We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely peaceful and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Hall Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Hall Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The lodges are well equipped and clean , with cosy wood burners and hot tubs , the other facilities are super, a lovely indoor pool and sauna is just the job after a busy day .The area is outstanding with excellent walks , lovely pubs , some nice old properties to visit and ludlow with its race course and catle only a short drive .try harry tuffins in knighton for a supermarket experience you wont forget .

Room Tip: Plenty of shops in knighton to get your holiday essentials and a lovely secondhand bookshop nearby .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    18
    4
    8
    3
See reviews for
114
87
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights with 2 children. Immaculate on the inside and out. Off the beaten track but not far from the main town nearby. Lovely walks with breathtaking views, nice for a picnic at the top of the hill. Swimming pool was great, however not ideal for little ones as the shallow end was too deep for my 4 year old, lovely and clean and secure. The games room is spacious with various activities, nice big screen TV.
The owners were friendly and relaxed, nothing to much trouble.
Next time we would probably go for one of the more private ones on the other side by the woods, hot tub was great, a real novelty at night looking at the stars, but not very private in Helsinki Lodge as the other lodges are quite close to one another.
We will definately go back and thoroughly reccomend with or without chidren.
The double bed mattress could do with replacing, very lumpy and springy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PixieNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the smaller wigwams located at the back of the site. They were very clean with great catering facilities. However we booked here because of the pool and children's indoor play area. We were never told we had to pay extra to use these facilities, which wouldn't have been an issue if were weren't treated so appallingly. After our arrival we went to reception to find nobody there but used the radio to contact someone and didn't mind waiting for them. While we waited my daughter played with some of the toys inside as it was raining outside. When someone finally arrived they told us we had no right to use the play area. We were told very rudely that some people pay a lot more to stay in the lodges and those facilities are reserved exclusively for those customers and we 'had no right' to be using them. We were quite shocked with the way we were spoken to. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 11FamilyOfThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Owner at Black Hall Lodges, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
The owners of Black Hall Wigwams are very sorry that these guests didn't enjoy their stay with us. However all our Wigwam guests do receive information regarding the use of the leisure facilities, this is also clearly stated on our website and Wigwam Holidays website. We as owners treat all our guests equally whether it is a Lodge or a Wigwam customer. We do not feel any of our staff would have spoken to these guests in the way it is written. However if this was the case we as owners apologise on their behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Faultless...had a fantastic time, accommodaion is of a high standard, went to another Autograph Lodge elsewhere, I expected the same sort of thing, but it was no where near as nice. Not much to do in the area, but we knew that before we went - a great location for walks, and chilling out. Would love to return, but they are always fulled booked when I'm free to go !!

Room Tip: Stayed in Inari Lodge which was perfect for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent three nights in the Michigan Lodge and it was fantastic. This was our first experience of staying in a lodge and we can safely say that we will be doing it again. We had no problems finding the site using the directions on the site and that were emailed to us a couple of days before our stay.

Our first impressions of the lodge were that it was immaculate, they are clearly well maintained. As you first enter you are greeted by a spacious open plan kitchen/living area with two big comfy sofas. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need, we stopped off at a Tesco in Hereford on the way to stock up our fridge and freezer for the week, It really was like a home from home. I would definitely recommend doing this as there's not a lot nearby unless you want to eat out every day or pay over the odds in the local supermarket. After the kitchen there is the bathroom which has a bath with an overhead shower, the next bedroom had two single beds. Then you you come to the master bedroom which has a massive built in wardrobe and a nice big bed this room also has it own en-suite with a big walk in shower. Overall we were hugely impressed when we walked into our lodge. The lodge also has a selection of board games and some maps detailing some nature walks, we tried one of these and lets just say it didn't quite go to plan, but that was purely down to our poor sense of direction and stubbornness, still it gave us a great story and added to the great memories.

The setting was simply beautiful, the perfect getaway. It was just so peaceful, the one reservation I did have before booking was that it was going to feel a little bit crowded and that we might have felt a bit overlooked by the other lodges but my fears were completely unfounded, the lodges are laid out in a way that you don't even realise that there is anyone else there. being at front of the 6 lodges meant that we had an uninterrupted view of the valley and countryside surrounding us, it was an amazing view to wake up to every morning. Wish I was back there now.

We took a trip to Ludlow after reading some of the reviews on here and we were certainly not disappointed, it's a lovely little town with plenty of shops and cafes, we visited Ludlow Castle which was amazing, there are some fantastic views from the top of the tower and some great picture opportunities. The castle grounds was also hosting a comedy festival that night, unfortunately we were unable to stay for that but we probably would have if we had known about it in advance.

I really couldn't recommend this place highly enough, we had such an amazing time and will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattCh1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed in Michigan Lodge with my wife and our two young children in July and had a fabulous time. The lodge itself is well sized (a real treat to stay in!) and the facilities availbale on the site including the lush swimming pool, games room, kids playground and barn made the venue the perfect holiday not to mention the great scenery, walks and local attractions.

The staff are very friendly and approachable making this an ideal holiday and I would recommend Black Hall to all who are interested in a break that provides you with plenty to do but enough peace and tranquility to recharge the batteries. The kids still haven't stopped talking about the place!

Room Tip: All accomodation on site looks to be quality but we stayed in Michigan as we only needed accomodatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Well I've stopped at black hall 3 times now and have booked again for feb next year . It's my yearly birthday weekend away
The lodge is fantastic and worthy of the 5 star. Brand new kitchens , bed, sofa , carpets etc .
Lovely surroundings and perfect to get away from the rat race .The Lloyney inn down the road is great too with a lovely landlady and cheery landlord .. Great place of the country this is

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beardils71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
3.8 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
182 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
712 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Knucklas
77 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ashlea Pools Country Park
Ashlea Pools Country Park
#1 of 5 in Craven Arms
409 reviews
17.0 mi away
Trewythen Lodges
Trewythen Lodges
#1 of 5 in Llanidloes
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hall Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hall Lodges

Property: Black Hall Lodges
Address: Llanfair Waterdine, Knighton LD7 1TU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Black Hall Lodges Knighton, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing