We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!”
Review of Black Hall Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Hall Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed in the Erie lodge for three nights - i wish we had stayed for a week! Beautiful surroundings. Spotless lodge. Everything you could need was provided. We had the swimming pool to ourselves - time of year we went i guess! Fabulous hot tub right outside on the decking. At night all you hear is owls, all you see is stars, and all you feel is relaxed. Simply cannot wait to book again. A m a z i n g .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank monty-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay in the Erie lodge!! The stars are simply bliss at this time of year, however the swimming pool is usually only occupied by one family / lodge!

We are looking forward to meeting you again in the near future!

The Beavan Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Black Hall Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 284 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our 5th time back to Black Hall. That should tell you enough about how much we like it, but I'll be more specific.
We stayed in a Helsinki lodge this time, have been in the Inari ones before, very similar. All very clean and modern, nice beds, nice bathrooms, great views down the valley and hot tub under the stars at night.
Wasn't great weather this time, was no problem, stayed in and got the woodburner going or went to the swimming pool, sauna, steam room which we had all to ourselves each time we went in. Kids had plenty of space to play, we got to relax and feel like we had really got away from it all.
Have no doubt we'll be back, great place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi Steve & Family, Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed yet another last minute relaxing break at Black Hall. The Helsinki lodges really provide a great view down the Shropshire Hills! The stars have been fantastic lately!!
We hope you have gone home refreshed - and we hope to see you all again in the near future!

Many Thanks
The Beavan Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

this is the 2nd time we have stayed at black hall lodges in less than a year, it was still as amazing the 2nd time round as the first, the lodge was immaculate and the owners very helpful, definitely a place to go and relax hopefully we will be back in septemeber

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi Sam,
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed another stay at Black Hall! We hope you are now refreshed and relaxed for 2014! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many Thanks
The Beavan Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Blackhall lodges despite the weather over new year.
We stayed in Inari 2 and aside from the leaking patio door LOCK - all was well - perhaps a few odd jobs need sorting -loose door handle on bathroom door and plates are very scratched and need replacing etc, the blind in the downstairs toilet was broken and the radiator in the uptairs bathroom was cold and needed bleeding - the reason I mention these things is that every year we stay in 2-3 luxury Autograph lodges and we have found the standards of accommodation to be slightly high and attention to detail better in other properties than this one at Blackhall, there were cobwebs in the bedroom corners and I had to wash the pans from old food marks before I could use them to cook with.
We loved the indoor sauna and hot tub, location and facilities.
Would we return - maybe however this year with Hoseasons we paid £699 less a travel agnet discount so we paid £639 - now Blackhall are only taking direct bookings and they wany £830 for the same lodge and dates this year - an increase of 19% and an increase of 30% versus what we paid - with inflation at 2% and holidays in 2014 going up an average of 5-6% that's one heck on a increase and hence we are looking at different luxury lodges for 2014/15 new year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights as a mini break for our anniversary and it can all be summed up with one word... wow! We have both stayed in some fantastic places before but this really is in a league of it's own. We stayed in an Inari lodge which had a hot tub and sauna (both of which were lovely on the cold nights!) The lodge was spotless on arrival and the staff were so friendly! The location is wonderful aswell, all we could see is green and at night the amount of stars we could see was amazing! We will definitely be coming back in the new year for another weekend away!

Room Tip: Inari lodges are the only ones with private saunas!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went as a family of four to black hall lodges over half term. It was everything I hoped it was going to be! Beautiful lodge, peaceful setting, nice on site facilities for a family. We were staying in an inari lodge with a hot tub which was a real luxury. Inside the lodge was huge for four of us and had all the facilities you needed for a relaxing self catering break. We had our food delivered by tesco which made life very easy. Our twin 5 year old boys thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool, playroom and tractor area. We did two walks for which the information was provided in the lodge. They were both lovely and it was great being in the great outdoors and not seeing another person while we were out. They held a lovely event for guests on Halloween which everyone loved. The boys have told everyone of their tractor ride, bonfire, fireworks and hotdogs. We thought we would have days out in the car for but for our four night break we did not leave the site as it was so relaxing and had everything we needed. A very memorable and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We loved having a hot tub.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Been to several lodges in the heart of England and this lodge has gone to the top of our list the surrounding area is lovely with the town of Ludlow only about 25mins away We stayed in the ERIE lodge and there was everything you could need for a relaxing break supplied and all the comfort you could want with a lovely big square hot tub just outside your door with great views and very private

Room Tip: If a couples break then choose the ERIE lodge as it is at the end of the site and not overlooked
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
8.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
3.8 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
210 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ashlea Pools Country Park
Ashlea Pools Country Park
#1 of 6 in Craven Arms
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
135 reviews
11.4 mi away
Old Downton Lodge
Old Downton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Downton on the Rock
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterdine
The Waterdine
#1 of 2 in Llanfair Waterdine
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hall Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hall Lodges

Address: Llanfair Waterdine, Knighton LD7 1TU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Knighton
Price Range: $338 - $1,808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Black Hall Lodges Knighton, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing