We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A real gem of a B&B. My wife and I picked Laugharne for a week's break in Wales. It was our first visit there, and we fell in love with the place and with this B&B. Anne is an attentive and helpful host, the room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was great. The location is perfect for the town, opposite the castle and next to the pubs and restaurants. We will definitely be coming back, and we would highly recommend it to anybody thinking of a stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davegray1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
112
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Boat House B&B in Laugharne to celebrate my birthday and to do the Dylan Thomas Birthday walk. (http://www.dylanthomasbirthdaywalk.co.uk/) The B&B has fantastic rooms and provides an excellent breakfast. The B&B overlooks the Taf estuary and Laugharne Castle, it is located in a wonderful position. Laugharne is a wonderful village and all the people we met were very friendly. We received numerous discounts in the village due to it being my birthday. I would recommend a visit to the Dylan Thomas Boathouse and shed where he lived and wrote his poetry. This is a very brief walk from the B&B. We also had an excellent meal in Cafe Culture which is about 50 yards from the B&B. We will surely return to the Boat House B&B in the future, probably when I am another year wiser.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SledgeHammer955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

It's good to see a B&B focusing on the quality of room, service and breakfast as a serious business, rather than an after-thought or sideline. We've stayed in some dreadful B&Bs in the past in the UK and as a rule prefer to go to a hotel. But not in this case. Well done! Same positive comments as everybody else.

Room Tip: All rooms are at the front of the building and directly onto the road, but with little night-time tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluedragonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Boat House is much more of a hotel than a B&B. Proprietor Anne leaves no stone unturned with regards to comfort, welcome and facility. Our room, 'Taf', overlooked the sublime castle at Laugharne, its decor was classy but unassumingly neutral. All rooms are en suite and our room had everything: principally, a very comfortable king size bed, luxurious towels provided, toilteries, ironing board and iron, hairdryer (even an umbrella!), large TV and excellent tea and coffee making facilities (yes, even a cafetiere with a jar of fresh coffee). Breakfast in the rustic dining room was simply perfect: healthy, clean and fresh cooked breakfasts, and as vegetarians, my partner and I were thrilled to be so well catered for, and not by special request at that! The guest quarters are situated at the front of the building, so there was none of the potentially awkward sense of intruding in someone else's home. Ten out of ten.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Boathouse. Can't rate it highly enough. The room was wonderful with a view of Laugharne Castle and the menu choice for breakfast was excellent. Had lots of little extra's in the room, even an umbrella in case it rained! Absolutely loved Laugharne, so relaxing and the locals are really friendly. The Boat House is definitely the best B & B I've stayed in. Well done to Anne for being such a great host. Will be back without a doubt for another relaxing break in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhianon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at The Boat House last weekend and had a wonderful time there. Our room, The Towy, was spacious, spotless and the bed was very comfortable. It was great to find in a drawer an iron with ironing board, a hair dryer and an umbrella in case we needed them. The tea and coffee facilities were amazing and we could enjoy fresh coffee and hot chocolate with delicious biscuits when we returned from our excursions in magical Laugharne. Anne's hospitality and helpfulness made us feel very welcome and we were very well looked after. Breakfast was a real feast of fresh and local produce and the menu was varied and inviting. The vanilla waffles with smoked bacon were divine! The quality of the food served and its presentation were superb. The breakfast room was delightful and every table had fresh flowers. My birthday was made even more special by having stayed at The Boat House and we thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank map26_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

First stayed here 6 years ago when a friend of mine was getting married in the village. First time back since, sadly for the same friend's mother's funeral. Greeted very warmly, given the same room. The facilities were just perfect - comfortable bed, clean and functioning bathroom with adequate shower, generous in-room tea and coffee and water tray, television and seating. And the breakfast was world class. I hope to visit Laugharne again soon and will definitely be staying here when I do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
4.5 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#2 of 15 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Keepers Cottage
Keepers Cottage
#3 of 15 in Laugharne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#10 of 15 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Gosport Street, Laugharne SA33 4SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Boat House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Bed And Breakfast
The Boat House Hotel Laugharne
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing