We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

The George & Dragon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George & Dragon
Ranked #4 of 11 Knighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Having driven to Knighton for a day trip, my husband had a muscle strain and driving back was not an option. There was a sign outside this pub offering accommodation and it was listed on the Tourist Information Office notice board. I telephoned and booked the room. Although the outside of the pub looks a little jaded, this belies the accommodation, which is a separate building (converted stables) out the back. We were very pleasantly surprised at how well appointed it was. There were around 4 rooms (We stayed in the "Hay Loft"). It had a very comfortable bed, chairs and flat screen tv with an ensuite shower/ toilet. Towels and soap in abundance, beautifully arranged.

This was the cheapest room we could find in the town, but it was well worth the money and a nice cosy pub in which you can buy food. (We had taken a picnic so we just had a bag of chips from the nearby chippie!) The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was adequate with a selection of cereals, yoghurt and cooked English breakfast - 2 rashers of bacon, 2 chipolata sausages, a fried mushroom halved, egg and tomato served with toast. Jam and marmalade also on the table.

We had never been to Knighton and it was literally just a question of closing eyes and putting a finger down on the map to decide where we were going for a drive. It has a very small town centre, its feature being the clock tower. It seems to be the sort of place people drive through. Having said that, the attraction that lies in the town is Offa's Dyke. I have to say that the views are wonderful - rolling hills and countryside. You can walk along Offa's Dyke which stretches about 80 miles up the country (I think). The Tourist Information Centre has an exhibition about Offa and his Dyke and the staff there are also friendly.

We stayed on Saturday night so we were ok, but I can imagine that parking might be a problem during the week. There is restricted on street parking opposite the George and Dragon. From 8am to 6pm Mon to Sat you can only park for 20 mins. There are a few parking places around the clock tower where the restriction is to 30 mins. There is, however, a large Pay and Display Car park within a few yards of the pub, which is free every evening from 6pm to 8am, so don't let that put you off.

I loved the room itself; what we liked the least was the noise late into the night. After all we were staying in a pub and the smokers' area is at the back, through which you walk to get to the accommodation. It was "friendly " noise, but I don't think the windows were double glazed - at least it didn't keep the noise out. My husband fell asleep early as he was not well, but woke up late evening/night and had to turn up the volume on the TV to drown out the noise, but we were aware that we might be disturbing anyone in neighbouring rooms with the TV. It was Saturday night though and I'm sure the noise in our town is much worse!

Room Tip: No view really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reesiea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night. Room ok but very small. Breakfast disappointing and not too relaxing as the adjacent bar was getting hoovered whilst we were eating. Also the floors were being cleaned with a strong smelling bleach/disinfectant during breakfast. We didn't eat here in the evening due to lack of appeal.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malambo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

First time we stayed in a converted horse stable and it was great! Helen was very helpful and fun to talk with! The room was comfortable and the pub food was very good. A good stay on our Offa's Dyke walk!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandCHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed in the double room on the first floor of what used to be the stable block. Although the room was quite compact it was cosy, clean and nicely decorated. The ensuite shower room was quite small but there was plenty of hot water, nice toiletries and towels.

There was plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits, a hair dryer in the room, everything you need really for a comfortable stay. Our friends stayed in the twin room on the first floor, there was a lot more space and storage in this room and if we were staying longer than one night we would chose this room over the double room.

We had our evening meal in the George and Dragon, the food and service were very good and after walking all day it was good to be able to just go downstairs to eat. Breakfast was the usual cereal, toast and full English quite basic but well cooked and served with a smile.

Room Tip: The twin room has a lot more space than the double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Only stayed one night whilst visiting the local rally school but could easily have stayed longer.

Rooms are en-suite, nicely decorated and comfortable with everything you could need. We ate in the pub for evening meal and the food was lovely, as was breakfast the following day.

Found the owners very friendly and would highly recommend a stay here. Will hopefully again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaBeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

thanks for a loverly time again will be comming back in may, a real gem of a place

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margitheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

A family team made our stay so enjoyable...friendly atmosphere, good beer and food, and a comfortable en suite room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsmith189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knighton hotels
0 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Inn
The Horse & Jockey Inn
#5 of 11 in Knighton
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#2 of 11 in Knighton
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Knucklas
83 reviews
5 mi away
No photo provided
Little HenCefn
#8 of 11 in Knighton
3 reviews
8.8 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George & Dragon

Address: 4 Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Knighton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The George & Dragon Knighton, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing