We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, helpful & friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knighton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, helpful & friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were met at reception by helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. We used the wheelchair accessible bedroom on the first floor where there was plenty of space to transfer to the bed which was at the right height. The ensuite wet room was also well designed and modern. All function rooms were level access and the lift was a snug fit for the wheelchair and pusher! The Sunday carvery was excellent and good value for money. Overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    60
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
80
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were welcomed by a very helpful and enthusiastic member of staff which set the tone for a lovely stay. Throughout the evening, the staff were attentive & thoughtful, especially with the kids, which made for a relaxing stay away.

Our room was excellent & very spacious. The only niggle we had was that once in the jacuzzi bath, if you needed more water you had to stand up, move the shower door to the side & access the faucet half way up the wall. Saying that, the jacuzzi bath was lovely.

We were very impressed with the quality of food & would definately recommend eating at the hotel. The wedding buffet was fantastic, not a chicken drumstick in sight;) lovely fresh salads & beautiful hot cooked meats:). The drinks prices were also very reasonable for a hotel:)

As we slept at the front of the hotel, we had lovely views of the countryside & the town. Unfortunately the locals from1230 til 2am enjoyed quite a lively evening outside once the pubs had closed.

Overall this is a little gem in a beautiful part of Wales. It's always refreshing to stay in a lovely place with fantastic service. Would def recommend if you wish to have great service, good food & lovely bedroom at a reasonable price:))

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
473 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The staff was very helpful. The (superior) room was very nice. The dinner was excellent. Only brekfast was not as good as it should be.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a very well-run hotel which was refurbished in about 2010. Great care has been taken with the bedrooms and the public areas to offer high quality. The staff are particularly friendly and efficient. Dinner and breakfast were of a good standard and offering a range of choices. The only question is whether this type of hotel can be run successfully in such a small town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned home from a super weekend in Knighton, Im a classic motorcycle bore and I travelled there on some of the best motorcycling roads I have ever experienced. My bike bore friend and I were very impressed with the Knighton Hotel, the fantastic staff were very welcoming and made sure our short stay was comfortable. It was particularly nice to see an old building renovated to such a high standard and tastefully decorated. The food in the restaurant was also outstanding. All in all I can't fault the place and I'll definitely be pointing my old AJS motorbike that way again soon.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank crandall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

A friend and I needed somewhere to stay for three nights whilst we attended an art workshop in the area. We found the Knighton Hotel through LateRooms and booked two single rooms (£75 + £4.95 for continental breakfast per room per night). We were expecting an old-fashioned rural hotel that had seen better days...what we found was a superb, small hotel with welcoming, friendly staff. Our so called single rooms turned out to be very spacious, a king-size bed plus comfy sofa. The decor was simple and contemporay, the en-suite was modern and came with a jacuzzi bath.
The evening meal was tasty and well presented, an excellent value set-menu. The only disappointment was the continental breakfast: breakfast cereals, tinned fruit, toast. It would have been nice to have a fresh fruit salad and a choice of breakfast pastries plus plain yoghourt rather than the high-fat toffee flavour that was on offer.
An added treat was the great choice of pictures hanging in the public areas: as Surface Design artists we found the artworks interesting and inspirational. We came away with ideas for our own work.
This is not a luxury hotel but for anyone who wants a comfortable, clean, friendly place to stay with good food at a reasonable price then the Knighton is highly recommnded.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 14 are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Great hotel, had beautiful meal in bar. Very well presented and soooo tasty. Lovely staff. Will be calling again!!! Thank you all

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShropshireShopoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
14.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
15.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knighton Hotel

Property: Knighton Hotel
Address: Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Knighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knighton Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing