We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”
Review of Black Hall Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Hall Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Every 6 months or so we have a long weekend getaway with friends, being 60+ I enjoy my luxury and so we do tend to look at reviews before booking to make sure things look OK, and this seemed good.
Good, is the understatement of the year, even WOW doe not do this justice. Most of the lodges are really well spaced, however the newer ones at the bottom of the site do seem a lot closer together. We stayed in the Superior Lodge, they are named after the Great Lakes, I think! It was stunning. 2 downstairs bedrooms, 1 with a 4 poster and the other with twin beds, and an upstairs bedroom with its own bathroom and toilet. The lounge was perfect for 6 people and the kitchen was really well equipped and plenty big enough. There is a site Wi-fi, for those who can't leave the web at home, but they do charge for this service, which was fantastic as me being tight meant we were webless for the whole weekend.
Open the large sliding doors on the front of the lounge and you step out on to the large Deck, complete with stunning views of the Welsh mountains in front of you, a six seat hotub and your own charcoal bbq. (the only down side of the whole weekend could have been that they did not have any charcoal for sale, but we had planned and had taken our own)
So the lodge was stunning, as were the views, parking was right along side the back of the lodge, and then to really top it all off they have a fabulous in door pool and fitness unit just at the entrance.
Overall a perfect getaway, if you want peace, quiet and relaxation.
We did venture out on the Saturday and drove the 45 mins down into Hereford, a really, really worthwhile experience, visiting the Cathedral to see the Mappa Mundi and one of only 4 remaining original copies of the Magna Carter, what a WOW.
So would we go again - very, very much so.
Would we recommend to others - yes, but not too many as they might become too popular and then wont be able to get the dates we want.

Room Tip: The lodges named after the great lakes are slightly higher up with better views and are spaced furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here September 2010 in an Inari lodge. Enjoyed it so much we're going back again this September with family. It's in the middle of nowhere and is great for getting away from the hustle bustle of normal life. Kitchen is well kitted out so you can take your own food and cook pretty much anything. Sauna and Hot Tub are great, beds comfortable and the log burning fire at night is so cozy. Can't wait to go again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LeeAndLinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to black hall lodges, and we decided to stay in a Canadian lodge this time! We all loved it, cleaned to a very high standard and also the surroundings are very well maintained! Was very nice having Tescos deliver to us too.
The swimming pool is a delight, and the games room is great for all ages!
My son and I went on a very long walk along offa's dyke, seeing all sorts of wild flowers, buzzards, and breath taking views!
We will definitely go back for a 3rd visit!
The owners work extremely hard, and it shows!!!
Only very very minor issue is it would have been nice to have an outside umbrella, as we were in the full sun from 2pm. But apart from that it was a truly lovely break!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed over May school holidays and had a brilliant time, the whole site is lovely there is approx 12 lodges of varying size from 1 to 3 bedrooms. Winnipeg has 3 bedrooms. On the ground floor is a lovely modern kitchen with plenty of space, a large fridge freezer so plenty of space if like we did we had a supermarket deliver our shopping for the week and the large freezer was filled up after visiting the butcher. There is a washing machine also in the kitchen but no tumble drier, however there is 3 tumble driers free to use within the site.
There is a dinning table for 6 people and a comfy corner leather settee and chair.
On the ground floor is 2 bedrooms a large double with tv and a twin both with plenty of hanging and draw space, a bathroom with large walk in shower. On the decking area is a patio set, bbq and the fabulous hot tub which is maintained daily.
On the 2nd floor was the 2nd double bedroom and a large bathroom with spa bath but no shower. The site is very well maintained and even in school holidays we went to the swimming pool twice and we were the only people in it, there is a very good steam room and sauna in the pool area. There is also a small indoor play with a table tennis table, snooker table, darts and a soft play area. Outdoors there is also a very good play area with swing, small climbing wall, slide. There is also wigwams but we did not look at them so sorry can not comment. If you have any questions please just contact me I am happy to help.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlayaBlancaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just spent two nights in one of the Wigwams here and it was our first experience of wig wamming! The facilities at this site are second to none and the shower block has the feel of a high end hotel. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could ever need to cook up a good feast including BBQ utensils etc. The leisure facilities on offer are well worth the small extra charge and there is plenty to keep the kids entertained.
All in all the service we received during our stay at Black Hall Wigwams was outstanding and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Needless to say we will return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesPortman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've recently stayed in the wigwams with friends and family, we all had a whale of a time. The beds are comfy, the facilities first class - you stay in some campsites and wonder what and where you are going to end up if you are caught short in the night. Not here! Everything is well lit. There is also lots to do on site, two very good playgrounds for the children; a fantastic pool and the views you wake up to are out of this world. For those that like to walk, there's Offas dyke and the Jack Mitton way nearby as well as nature walks around the area. For only £15.00 a day it's worth every penny. We will certainly be booking again soon.

Room Tip: All the wigwams are set a good distance from each other for privacy and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just got back from a weekend fri-mon stay in Huron lodge a canadian style lodge. This was amazing! Beyond all expectations. It was peaceful, beautiful and so relaxing.

Everything that you could possibly need is on site and the service is excellent. The walkie-talkie intercom system is great and was answered very quickly - a brilliant idea to keep in touch whilst the owners are working on the farm or in the grounds. Excellent facilities for children in the outside play area and inside with the games room and the pool.

The Lodge itself was spotlessly clean and all appliances and furniture is a very high quality :) Little touches like having the ice tray full and providing a little milke and tea/coffee facilities was lovely as was the small bottles of shower gel etc in the bathroom. The open fire and hot tub were brilliant and made the stay even more special.

I will be recommending this to everybody and we will definatly be back in the future.

Room Tip: canadian lodges are set further apart rom each other than the Helsinki lodges, but all looked amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen_13404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
8.4 mi away
Ashlea Pools Country Park
Ashlea Pools Country Park
#1 of 6 in Craven Arms
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Knucklas
82 reviews
5.2 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
223 reviews
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
Little HenCefn
#8 of 11 in Knighton
3 reviews
3.7 mi away
Offa Dyke House
Offa Dyke House
#7 of 11 in Knighton
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hall Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hall Lodges

Address: Llanfair Waterdine, Knighton LD7 1TU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Knighton
Price Range: $332 - $1,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Black Hall Lodges Knighton, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing