We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So dissappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2013

For a no dog policy!because of being highly allegic and being ashored there were no dogs on site
we were greated at the door by a person with a dog,this is for us a very serious health issue!basically cant breath! if stay anywhere dogs have been.The premises smelt of severe damp which is also a problem to our health, the room was right on the road with no view in my opinion except for that road, dark and dank,not like the discription or picture on the web site.
Payed the rate for the room as we were in shock !simply wanted to get away, only booked the room after reading the great tripadviser reviews and making detailed phone call?This is a true review of the boat house as we saw it.Sad and disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theboathousebnb, Owner at The Boat House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

As you are aware I have already responded to you in a personal email expressing my regret that you had a bad experience on arrival at the B&B. However since you felt the need to post this review on TripAdvisor and to be quite selective with the facts I feel it is only fair that I have an opportunity to put the record straight.
As I assured you at the time of booking I do have a very strict no dogs policy, however that does not mean that I do not welcome friends calling in who, on this occasion, happened to have a dog with them. They were leaving just as you arrived so the timing was unfortunate however you did arrive 2 hours before the normal check in time of 3pm.
With regards to the light in the room you specifically requested a ground floor room due to your mobility problems. I offered you a first floor room but you refused.
I realise that you were unhappy about being asked to pay for the room however you were informed that I have a 48 hour cancellation policy at the time of booking and you must admit that in the 5 minutes you were in the B&B you did not raise any of the specific concerns you have now posted on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Laugharne.
Our room was large, quiet and very comfortable.
The breakfasts were delicious.
We felt throughout our 2 night stay that we were being very, very well looked after.
This was our first visit to Laugharne but when we return next year for the centenary of the birth of Dylan Thomas we will certainly book early at the Boat House B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We came to stay for our first anniversary. The welcome we received was lovely, friendly and instantly put us at ease.The room was gorgeous, very big, comfortable and stylish. The bed was beautifully comfy, and the furnishing was tasteful, not overdone. The view of the castle and estuary was perfect! After a warm, cosy night, we went down for breakfast, and was surprised again by the choices of food and drink, and the quality of the food and service. Fantastic stay and we will definitely be back! Thanks from Anna and Chris xx

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annacartwright122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for one night in October after a 'spur of the moment' decision to get away for the night. The welcome and room completely exceeded our expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was tastefully furnished, lovely size, comfortable and had everything one could wish for. I have to mention the view from the room too, of the castle and estuary, we stated in Taf. The breakfast was plentiful and certainly set us up for the day, it was gorgeous!
We would definitely recommend to others and return to stay again. Thank you Anne for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBuckett2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our one night stay at The Boat House BnB was entirely satisfactory. Despite its rather plain exterior, the interior was a very pleasant surprise. Our room was very spacious, very clean, modern and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets and bath towels were of excellent quality. The breakfast room was a delight, well stocked with cereals and fresh fruit, and the cooked meal scumptious. The location of The Boat House was central to the village amenities and car park, and our room, the Taf, overlooked Laugharne castle and the walking path to the Dylan Thomas Boatshed. Any reservations we might have had about passing traffic evaporated as we both slept soundly undisturbed. For anyone looking for a first class stay in Laugharne, we unhesitatingly recommend The Boat House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Comfortable accommodation , lovely choice of food for breakfast and a warm welcome from our hostess . The situation of the house is very convenient to all the village amenities and Dylan Thomas old haunts.

Room Tip: Ground floor room very suitable for disabled .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely accommodation...the perfect spot for our relaxing break in Laugharne.Ideally situated by the castle car park(free!)although there is off road parking to the rear of the building.Our room...the Taf...was a generous size with good facilities and plenty of seating.Very nice breakfast with a good selection of cereals,herb omelettes, smoked salmon & scrambled egg, mushrooms on toast...as well as the traditional full English breakfast.
Anne is a very attentive host & nothing is too much trouble...she even kept the plants we had bought from the Wednesday car boot well watered.
Plenty of places to visit, including Pendine Museum of Speed & Amroth Beach.One drawback beyond Anne's control is the dearth of good eating places in the town itself.For quality food we had to widen our net & the highlight of the week was the superb Amroth Arms on Amroth beach.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Boat House B&B to people who are seeking quality at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-Kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
4.5 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
185 reviews
4 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Laugharne
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keepers Cottage
Keepers Cottage
#4 of 15 in Laugharne
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#13 of 15 in Laugharne
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Gosport Street, Laugharne SA33 4SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range: $111 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fabulous Bed and Breakfast experience in the historic and tranquil setting of Laugharne, close to the lively centres of Carmarthen and Tenby. The four ensuite rooms are very spacious. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Bed And Breakfast
The Boat House Hotel Laugharne
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing