We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms OK. Service OK”

Aleppo Merchant Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aleppo Merchant Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Carno B&B and Inns
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rooms OK. Service OK”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed for one night before my husband and son did a rally driving day. The rooms were fine and of a reasonable standard for what we paid. We had a room on the front which did have some road noise, my sons room was at the back and was quieter, however the noise from the downstairs bars did make an early night (which was planned) impossible. Luckily the bars seems to close at 11 ish.
We ate in the restaurant on the evening which was very average, nothing wrong with it but nothing special either. Someone else eating the restaurant that night found their pie still cold in the middle and sent it back, the conclusion being most of the dishes were microwaved.
Breakfast was again OK.
We chose to stay here because of the location of the rally driving but there was nothing about the inn that made you want to stay longer.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertthebrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
11
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night during another biking trip across Wales....... so glad I picked this place, it was excellent!
Many local pubs in rural Wales can be fairly dated, small and not too focused on the out-of-town traveler - this place was completely the opposite.
The Pub - was a pretty big size for a local, had separate lounge, snug area, pool & TV room, and maybe 3 other eating areas leading off from the bar. Great beer garden. Parking is off to the side and plentiful. Location is on main road but it's very quiet.
The Room - was pretty big and spotlessly clean. Twin beds, cast iron fireplace, plasma TV........ everything you'd need (except hairdryer - nog really a deal-breaker!) en-suite loo & shower room, had a double size shower cubicle which was powerful and hot!
The Food - adsolutely superb! Had the fish pie with side order of garlic bread (think it was about £9) which was stuffed to the brim with huge chunks of salmon, cod and other smoked fish, and was creamy tasty and piping hot. Breakfast was more of the same - hot, plenty of it, not soaked in oil and v tasty.
The Beer - lots of variety, all tasted grand, bar is just like the rooms spotlessly clean - the landlord obviously has high standards. Had a bottle of excellent Chianti for about £12.
The Staff - as friendly as you'll find anywhere - lots of genuine smiles and charm.

Only niggle and thing for others to be aware of is the stairs leading up to the bedrooms are very steep.

Would highly recommend this place for a stay over spot whilst touring the local area.

Room Tip: Room 2 is at the back of the pub overlooking the beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed overnight at the Aleppo Merchant to break our journey to Llandudno. Charming old Inn, we arrived late afternoon on a Sunday and the Inn is open all day and also food is served on a Sunday evening which is a bonus.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, really comfortable beds and we had an evening meal which was delicious. I had a curry which was the best curry I have tasted outside an Indian Restaurant. Well done to the cook, I wished I had asked her for her recipe before we left.
My husband and I would not hesitate staying at the Aleppo Merchant again, the owner has everything spot on.

Room Tip: Roons overlooking garden really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rednana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Visited this pub during our stay at Cledan Valley Tipi's.
Yummy food with a few unique choices for a pub.
Had the Cod Lion which was lovely and cheesy garlic bread.
Decent prices for food and very cheap for drinks which was unexpected being such a quiet little village.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Nic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

I stayed for 1 night at The Aleppo Merchant Inn. The Pictures on the web site do not do show how nice the rooms are. My room was very clean and all the Curtin and bed fabics were Laura Ashley. Staff were very friendly - even took my case to my room. A very pleasent stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorcestershireBobman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aleppo Merchant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleppo Merchant Inn

Property: Aleppo Merchant Inn
Address: Carno SY17 5LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Carno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aleppo Merchant Inn Carno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing