We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even bother!”

The Spaceguard Centre & Observatory
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Knighton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't even bother!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We visited the spaceguard centre on a recent visit to Wales and I have to say it soils an otherwise brilliant holiday. The so called 'director' we extremely rude at every possible point and made us feel as if we were a huge inconvenience to him.

I certainly wouldn't recommend taking children as they are not welcome, in fact the 'director' recommended using a grenade on children which I found extremely offensive especially as my daughter is always very well behaved. It is a shame that he doesn't want to pass on his knowledge to the next generation.

To give you an idea if the space guard centre, it is a very rude man who has set up a telescope in his back garden and charged people to look at it.

I would not recommend this as a trip to anyone.

Helpful?
11 Thank Kittenwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J R T, Manager at The Spaceguard Centre & Observatory, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I was extremely distressed to read this review, as, after 11 years I have never seen anything like it. A seemingly innocuous quote from Noel Coward about “chocolate covered hand grenades” seems to have caused special rucktions. However, the final sentence of the review very nicely demonstrates the accuracy (or otherwise) of the piece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant commentary”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The fellow who runs this place gives the most fascinating talk...really makes the topic interesting. Although two hours long, we were never bored. We booked as a small group, which anyone can do. Very small-scale operation, but that doesnt undermine the centre's importance in detecting small scale meteors.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank starfish97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystradgynlais
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating place”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

A great and unusual attraction, set amidst the hills, with an unexpectedly major role to play in defending our planet. An excellent venue for a visit

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank GreyWolfWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting and worth a visit if you are nearby but you need to book it in advance.”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Really interesting tour and experience. The Centre specialises in near earth objects. They need funding so please support them and learn something interesting at the same time.

Helpful?
Thank Josetheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If the solar system / space is your thing, then worth a visit”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This small centre is at the top of a very steep hill near Knighton, we happened upon it purely by accident. It isn't open every day of the week so check before you make the hike up there. The "Director" was full of interesting facts and figures, I can see he would not be popular with everyone , he often spoke in a condecending manner and had a very dry sense of humour; he also had a huge political agenda, evidenced by anti-government ravings on the notice board as you walk in. If you can look beyond these "shortcomings" though it was informative and not something you'd likely get to see any place else.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NelliePhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spaceguard Centre & Observatory also viewed

 

Been to The Spaceguard Centre & Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing