We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sunday lunch Carvery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knighton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch Carvery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went as a party of 7 for a carvery, we could not fault it pently of space around our table, comfy chairs, lovely staff and the meat was melt in your mouth with plenty of choice of vegs. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaJaneMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    58
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
76
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We purchased a voucher for a 2 day break at Knighton as we wanted to break our journey on our way further north. The hotel was quite old with a beautiful sweeping staircase located in the middle. Our room was very spacious with king size bed,jaccuzi bath with shower over.Our room overlooked the high st. with large windows. It was very comfortable. The food was good & we had the special menu 3 courses for £14.95 which was excellent & the dining room was lovely. Only drawback was a large party staying at hotel & if you arrived while they were there you had to wait ages for the food. However we were given a complimentary drink as we were waiting quite a long time.Breakfast was quite good but again you had to time it right as the food for the large party soon disappeared before we got there. Scrambled egg was a bit dire but rest quite good. Staff were friendly & helpful. Would stay again on a deal if in that area again

Room Tip: room 11 was excellent but a little traffic noise (not too much)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here on a 2 night stay with Go Groupie,what a lovely Hotel,it was refurbished about 3 years ago and what a good job they did,Grand staircase,lovely modern rooms,We were in room 21 which had a jacuzzi bath and was front facing, its also got a lovely bar and restaurant..

We had a phone call the day before arriving to say they were having a music event and that there would be late night noise,to be honest the noise on the street outside was louder,didn't bother us but would maybe suggest a room at the back for less noise.. All the staff were very friendly,especially Tracy.. Knighton is a small place so not a lot going on unless you like walking, eating and drinking but the Train station is close by for a trip to Shrewsbury,,

Room Tip: We were in room 21,nice large room with jacuzzi bath,large tv,hairdryer, tea/coffee and shower gel,s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RINGLET55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We live in London and our last visit to your restaurant in March 2012 was a triumph - friendly, helpful and attentive staff and wonderful, even exquisite, food.

One year later and what can I say? The staff were still friendly, helpful and attentive but this time the food was exquisitely diabolical - tough and dry gammon with a weird spongey texture, extremely fatty lamb with very little actual meat, dried out fish in a mountain of greasy batter which weighed more than the fish itself and mushy peas which were actually ordinary peas bashed to within an inch of their lives and therefore dry and mostly consisting of skins.Truly horrible!

What on earth has happened? We were told that the usual chef was having a day off. What manager in their right mind gives the head chef the day off on a Saturday, probably the busiest evening of the week.

I am really sorry to have to send such a negative review but please Knighton Hotel Management, get back to where you were a year ago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

A great hotel in the middle of the English/Welsh border and well worth a visit. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Giving excellent advice to all our enquiries about the town and surrounding area, as well as the hotel. It has a fascinating galleried stairway with plenty of room to walk around and a pleasure to behold. The bedroom was a good size, very clean with a great bathroom and plenty of tea and coffee etc. Our room was nice and peaceful being at the rear of the hotel, with nice views across the hills surrounding Knighton.

The resturant is brilliant and recently refurbished, it has enviable clean, smart lines. The food is excellent and a fair price, even if i was just visiting the town I would go in there to eat.

I liked this hotel very much - go!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back no 26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

It does what it says on the tin. Excellent value for money, comfortable bed, well kept premises And good staff. Its great to see a small hotel still doing well despite travel lodges dominating the market.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have just had a truly relaxing weekend break at the Knighton Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was delicious and you could choose as much or as little as you wanted from the menu. Really nice place to stop.

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room and the only downside was there was no bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpritchard173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
12.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
15.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knighton Hotel

Property: Knighton Hotel
Address: Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Knighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knighton Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing