We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming well situated cottage - owners very...”
other travelers have booked this property
Rear view of Laurel Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear view of Laurel Cottage
The Front Bedroom Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Rear view of Laurel Cottage
The Front Bedroom
Sitting Room
Rear Bedroom
Knighton, The Narrows
Offa's Dyke Visitor Centre, knighton
View from Offa's Dyke
St Edwards Church and Kinsley Wood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Knighton, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adventure...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming well situated cottage - owners very helpful and friendly”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed in this cottage for a few days while doing Offas Dyke path, and absolutely loved it! It is a fascinating building, and cosy and comfortable, especially with the woodburner going during the autumn evenings. The owners - Michael and Jo - live next door and were very friendly and helpful indeed, without being intrusive. We would definitely stay again! The stairs are quite steep which was fine for us but might be a problem for someone with mobility issues

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Quirky home from home”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Loved Laurel Cottage, had everything we needed to cater for ourselves as well as good local places to eat. Fab walks from the door and warm welcoming owners next door who made us and Sandy Dog feel right at home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compass70...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant little cottage near the village centre”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Laurel Cottage was brilliant for our weekend away. Michael and Jo are really welcoming hosts and the cottage had everything we needed.

Not shown in the photos (when I booked) is that there is a small kitchen with an oven, hob and microwave (+ the necessary utensils/plates/cutlery etc.) which was very useful.

One item to be aware of is that the cottage has quite steep stairs between the levels which my dad struggled with and someone with mobility issues may want to take that into account.

In the summer, the garden out the back will be a really nice area to sit/eat.
A full honest description by the hosts, that was an excellent first experience with Tripadvisor.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Dear Mark
Thank you for your positive review. I'm so glad that your day out at the Chris Price Rally School was such a success for you all (now, remind me who clocked the day's fastest time....?)
It's a good point about the stairs - we'll make mention of it when the website is updated for future enquirers.
All best wishes
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5LYH9
Haddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky, comfy accommodation in beautiful location”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was a delight from the day we arrived. Lovely, comfortably furnished house - the owners seemed to have thought of everything from an electric blanket to the cosy woodburner for chilly evenings. Didn't hesitate to accommodate our surprise guest and the dog was also welcomed. Plenty of walks from the doorstep and shops, pubs etc all close by. Look forward to our next visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samclayto...
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing weekend”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Had a lovely time, would recommend to anyone. The place had a great log burner, amazing location, really nice town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolly Q
1 review
“Lovely cottage, welcoming hosts, gorgeous countryside.”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had everything we needed and the cottage itself was cosy and well appointed. Michael and Jo were very helpful and we had such a good time - it's very easy to get to lots of amazing countryside from Knighton, plus there are no end of wonderful bookshops and other indoor attractions to keep everyone entertained. The only bad thing was that it had to end!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage as a whole, highlights the woodburner and four-poster bed.
Liked least: The steep staircase took a bit of getting used to.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tcgalli
isle of man
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, characterful cottage, with super comfy beds.”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage in a friendly village, great local pubs and places to eat nearby. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. The wood burner is ideal for warming the place through when it's raining outside! We were only there for two nights so didn't get the chance to make the most of the pretty outside sitting area, but we loved the cottage and hope to return next year. Welcoming hosts that respect your privacy -all-in-all a great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds, gorgeous four poster, wood burner.
Liked least: no bath (no room for it though either and it is not a complaint -the boys prefer a shower!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing