We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location - great attention to your comfort and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Llanfyllin B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning location - great attention to your comfort and stay”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Located on a hillside set above the valley floor one cannot fail to be impressed by the sweeping drive to Plas Uchaf. Upon arrival I was shown to me room and offered tea and cake downstairs in the lounge - likewise the interior has a wealth of character and comfort. Very accomodating with regards to dietary requirements which makes a pleasant change. Log burning stove and a well stocked honesty bar - prefect relaxing way to spend the evening.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
73
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortambert, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were made so very welcome by Chris and Julie - nothing was too much trouble. We loved the warmth and cosiness of the house combined with exquisite fittings and furnishings which made us feel we were staying in a 5 star hotel.
We ate in and it was superb, the wine list was excellent and the food came to our table hot and tasty. The cheese board with exclusively Welsh cheeses on it was a triumph! Tasty, plentiful and with a good variety.
Room wonderful, every detail covered!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

When we first saw this Queen Anne house (which was, at the time, a residential home) 13 years ago whilst on holiday in the area, we said we'd love to buy it if ever we won the lottery. Well, we didn't win the lottery, but moved to this part of Wales in March 2010 and were delighted to learn that Plas Uchaf had become a country guest house.

We received a very warm welcome from Chris, the owner, who showed us around and then to our huge room (the en suite bathroom is only slightly smaller than our bedroom at home!).

We had already planned on eating there, and had a wonderful dinner: a divine first course of butternut squash soup/smoked salmon and prawn mousse, followed by the best fish meal for years/a lovely risotto, and finished off with a very generous plate of local Welsh cheeses/a tart au citron. We then had a nightcap from the honesty bar in the guest's lounge before retiring for the night.

The room facilities also included a DVD player, so we were able to watch something good instead of the rubbish that was on television that evening...

Breakfast was lovely ~ plenty of fruit and cereals on offer, and again local produce: it was great that one of us had the "incinerated" bacon requested (so often it's never cooked for long enough!).

We took our reluctant leave mid-morning, and have vowed to make this an annual stay for our joint birthday celebrations.

A jewel of a country guest house, and truly not a single thing with which to find fault.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_and_Jane_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We're not easy to please or accommodate. We have access issues which make a ground floor room a requirement and a little bit of tlc.
Chris was the perfect host in this regard. Friendly and extremely helpful but never intrusive.
The manor house is reached by a single track drive-way which passes under a massive tree with garden swing. In the distance is a walled garden which given more time at the property I am sure the owners will turn into something quite magical.
There are chickens in the garden, a gravel entrance with ample parking and welcoming night lights.
We were in the garden room annexe which is a self-contained unit outside the main house. It has a shower room with a heated towel rail, very hot water, toiletries and plump towels. All spotlessly clean.
Our twin beds were among the best we have slept in and the decor was modern and fresh. There was an electric heater on an adjustable timer, ample lights, a low leather couch for watching the flat screen TV (with DVD player) and plenty of storage space.
The floor is tiled so you may need your slippers!
The driveway up to the annexe is on a slope and narrow so needs care when tooing and froing with the car.
The entrance to the main house up a couple of steps is about 80 yards away. There is a residents' lounge with log burner, heaps of books, a DVD library and playing cards. Next door off the massive hall is the dining room where we were pleased to enjoy great home cooked breakfasts.
Select from the buffet of juices, cereal, yoghurt, fruits and then enjoy bacon, sausage and so on to your own specification. Again all very clean and well presented.
Plas Uchaf added to the enjoyment of our trip back to Wales and we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0wiewhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

A last minute change of plan took us to the Tanat Valley on the Welsh borders, where we found the hotel to be relaxing,peaceful,comfortable with excellent food. We stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our break away - so quiet and tranquil with lovely views from the historic country house. .We were able to travel to the coast as well as into Shropshire.
Well worth a visit to this hidden gem run by a team who deliver true customer service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancastrain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The house is beautiful, full of character and in an amazing, undiscovered location. It has been decorated with taste, restraint and an attention to the needs of the visitor which one does not expect in this price range. The little things such as the DVD player (and a range of DVDs) the bottled water, the chocolates and the use of a really elegant guest lounge, complete with honesty bar, made this a memorable visit.
The house, the easy-going charm of the proprietors and the first rate breakfast have moved me to wrtie my first ever review for Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My wife and I got married at Plas Uchaf and a number of our family and friends slept there. We all had a fantastic day thanks to the extra special efforts made by the owners, Chris and Julie. They went out of their way to make everybody happy and the service was great all day. The rooms were all lovely, the food was perfect and the location is stunning. We couldn't have asked for more and we would certainly recommend Plas Uchaf for events or short breaks.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Humphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfyllin
3.8 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
125 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,485 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
413 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
405 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Uchaf Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Uchaf Country Guest House

Property: Plas Uchaf Country Guest House
Address: Plas Uchaf | Llangedwyn, Llanfyllin SY10 9LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfyllin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfyllin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Uchaf Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Plas Uchaf Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Uchaf Country Guest House Llanfyllin, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing