We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nags Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nags Head
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked the Hotel for my daughters wedding reception and they gave us exclusive use of the venue from Saturday morning until Sunday morning. From when we booked the venue and our arrival on Friday evening to leaving on Sunday Afternoon the Manager and staff could not have been more helpful. All the guests commented that the food, from a varied menu for the reception, was excellent as was the full English breakfasts. The rooms are all finished to a very high standard and are very comfortable. We would have no hesitation in recommending ''The Nags Head'' to anyone, be it for a meal for 2 or 60 as the Manager and his staff make everyone feel very welcome.

Room Tip: No need they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. All staff especially Manager were very friendly and helpful. The decoration everywhere was top notch and the bedroom was very spacious, bathroom with shower cubicle was wonderful, husband was especially impressed with Smart TV which included Sky. Restaurant and food was great. We highly recommend the Nags Head Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great hotel, wonderful manager, excellent service and food. We would definitely recommend a stay if you are in the area. Nothing is too much trouble and the manager goes beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is an excellent one. We will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petemau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent 2 nights here and couldn't fault anything. From the second we walked in we were greeted like a friend, and this set the standard for the weekend - great and friendly service without being intrusive. The room was lovely with an extremely comfortable bed. In addition to this the food was great and good value for the high quality on offer. The location was ideal to explore the area. e.g. Powis Castle. All in all, a great weekend - a place I'd strongly recommend, and will definitely return to - faultless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend with my husband on weekend of 26th and 27th April 2013. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by friendly staff who were more than happy to help with anything that we needed. The room was absolutely gorgeous, and felt really luxurious with a stunning bathroom and amazing decor in the bedroom.

We ate in on both nights as the food was absolutely amazing, the best that we have tasted in a long time. They seem to have the right mixture of classic dishes with a contemporary twist, and everything that we ordered was absolutely delicious!

The rooms had an added bonus of sky +, which also included the movie channels which was an unexpected treat. The only tips i would give to the owners would be to make the instructions for getting the movies a little clearer in their room guide as this would save having to ask questions. And although it is very nice to have fresh milk for the room it would also be handy to have a few sachets of milk to avoid having to come downstairs when you want your morning brew!

Other than that though this was an excellent hotel, with amazing food, accommodation and staff. Would fully recommend visiting, and hope to visit again soon :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights so that we could explore old haunts. There is plenty to see for anyone visiting the area. Friendly staff and great service. The outside reflects its coaching inn heritage, but inside is boutique chic. Room was very stylish with great en-suite and also Sky Plus tv. We had the Butchers Block dinner with an added side salad, both were very good. We had the hotel Merlot which was very mellow.
Breakfast was just perfect. We had exactly what we wanted, freshly cooked to perfection.
Definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Try the house Merlot and do try the Butchers Block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HWoodSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here 5th and 6th April with the in-laws. The rooms are very stylish and individually designed with king size beds. As for the food - wow! We ate in both nights, which we never usually do, because the food was excellent. There was a lot of choice on the menu and a good selection of wines. The breakfast on both mornings was clearly cooked to order and again was really tasty. We'd like to thank Mark and the staff for their hospitality during our stay. We would stay here again. ........Nearly forgot to mention the lovely open fire. This place has a really positive, friendly vibe. :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph and Jame... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garthmyl
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#2 of 3 in Forden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head

Property: The Nags Head
Address: Gartmyl, Garthmyl SY15 6RS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Garthmyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Garthmyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nags Head 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Nags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Garthmyl, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing