We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

The Spaceguard Centre & Observatory
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Knighton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bucknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Even for those who wouldn't class themselves "scientific" this is a very interesting tour. All about asteroids and comets plus other stuff. Some very interesting stuff to look at plus the building of a new dome. You need to check tour times. Good parking but a bit of a hike if you walk up from the town. But well worth it with some lovely views. Jay the owner gives a very good talk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
telford
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“comets and asteriods.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I don't have a scientific background but really enjoyed the tour..very informative and interesting
Disappointed that so few places open in Knighton however ..on a rainy Sunday in late October. Best take a packed lunch...Forget the Offa's Dyke Centre....".closed for lunch/back soon" said the sign.
All credit to the centre for being open off season.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Informative and interesting couple of hours. Not to be missed on a visit to Mid-Wales. Great but strenuous walk up from the town with outstanding views.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredibly informative, interesting visit!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited the NEO centre recently while staying in the area. We did call up first, and were nearly put off by the lady who answered the phone who said it may be too much for our 8 year old - too complicated!

We decided to give it a try regardless as our son is very well behaved. So glad we did! The tour is given by the owner, and includes interesting facts in a very easy to digest format. I know nothing of space but came out of it having learnt a few small snippets! The planetarium was a huge surprise and very exciting, as was the observatory at the end of the tour.

Would thoroughly recommend a trip, our 8 yr old was fascinated; something a bit different that will get you talking to everyone about how cool it was! The tour is 90 mins long and a lot of it is standing; I'm 8 months pregnant and found that hard going but the tour guide was extremely courteous and made sure I had a seat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent educational morning out”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I visited the Spaceguard Centre this week out of curiosity for the work that takes place there.

I was amazed at just how much value and enjoyment I got from the 90 minute interactive tour.

The work that goes on there is phenomenal and the people who run the centre are dedicated and very enthusiastic about there work.

This is a must see if you have any kind of interest in what goes on in the wider universe.

The negative remarks that I read in other reviews were unfounded from the great experience that I had.

Good luck!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bneilpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spaceguard Centre & Observatory also viewed

 

Been to The Spaceguard Centre & Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing