommend it to our friends and family.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A very quiet location which makes for a very peaceful stay listening to the birds singing and the lambs in the fields. If you like your hotel/guest house stays lively then this is not the place for you.

We were very well looked after and my husband loved the 'honesty' bar! Dinner (main course) was limited to a choice of just 2 (lamb or fish) but it was nicely done and you have to be reminded that this is a guest house not a hotel. Breakfast was lovely - particularly the self-serve fruit salads and greek yoghurt. We felt it was good value.

As for our room - that was lovely - huge bed, bathroom larger than many hotel rooms we have stayed in and tasteful furniture and furnishings. Being an old building with original windows there were inevitable draughts but the heating (just about) coped with it. It must be tricky to keep it warm enough in the depths of winter tho'!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0llyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfyllin
10.1 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,567 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
136 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Gwaenynog Farmhouse
Gwaenynog Farmhouse
#1 of 3 in Dolanog
169 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Plas Uchaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Uchaf

Address: | Llangedwyn, Llanfyllin SY10 9LD, Wales (Formerly Plas Uchaf Country Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfyllin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfyllin
Price Range: $114 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Uchaf 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Plas Uchaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Uchaf Llanfyllin, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing