We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lucky find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We only live 25 miles away but wanted to come to Laugharne to have a Sunday roast, a few drinks and then a brisk walk so why not stay the night. We booked the staff room at the boathouse, what an absolutely lovely place. The room is really large and very comfortable. Our arrival was greater with a friendly welcome. I can't recommend this lovely b and b enough. Its so much better than we hoped and can see why so many others have given it 5 stars!

Room Tip: The staff is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reilloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic accommodation, couldn't rate it more highly. Loved my room, the breakfasts and hospitality. Felt v welcome, with a big room, sofa and tele. Not cramped in , and noisy like lots of other places I have stayed before.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a very comfortable and welcoming B & B. We paid the extra for a luxury room and had the upstairs room named Taf (river names are used), which has a good view of the castle and the estuary. The room was a generous size with a comfortable sofa. I liked the cafetiere and fresh coffee in the room. In the morning there was a delicious cooked breakfast, served in a pleasant breakfast room. If the weather is good it is well worth taking a walk along the estuary before breakfast, guaranteed to give you a good appetite. We were really made to feel at home at The Boat House B & B. Thanks Ann

Room Tip: Taf - Good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was probably the best b & b we have ever stayed in - and we've stayed in quite a few over the years. Our room was fantastic and the breakfast was great. The host is extremely friendly. If you are visiting Laugharne, or somewhere nearby I would definately recommend booking a night or more here !

Room Tip: All the rooms looked equally fab. We stayed in the Taff which might be slightly larger than the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Exceptionally nice rooms. Well decorated, spacious and one of the best B and Bs I've stayed in. Food in the morning was very good. Great coffee, Cooke breakfast and fruit salad! The rooms were exceptionally clean, warm and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the Boat House for one night in December.We were met by Anne, and although we arrived very early we were given access to our room and shown where to park the car ( just around the rear of the house on a gravel driveway.)
We dropped our bags in the room and went for a walk - we did the Dylan Thomas "birthday walk" which was good - nice views of the estuary - (lots of information boards), before you climb up through the forest.

We stayed in the the Taf room - a really good size - comfortable king size bed and good size shower room too. All very clean and tidy.

After our walk, i had a bowl of soup and warm bread with a good pint of ale in Browns Hotel.My wife had cawl - both really nice.Not too much choice of eateries in Laugharne in the evening. Most places were closed. Then again it was midweek in December ! We ate in The New Three Mariners Inn - they do an offer of 2 stone baked pizzas and a bottle of wine for £15.

Breakfast the following morning was really good, a wide choice to suit all tastes - lovely locally produced sausages !

Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hywel_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Myself, my brother and our wives and cousin stayed at the Boathouse last weekend whilst attending a family wedding in the area.
The guest house is ideally located in ( Dylan Thomas's ) Laugharne opposite the estuary and the castle . The Boathouse is well furnished with extremely comfortable bed rooms . Every thought seems to have gone into providing guests with a memorable stay . It really is a home from home .The breakfast is simply outstanding and very varied the highlight for us being the freshly cooked traditional one with quality locally sourced bacon, sausages and eggs.
The owner Anne is a very pleasant caring and helpful lady who is only too pleased to impart invaluable information about the area to visitors.
This really is a gem of a guest house and well worth a visit if you are intending to stay in the Laugharne area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NedKellyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Laugharne
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Keepers Cottage
Keepers Cottage
#4 of 15 in Laugharne
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#13 of 15 in Laugharne
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadway Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Gosport Street, Laugharne SA33 4SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range: $110 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fabulous Bed and Breakfast experience in the historic and tranquil setting of Laugharne, close to the lively centres of Carmarthen and Tenby. The four ensuite rooms are very spacious. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Bed And Breakfast
The Boat House Hotel Laugharne
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing