We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Sublime weekend for Hen Party”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Exclusive use of GORGEOUSly warm heated soft spring water pool. Wonderful to swim then sauna to ease
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exclusive use of GORGEOUSly warm heated soft spring water pool. Wonderful to swim then sauna to ease
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
18 reviews
Exclusive use of GORGEOUSly warm heated soft spring water pool. Wonderful to swim then sauna to ease
Enjoy snuggling up by the wood burning stove.  The Barn is SO warm, comfy and cosy!
Fabulous valley from outside the Garden Room. Only 10 minutes by car from Snowdonia National park.
Lovely Jasmine bedroom - fantastic views. All you hear is the birdsong, tinkling stream & sheep!
Romantic, spacious Hydrangea bedroom , en suite bathroom - guests sleep like logs here at Barlings
Sycamore twin bedroom with views to the paddock and bluebell  wood
Pretty Celandine bedroom, Kingsize comfy bed. Lovely southerly views down the valley!
Buttercups everywhere!!  Summer view from Garden Room at Barlings down this magnificent  valley
Winter comes to the Barlings wood.  Badgers snooze and bluebells sleep.  Snowy hills through trees t
'The cat sat on the mat!' A tiny part of the cottage gardens at Barlings Barn with George
Autumn in the beautiful Barlings woodland - sigh!  Wonderful wildlife abounds and peace reigns here.
Barlings bluebell wood on a snowy Winter's morn!  Barlings sits where the hills meet the mounta
Swim anyone??  Pool open from 8.30 a.m. until 10 p.m so plenty of time to just 'unwind & re
Llyn Clywedog with snow-capped hills - this is only 15 minutes away.  Photo taken by a lovely guest.
Barlings Barn and Garden Room.  Barlings is like a tardis - bigger on the inside!
Relax in the rocking chairs on the flower draped verandah - swimming pool glimpsed through door!
Your own 20 acres of Plantation of Ancient Bluebell Woodland - wonderful to walk, rest and play in
Under the pretty Wisteria arch between swimming pool and Wanws is the entrance to cosy Goat Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Llanbrynmair, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Magicalba...
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sublime weekend for Hen Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

I have just come back from Barlings Barn for my hen weekend. I went with 15 of my girls and we all honestly had the most magical time. The owners were so helpful throughout the whole booking process, keeping in touch throughout. They made the beds up exactly as we asked and were very flexible where everyone could sleep. We could arrive and leave whenever suited us on the Friday and Sunday - a rarity I think in bookings- and we were even greeted with not one but two freshly baked (still warm from the oven) Victoria sponges.

The facilities are excellent, the cottage was warm with the heating on when we arrived, and everywhere was spotless clean. The swimming pool was gloriously, steam rising off it warm, a real treat if you're like me and hate the cold, and the sauna was just sublime.

All the bedrooms were a great size. I don't think the owners will mind me saying this isn't a modern boutique resort with fancy wallpaper and colour block walls..it is chintzy, cosy, friendly and perfectly set up for large groups..all part of it's charm.

We rested, we drank, we ate, we bbq'd, we swam, we picnicked and we walked in the beautiful forest and had cocktails in the evening while dancing to music in our PJ's. None of us wanted to leave and we left feeling completely nourished. How often can you say that after a hen do?!!

I honestly can't think of a single fault and would recommend staying here without hesitation.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The lovely hot pool
Liked least: That we had to leave
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheekydes...
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely barn for a cosy weekend with friends.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a 40th birthday weekend and had a lovely time. Nothing was too much for the owners and there were some really lovely little extras. The fire had been laid and so had the fire pit outside, Fliss had also baked us two cakes for our arrival.

Everyone enjoyed the swimming pool and the pool table too. The children also made good use of the play room in the attic.The whole barn is very cosy and if you needed something it was usually there, right down to buckets and spades to take to the beach. Most cleaning products were provided and the two dishwashers were well used.

On our second night we had booked a local caterer to come and make dinner. I would also highly recommend her too. She owns Machinations near the barn.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digge
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun weekend with the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Barlings for a family going away weekend ( we are emigrating to N.Z.)we also recently got married and it was an opportunity for us all to get together before we leave so it was a very important weekend. It turned out to be the best time I have had, all I expected from the venue and more was realised. The owners Terry and Fliss were very helpful prior to booking with advise and information right through to the weekend itself, it is 5* cosy and comfortable with lots of things to do for all ages. The pool was a delight as it was extremely warm and available from 8am till 10am. all the other activities were great, full size squash court. suana. pool, table tennis and much more, Fliss baked us a couple of cakes that were delicious and Terry was very helpful with information about the pool etc. The house was very warm, quirky, comfortable, great size kitchen, dinning table sat 25 .
The garden and area were outstanding, the variety of rooms siuted us well.
We would recommend this to anyone looking for a group venue, I could rave on as it was perfect for us. Thanks to Terry and Fliss for the most memorable event for our going away weekend

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Christmas Family Fun Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed here for Christmas 2011, 19 of us from 4 families.

The pool was excellent and the warmest I have ever experienced. The sauna was the hottest I have experienced and a full size squash court was a great bonus.

Once you have paid there are no annoying extras, everything is included, logs, pool (the game) etc.

The owners are very welcoming and very helpful (if you want them to be).

Kitchen is well equipped and the house was warm.

We do this each year, always somewhere different and would rate this as good value

5 of 5 bubbles Value 3 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathleen...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place to relax even with 9 children under 12”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Firstly although we had a staggered arrival we were each given a warm welcome by the owners. Nothing seemed too much for them, they had even accepted a supermarket delivery before anyone arrived and put food in the fridges!
The property was comfortable and well equipped. but not so precious that it would have made it difficult to relax with the children.
The indoor swimming pool was lovely and warm and the added benefit of the squash court was enjoyed not just for playing squash but also table tennis and at times a safe place for the little ones to have a run around
A great time was had by the dads building dens with the children.a couple of afternoons in the woods.
All in all a wonderful time was had by all.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the swimming pool
Liked least: only one toilet between three bedrooms in the wanwys
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shereel
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“fantastic house and beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011 for a stay in June 2010

we stayed at Barlings barn june of 2010.we was very lucky to get a very hot week.there was 19 of us all together ranging from age 1 right up to 59.there was plenty to do for us all from the lovely clean pool,the sauna,pooltable,squash court and plenty of bar-b-ques out on the beautiful terrace. The owners made us feel so welcome,even baking us a cake on arrival.the house was lovely.we visited near by towns and everyone was so welcoming .we all took our dogs and found lots of lovely walks in the near by acres of land. we went there to celebrate my brothers 40th and at the same time england was playing.I can honestly say this is one family holiday i will not forget and its all down to this beautiful house and its owners.thankyou.I would certainly recommend it.

5 of 5 bubbles Rooms 4 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyOneM...
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“The UK's Best group accomadation on offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010 for a stay in November 2010

We stopped at Barlings Barn this November (2010) and we were overjoyed at how wonderful the place was. From the wonderful welcome from the owners Terry & Fliss to the Barn and its facilities, to the beautiful setting.

The accommodation felt like a home away from home and it was amazing value for money. The swimming pool and sauna were a real delight and everyone in our party was waxing lyrical about the comfort and warmth in winter.

The barn is heated of the wood supply from the 20 acre woodland that is part of the setting. Its wonderful for long walks and the owners are dog friendly too.

Our kids had an amazing time and did not want to come home.

The rooms themselves were very tidy and well presented. The kitchen had all the facilities you could want for, including an ice crusher for cocktails.

The owners are lovely people who made us feel right at home. if you are looking for a large group accommodation to stop at that great value for money, then look no further.

We will be visiting again in 2011

Bob& Carol Worm

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing