We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge a book by its cover!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked into The boathouse for a weekend away for our 1st anniversary, and i have to say we were not disappointed! From a lovely warm welcome, to a room that was clean (but will need a touch up in the coming months) with fresh homemade biscuits, fresh coffee, beautiful bedding and linen to a stunning breakfast with amazing sausages (thanks Anne for the recipe) and fresh muffins, fruit and yogurt, meant that we had a most wonderful stay.
Luckily we had parked the car up the hill as the castle car park flooded over night!
Laugharne is a quiet sleepy town at least at the beginning of November, so don't go there looking for a wild night!
Anne thank you for making our anniversary memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
110
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MAAM, Co Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have stayed in the Boat House B&B several times since we found it in 2010. It is a convenient staging post on the way to the Pembroke ferry after visiting family in England. In all respects the quality is consistently high. The design and decor of the large and comfy rooms is generous and thoughtful. The food is a million miles better than the average B&B fare. Anne is a host who takes great care of guests. We will be booking again, even earlier!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soreilly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Friendly, comfortable, well-appointed room, convenient position, excellent breakfast. What more could you ask for in a B & B? And it was not expensive. We'll go back again when we are in Laugharne next.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallingtonDParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Laugharne and were very impressed with The Boat House. We had a beautiful room with very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and a very tasty traditional breakfast. The service was excellent, warm and friendly and Anne, the owner, could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The information guide in our room was brilliantly put together and so useful. We both agreed that our stay could not have been nicer. Many thanks. Paula and Wyn R.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

For a no dog policy!because of being highly allegic and being ashored there were no dogs on site
we were greated at the door by a person with a dog,this is for us a very serious health issue!basically cant breath! if stay anywhere dogs have been.The premises smelt of severe damp which is also a problem to our health, the room was right on the road with no view in my opinion except for that road, dark and dank,not like the discription or picture on the web site.
Payed the rate for the room as we were in shock !simply wanted to get away, only booked the room after reading the great tripadviser reviews and making detailed phone call?This is a true review of the boat house as we saw it.Sad and disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theboathousebnb, Owner at The Boat House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
As you are aware I have already responded to you in a personal email expressing my regret that you had a bad experience on arrival at the B&B. However since you felt the need to post this review on TripAdvisor and to be quite selective with the facts I feel it is only fair that I have an opportunity to put the record straight.
As I assured you at the time of booking I do have a very strict no dogs policy, however that does not mean that I do not welcome friends calling in who, on this occasion, happened to have a dog with them. They were leaving just as you arrived so the timing was unfortunate however you did arrive 2 hours before the normal check in time of 3pm.
With regards to the light in the room you specifically requested a ground floor room due to your mobility problems. I offered you a first floor room but you refused.
I realise that you were unhappy about being asked to pay for the room however you were informed that I have a 48 hour cancellation policy at the time of booking and you must admit that in the 5 minutes you were in the B&B you did not raise any of the specific concerns you have now posted on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Laugharne.
Our room was large, quiet and very comfortable.
The breakfasts were delicious.
We felt throughout our 2 night stay that we were being very, very well looked after.
This was our first visit to Laugharne but when we return next year for the centenary of the birth of Dylan Thomas we will certainly book early at the Boat House B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We came to stay for our first anniversary. The welcome we received was lovely, friendly and instantly put us at ease.The room was gorgeous, very big, comfortable and stylish. The bed was beautifully comfy, and the furnishing was tasteful, not overdone. The view of the castle and estuary was perfect! After a warm, cosy night, we went down for breakfast, and was surprised again by the choices of food and drink, and the quality of the food and service. Fantastic stay and we will definitely be back! Thanks from Anna and Chris xx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annacartwright122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
4.5 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
158 reviews
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
173 reviews
12.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#2 of 18 in Laugharne
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keepers Cottage
Keepers Cottage
#4 of 18 in Laugharne
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#10 of 18 in Laugharne
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Gosport Street, Laugharne SA33 4SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Boat House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Bed And Breakfast
The Boat House Hotel Laugharne
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing